We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel at reasonable cost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Ranked #36 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This 48th Street Hotel well located, clean and safe area at under 600 dollars for 2 nights were reasonably priced with great service. Parking across the street at 100 was OK and with over 20
good restaurants in walking distance during NY "restaurant week" turned out be the best for us.
We would go back at any time if the pricing stayed reasonable.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms middle front 3d floor in case of wind, the flag will blow and will drive you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bertalan1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Hello Bertalan1938-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to enjoy many of the wonderful restaurants in our immediate area.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

This hotel is in a great location - if ever returning to NYC will stay here again!!! Close to the subway & bus stops, a little hard at peak times to get a taxi as the Lexington seemed to steal them from the bellhop. The rooms where very clean, nice & roomy which I was very thankful for! Staff was friendly and took care of issues immediately. My only disappointment was I booked the 1st of February with the reservation center asking for a high floor room and was on the 2nd floor - while it is a GREAT view (our window was next to the front entrance) and they did provide earplugs it was a little noisy to sleep. Also, I received a very warm email a few days before the stay welcoming me and asking if my stay was for business or pleasure, I explained it was for a 40th birthday trip and received an email back saying they would take note of that - nothing was mentioned by the staff or in the room about it being a birthday trip...but that is really something minor!!! The hotel itself is great! PLUS they have a GREAT breakfast bar everyday!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hello Anna M-

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all of our team and wonderful amenities contributed to your positive experience.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed with a group attending a ballet competition recently. The staff was very accommodating and friendly to our group of mothers & daughters. Everything at the hotel was great, but what especially exceeded expectations was the service. I felt like it was JW Marriott or Ritz-Carlton level service, rather than "just" a Residence Inn. Other RIs I've stayed in seem to be more self-service, as if you're in your own home and you're on your own. This hotel seemed to turn that old RI model on it's head. Every morning at breakfast, we were greeted with smiles and "good mornings" from the staff as if they were old friends. Everyone, from front desk, concierge, breakfast, and housekeeping were very professional and friendly. On the last day of our visit, the concierge told us some great secret spots to visit in Turtle Bay and we took some wonderful photos. Sam, the bellman out front was extremely helpful and always smiling. As he tucked us into our cab and we said goodbye, he told my daughter to "Keep dancing!". Great place to stay - great service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluencrabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hello bluencrabby-

Thank you for your wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us due to our wonderful service oriented team.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

As others have shared, the location of this property cannot be beat! And neither can the staff! They are super helpful and friendly, particularly the breakfast crew. Because the elevators are small and can be slow at peak times (like breakfast), the upper floors are the best - you will not have to wait as several full elevators pass you by. But it all works, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliforniaMarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hello CaliforniaMarina-

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us due to our wonderful service oriented team and centralized location in the heart of Midtown.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The location is perfect --- walking distance to so many sights and very easy to catch Subway or taxis to get around town. The staff were very helpful and the rooms were a good size and comfortable. The breakfast is "fine" --- nothing special but we are not big breakfast eaters. There was a real mixture of clientele (British, Germans, Italians, Americans, etc.) which we found charming. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlohaHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hello AlohaHonolulu-

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us with our service oriented team and wonderful location in Midtown.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My older sister and I went to NYC to celebrate out mother's 75th birthday. The staff sent an email welcoming us and made sure any special needs were addressed. When we walked in our room, the staff had signed a birthday card and had given our mother two amazing cup cakes! The entire staff was attentive and had such pleasant dispositions at all times. Perfect location to every where in NYC! Rooms with kitchen were delightful. Even the breakfast staff as well as the door men treated us so kindly! I cannot believe an entire hotel staff could be so attentive and with a genuine smile! Thanks to the staff for making our 75th birthday celebration the best!

Room Tip: We wanted a quiet room, so 402 was nice and away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C Ramona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hello C Ramona J-

Thank you for the wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us while celebrating your mothers 75th birthday, and that we were able to help make your stay even more enjoyable with happy birthday welcome amenity.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My sister, mom and I were in NYC celebrating my mom's 75th. The staff and accommodations were fantastic! From the minute we arrived, no... actually before we arrived, the staff was very accommodating of our requests. We arrived a couple of hours early the day of check-in, were immediately given a room, and to top it all off, after we went out to dinner that 1st day we returned to find two gigantic cupcakes in our room with a birthday card from the hotel's management staff. The desk clerks, breakfast serving staff, bellboys and so on were great; We particular enjoyed the service provided by Paul who took pics for us, hailed our cabs and scheduled a car upon our departure. We had a king suite with separate bedroom which we enjoyed, I thought the hotel decor was also very nice and my family and I enjoyed the free hot buffet breakfast. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hello Stephanie B-

Thank you for the wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor and staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Midtown East.

We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us while celebrating your mothers 75th birthday, and that we were able to help make your stay even more enjoyable with happy birthday welcome amenity.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Justin Ellison
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#123 of 471 in New York City
1,341 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#70 of 471 in New York City
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#221 of 471 in New York City
2,476 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#157 of 471 in New York City
5,837 reviews
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#24 of 471 in New York City
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East

Address: 148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $169 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the pulse of New York City in our Midtown East location close to Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue Shopping, and Rockefeller Center. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like studio and spacious one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. A fully-equipped kitchenette ready for your favorite cuisine and our grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Fuel up with our free hot breakfast to energize your mornings and exercise in our fitness center with treadmills, cycles, and free weights. At Residence Inn, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing