We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Ranked #40 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend trip to NYC with the family and had a great stay. The location was very easy walking distance to Rockefeller Center, shopping, subway stations, and restaurants. It was also in a nice neighborhood, more frequented by locals than tourists. Our room was big by New York standards, and the price was good with the included breakfast. If there was any negative, the breakfast area was a bit small for the size of the hotel. It was often a competition to get a table, but the staff was very helpful in finding a table.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mkjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello mkjava-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in New York City due to our central location near many attractions and wonderful complimentary amenities such as daily breakfast.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    350
    64
    22
    6
See reviews for
600
302
53
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

What a great find in Manhattan!! We had a King studio which was well appointed and comfortable the bathroom was large with a great shower. The breakfast was great and a reasonable standard. All of the public areas were contemporary and clean.
Our particular room 915 window looked directly onto a brick wall pretty much standard for Manhattan but the noise from the air conditioning unit outside was very loud and continued intermittently through the night. I had read reviews about the hotel and this possible problem. we were tired enough for it not to bother us and it didn't disturb our sleep but may not be good for light sleepers. Somebody has a sense of humour or is aware of this problem as you are supplied with 2 sets of ear plugs for light sleepers. The reception staff, dining area staff and Sam and Paul at the front of the hotel are all professional, polite and extremely helpful. My husband and Sam had some good conversations about the soccer and world cup.
A good hotel don't miss the opportunity to stay

Room Tip: Read the other reviews about this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello Susan M-

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in New York City and our spacious guestrooms, some of which include a large standup shower. I sometimes wish we were able to control the sounds of the "city that never sleeps," unfortunately noise will always be present in Midtown. Acknowledging this, we do take the extra step of providing earplugs in all of our guestrooms to help alleviate some of the noise.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I used to travel a lot for business staying at hotels where kids would run at will and out of control I was pleasantly impressed how the property was very clean, limited kids, moderate priced with a. Area to sit and work I the commons with plenty off privacy, lighting, space to spread out, easy access to outlets.
When my wife and I first arrived at the property, it felt like we just arrived at a 5 star 5 diamond property the staff greeted us with a warm friendly smile (Sam) and the front desk Sarah, Jeremy, and Derek went overboard to make our stay memorable.
The free breakfast offers a wide variety of options to
the traveler with plenty to spare.
I would recommend anyone visiting NYC to stay at the Residence Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello Kevin Ellison-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first trip to New York City and that we were able to make it more memorable with our five star service!

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Friendly, helpful staff; attractive, contemporary decor; clean, well-appointed rooms. I called before arriving just to get the name of a car service and the staff made the arrangements for me rather than just giving me a number to call. Great breakfasts. Convenient dedicated printers in the lobby for printing boarding passes. We could walk to so many places from the hotel -- MOMA, Grand Central Station for subway service, Whole Foods, nice restaurants. Will definitely be going back to this hotel and will recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hello Susan P-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in New York City due to our very service oriented team and centralized location.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I have been staying at a different hotel for several months while on business and finally decided to try the Residence Inn. I was pleasantly surprised by the newness and cleanliness of this hotel. Rooms are spacious with kitchenettes and clean. Staff was very nice and the hotel isn't too busy. Only two elevators so the mornings can take a little extra time to get to lobby during busy hours. My room was located right off the elevator and I rarely heard any hallway disturbances. Location is convenient to subways. For Marriott Rewards guests, this hotel doesn't acquire as many points as other Marriott chains.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 92lber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hello 92lber-

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are pleased to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with your stay in New York City due to our spacious guest rooms with kitchenettes and centralized locations.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemasse, France
Level Contributor
554 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our king bed suite was just fine with a large refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher and stove. The bathroom is on the smallish side. I suggest asking for a room not on the street if possible. The free breakfast is quite a plus, with excellent waffles you make yourself. Very convenient terminals in the lobby to print boarding passes. Did not get a chance to look at the gym. an excellent location without any doubt. Walking distance to the subway and esp Grand Central. Not expensive.

Room Tip: As mentioned, perhaps a good idea to ask for a room not on the street. We sleep with earplugs....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hask74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hello hask74-

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in New York City due to our large guest rooms with kitchenettes and many complimentary amenities including breakfast with an interactive Belgium waffle bar.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

All Marriott staff were wonderful...front desk check in, bell hops, concierge...even received a welcoming email from Guest Services prior to our stay...they had cupcakes and card sent up for my husbands birthday! Room was nice, quiet and faced the Chrysler building. Great weekend in NYC!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms facing rear of building are preferable...view of top of the Chrysler building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hello M M-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in New York City while celebrating your husband’s birthday and that we were able to help make your stay more memorable with Cupcakes and views of the iconic Chrysler Building.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#49 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#47 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#99 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,177 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Property: Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Address: 148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017-1224
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the pulse of New York City in our Midtown East location close to Grand Central Station, the United Nations, and Rockefeller Center. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like studio and spacious one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas and a select few with outdoor space. A kitchenette ready for your favorite cuisine. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to energize your mornings. And, a fitness center for strengthening your body and soul. At Residence Inn, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing