We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Scallywags Irish Pub and Restaurant
Ranked #1,427 of 13,820 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Midtown
Jersey Shore
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stopped in for a quick bite on a cold Saturday afternoon. It reminds me of a nice clean pub in Ireland. Our waitress was friendly and quick. We had the potato skins and truffle mac and cheese. Potato skins were the best I've ever had, and if you like really cheesy mac and cheese, this is the place to go. My only minor complaint was our waitress informed us there was a free drink special, choice of two, nice, only problem it never arrived. Not a big deal, just thought it was strange to bring it up when I didn't see any signs for it and not deliver, being fair I didn't mention it either. Service was great otherwise and will definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    40
    25
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FIFE LAKE
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GREAT food and fun atmosphere”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Service was great from the server but the kitchen was a little slow. No worries as the 7 of us had fun people watching. We had a perfect steak, great fish n chips, awesome shepherd's pie, burgers, salad/soup. Everything was really, really good and not very expensive.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cablechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Irish Bar and Restaurant”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Good food, good service, clean bathrooms, good management
I think you'll be glad to find this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeaceButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Went here for dinner on Thanksgiving had a delicious meal, great service and nice atmosphere. Would recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ladyvroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best bar in that area”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Decent food. Great bartenders. Ask for Markus, Barry or Tina.
They really understand the business and always take care of the loyal followers. Huge TV's and decent atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos_Orihuela-BALT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scallywags Irish Pub and Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Scallywags Irish Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing