We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible waiter spoils evening out”
Review of Spice Symphony

Spice Symphony
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 6/27
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #25 of 13,759 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown East
Cross street: Between 31st and 32nd st
Transit: 6 train to 33rd street and Park ave, R,Q,N,B,D,F,M trains to 34th street and Broadway.
Description: Modern Indian Cooking with a twist and Chinese with an Indian Accent”. We use only fresh local produce of high quality to ensure a healthy living. We use age old Indian spices that has sought to have medical advantages that is put together in concert by different chefs’ each with different skills / talents resulting in different flavors and colors of food from all regions in India. We bring to you coastal curries from Goa, Konkan, Karwar, Allepy, Madurai, Kolkata to name a few.Our food is fresh from the kitchen and we are a symbol of warmth and welcome. We are home, family and friends.
Reviewed July 13, 2019

The food was ok but nothing special. We chose this restaurant due to good online reviews but we expected much better treatment for our $172 for 3 people.

The waiter was repeatedly very rude to us from the moment we sat down. We made our choices from the menu which seemed to anger the waiter further as he was determined that we should have the chef's special and not our personal choices.

We deserved better and so does everyone else. The waiter let down this restaurant very badly this evening.

Tonight is the first time I've ever written a bad review and the first time I've ever left a restaurant without leaving a tip.

Avoid this restaurant

Date of visit: July 2019
3  Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 396 of 2,717 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2019 via mobile

We are a family of 4, visited the restaurant during lunch time. Vijay who helped us out was extremely kind and gave good suggestions. For eg with kids he told us 4 dishes would be too much. I appreciate the Tipp as it shows he cared about his customer and was not looking just to sell his food. It is definitely one of the finest Indian restaurant in town!

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank 867artit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2019

The food was OK, the cost was high, but the whole visit was spoiled by the waiter. He was rude, repeatedly, and for no reason as far as I could see except for the fact that I wanted to order what I wanted, rather than the "chef's special" which he was pushing repeatedly & often.

I cannot reiterate strongly enough, avoid this restaurant. Nobody needs to be made to feel bad when they are spending $60 a head.

Date of visit: July 2019
4  Thank brian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2019

We went to this restaurant as it had really good reviews. Dont get me wrong the food was lovely but the service was awful! Our waiter basically took the mickey out of us as soon as we got there and i got the feeling we just were not their type of people! It was insulting and i felt ashamed and degraded by the whole experience. I would NOT recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to eat in a nice restaurant

Date of visit: July 2019
3  Thank 71joanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2019

When Spice Symphony says, "We are a symbol of warmth and welcome. We are home, family and friends," they're not blowin' smoke. This is the second time I've dined there (first time December, 2018), and both times I've felt so at home. The first time, I sat at the bar b/c they were really busy and there was no table available. This evening, I sat at the bar by choice. Omkar (the bartender) welcomed me and treated me like family, even though we'd never met. He took great care of me, and though I was dining alone, he made me feel like I was dining with an old friend. The food is positively scrumptious, can't say enough good things about it, and the service is beyond perfection. Thank you, Omkar, for making what could have been a lonesome Friday evening an experience and memory to be treasured.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Molly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Symphony also viewed

 

Been to Spice Symphony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.