We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Ranked #41 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Trip”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We just finished our 6 night stay at the Residence Inn Midtown East. Everything was great. The people that work here are all very friendly and helpful. Special Thanks to David and Sarah at the front desk. We did not experience any waits or lines for Breakfast or Elevators. We had a 2 queen Studio and there was plenty of space for a family of 4 (including 2 teenage boys). The lobby area was good. My husband and I actually utilized the TV area on a couple late nights to watch the news while the kids were sleeping in the room. My only complaints would be that housekeeping did not seem to have vacuum our room during our stay and the scrambled eggs at Breakfast were so dry they were almost uneatable. But there was several other breakfast items to chose from. My only tip for anyone staying there in the future is that you should avoid at all costs odd numbered rooms on the 7th floor and lower. These rooms face East 48th street and every weeknight there are numerous garbage trucks picking up garbage from the street all night. There are a few very large garbage bins in this street and when garbage trucks come to pick them up, the process takes 20 minutes or more. Extremely noisy with the diesel engines and the horns going off when they are reversing right below your window. The upper floors and the even numbered rooms do not have this issue.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear 99Cameron14 -

Thank you for this review of your recent stay with us in Manhattan. A special thank you for the shout-outs for David and Sarah at the front desk. My entire team is proud to provide great guest service. We look would love to be your host the next time your travels bring you to New York City.

Thank you again!

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    406
    79
    23
    11
See reviews for
702
338
63
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This newly renovated property of Residence Inn in Midtown Manhattan gave us great value. The rooms and bathrooms are well laid out, clean and trendy. The TV channel options are good. Breakfast area and food lay out are good, we would have liked the Breakfast time to be extended to 10am instead of 930am (much better than 9am like in other Residence Inn properties). The concierge desk for Residence Inn for Manhattan location is quite helpful and well thought of by Marriott which is not the case for other Marriott tourist locations. The staff are generally courteous and helpful except for one front-desk staff who was rude unlike of Marriott philosophy and customer service. We strongly recommend to stay in this mid-town property of Marriott Residence Inn.

Room Tip: Take rooms away from the corner where laundry chutes exist if you do not want clothes dropping noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssVeeEss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello EssVeeEss -

Many thanks for staying with us and for this great review of your recent stay in Manhattan. Since your visit, we have extended the hours of our breakfast buffet to 10am. We hope to see you again the next time your in New York City.

Thank you again!

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Residence inn on East 48th St for a long weekend in August. The room was spacious and nicely appointed. The bathroom while very small was adequate. I used the concierge service, there recommendation for a place for lunch was awful but the theater tickets they were able to obtain for us were great. Of course in NYC for a price, anything can be gotten. My only complaint is with their breakfast. While the selections and quality was perfectly adequate, it was so crowded the only vacant seats were in the lobby but they had no trays to carry the food to the distant location. When I asked I was told the management didn’t feel they were necessary. They are!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Louis J -

Thank you for your review and for staying at our new Residence Inn by Marriott in Manhattan. We value and appreciate all feedback. You are correct about trays at breakfast and we do have them available. We hope to see you again in the Big Apple.

Thank you.

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the relatively new Residence Inn NY Marriott Midtown East and what a great stay it was. From the efficient, friendly check-in, to the well appointed and comfortable room, this usually critical guest was completely pleased. To top it off, on check out the desk agent sent a text message to the parking garage so my car was ready when I got there. Mind you, I didn't not have the hotel arrange parking. He asked if I needed transportation and when I said I drove and parked in the garage across the street, he said my car would be ready. Efficiency and friendliness abounded here. I look forward to staying here again. ...and I almost forget the ample breakfast buffet....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello europeandreamerT -

Thank you for staying with us and for this review - it is greatly appreciated. My entire team prides itself on the service provided to all of our hotel guests and it is great to hear of your experience. We look forward to hosting you again should your travels bring you back to Manhattan.

Thank you again!

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a great choice logistically. It is located a few blocks from several subway stations and bus lines, giving quick direct access to just about all of Manhattan. A full breakfast is included, which includes hot items like potatoes, waffles, and scrambled eggs. Cold items include cereal, breads, and a limited selection of fruit. The hotel also has a coin-op laundry room next to the gym ($4 wash, $3 dry), and they also sell convenience items in the lobby. The staff are professional and helpful.

As I'm only staying in NYC for 4 nights, I took the smallest studio, which is still decent-sized for NYC. The kitchenette is complete, though you'd have to eat from a side table (but with one office chair and a padded bench at the end of the bed two could do it reasonably well). The hotel doesn't have a restaurant or bar, but you are surrounded by those anyway. They also offer a grocery delivery service and dry cleaning drop-off.

The bed and pillows were very comfy IMHO, the climate control worked perfectly, and the windows are well sound-proofed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank sfoartboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello sfoartboy -

Thank you for staying with us and for this great review on our Residence Inn by Marriott Manhattan. It is great to hear you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and great location in Midtown East. If you are ever in the Big Apple again, we would love to be your host.

Thank you again!

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
700 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We are Marriott Platinum and have stayed at dozens of Residence Inn's over the years.
This one is very good and we have no serious complaints. We had a nice sized room on 17th floor
(no view of note). Very comfortable bed. Fabulous shower ( not the lousy rainwater
shower so many joints now have - this one actually had great water pressure). Only two
elevators, but we never had a long wait. Standard free breakfast fare, which was not bad.
Breakfast room had plenty of seating, no waits. Excellent location, near the subways and
all kinds of restaurants. Bathroom was cozy, but this is a renovated old Helmsley Hotel,
and the old days they rarely built spacious bathrooms in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello Buzzy1 -

Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott International as a Platinum Member and for this review on your recent stay with us in Manhattan! It is greatly appreciated. We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in the Big Apple.

Thank you again!

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with family and staff were so accommodating from the moment you walk in. Not what I expected from my past stays in NYC as the room was large and well planned. Heard about issues concerning breakfast and elevators but never had more than a 5 minute wait and breakfast didn't appear that chaotic. Staff working the morning breakfast were very pleasant and hard working and were attentive to ensure dishes were cleared ASAP so tables would be available. People at the door always greeted you when you came or left. Any time I had any requests or issues the people at the front went out of there way to help out. This hotel is very well managed and the employees should be congratulated on their hard work and customer service!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haywoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Haywoodie -

I want to thank you for your kind words of praise on our Residence Inn Manhattan/Midtown East. My team and I pride ourselves in the service we provide all of our guests and it is great to hear of your experience. We hope to see you again the next time your in New York City.

Thank you again!

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 468 in New York City
1,374 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#61 of 468 in New York City
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#47 of 468 in New York City
197 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#195 of 468 in New York City
2,333 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Property: Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Address: 148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the pulse of New York City in our Midtown East location close to Grand Central Station, the United Nations, and Rockefeller Center. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like studio and spacious one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas and a select few with outdoor space. A kitchenette ready for your favorite cuisine. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to energize your mornings. And, a fitness center for strengthening your body and soul. At Residence Inn, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing