We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great Marriott Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Ranked #45 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another Great Marriott Hotel!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

From the check in to the free breakfast it was a great hotel. A full kitchen in the room? Plus a fridge? I wish we stayed longer than just one night. The breakfast was hot and fresh! Bagels, fruit, eggs, cereal and HOT coffee! Being on 48th street we were a quick walk to Grand Central which made it ideal for getting anywhere in NYC. When we checked out the bellmen was prompt on getting us a taxi and off we went. Very clean and updated room. Very satisfied from check in to check out!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeachLife18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear BeachLife18 -

Let me thank you for your written review. We take pride in the service provided to our guests and pleased to receive your feedback. We hope that you will be able to stay even longer on your next visit to the big apple.

Thank you again, it is appreciated!

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    404
    79
    23
    11
See reviews for
688
336
61
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Residence INN New York Midtown east is newly renovated. Room are very comfortable and well decorated and modern. It was very busy over the week-end. The only negative issue is that I had to change room going from a very large room to a regular room. I had two separate room merged into one reservation which was confirmed several time. The acting manager without asking us decided to switch us from room because our room was already promised to someone else. Once we can back at night our card was no longer working. We went down to the front desk and get our card replace which they did without asking for ID ???? . When I ask for a late checkout, the night manger which I was not dealing with my room number and she advise us that they to change our room. That is when we found out that they had gone through our room pickup all our stuff without asking our permission and transferred our luggage, empty the safe, when through the kitchen, the bathroom, everything etc.. I complained right away telling them that it was a breach of privacy and they could at least attempted to contact us but. The manager was really not receptive and thought tat it OK and we were making a big deal. I told her that they had already given our old room key without asking an questions which did not make any sense. To make a long story short... Please ensure that you have only reservation and lock your stuff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank montyofkanata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hello montyofkanata -

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm terribly sorry for the room change you encountered during your stay that was in our error. This is certainly not the service we strive to provide our guests. I understand my team was able to take care of you during your stay. I do hope you give us another try the next time your travels bring you to Manhattan. You may contact me directly at ri.nycha.gm@marriott.com for personal service.

Thank you again.

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This month-old hotel was a pleasure to stay in. We came here for my partner's birthday along with his college-age kids. Had two wonderful rooms, albeit in separate floors.

Coming in from Penn Station required two subway changes, although if you're arriving at Grand Central Station you're less than a five minute walk. If you're coming to Manhattan by private car on the other hand, well, you need psicological help and psychiatric drugs.

The front desk staff is superbly knowledgeable and eager to please. And they know the best cubbyholes to eat and have fun in the area. Our first night we took dinner at the Cornell Club and our second night we went to eat at the theater district prior to the evening show for the Book of Mormon.

The rooms are superbly done. Yes. It is Manhattan. They're small, although our space was probably larger than most permanent Manhattan studios. Kitchens were small but extremely well done. Salient in the rooms was the soundproofing. And clearly signed emergency exits and modern firefighting systems.

If there is one bit for improvement, is the breakfast. The scrambled eggs were so overcooked as to be inedible. And Fox and Friends blathered incessantly in the diming room to ruin everyone's breakfast and drive people away.

For a stay in Manhattan, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cubanissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello Cubanissimo -

Wow! Thank you for the great review on your recent stay with us at our new upscale Residence Inn by Marriott Manahattan/Midtown East. We take pride in the service our seasonsed staff provides and it is great to hear your feedback. We hope to be your home away from home the next time your travels bring you to Manhattan.

Thank you again, it is greatly appreciated!

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern CALI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just checked out of the Residence Inn/Midtown East and was very pleasantly surprised. We usually stay at the Renaissance or Ritz. This is a great little gem on the east side, yet still within a reasonable walk to shops on 5th & Madison, Times Sq and of course Grand Central. Despite our room somehow missing housekeeping service on the first day, our stay was still very positive. Personable staff. Well appointed & spacious rooms. Good breakfast bar selections. Will absolutely stay here again....likely in a few weeks for our daughter's graduation. Keep up the good work Residence Inn/Midtown East!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjjzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear bjjzmom -

Thank you for your kind words of praise in your review of your recent stay with us. We really do have a great Midtown East location close to many attractions including Grand Central Station and 5th Avenue Shopping. On top of that, our seasoned staff is here to assist you during your stay.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to the Residence Inn Manahttan/Midtown East!

Coridally,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were five guest in an apartment at the hotel.
Excellent hotel's location.
At breakfast, you can get eggs, coffee, potatoes, etc..
Two nights at the hotel which no one entered the room to clean or replace towels.
Average price to this area and other hotels at the same level.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdnaBrodai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello EdnaBrodai -

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay at our brand new Residence Inn by Marriott Manhattan/Midtown East. Our location in the heart of Midtown East is within walking distance to many NYC top attractions.

Thank you again as I do appreciate your feedback.

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is the nicest hotel that I have stayed at in New York City. It is also the most expensive. We felt very welcomed by the staff. Their parking garage was directly across the street ($50 per day) - very convenient. We had a clean, fresh and well appointed corner room with a mini kitchen and a balcony. The complementary breakfast was pretty good. I loved their pork patties but the scrambled eggs were a little dry and crumbly. It is a good location for tourists and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello Timothy B -

Let me thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at our Residence Inn by Marriott Manhattan/Midtown East. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our well trained staff, location and complimentary hot breakfast buffet.

My entire team looks forward to hosting your next visit to New York Ciy.

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the most beautiful Residence Inn we have ever stayed in. We stayed four nights with our two children, and had the best time. We had a beautiful view of the Chrysler building out of our new room. The staff was excellent. With their help, they made our first trip to NY wonderful. We can't wait to return and will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNtravelers_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RInnMidtownEastNY, General Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear MNtravelers_01 -

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you were among the first guests to stay in our brand new Residence Inn by Marriott Manhattan/Midtown East. We also love our Midtown East location and the views from some of our upper floor suites.

Thank you again and we look forward to hosting your next visit to NYC!

Cordially,
Greg Dietl - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#56 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Property: Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Address: 148 East 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017-1224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the pulse of New York City in our Midtown East location close to Grand Central Station, the United Nations, and Rockefeller Center. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like studio and spacious one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas and a select few with outdoor space. A kitchenette ready for your favorite cuisine. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to energize your mornings. And, a fitness center for strengthening your body and soul. At Residence Inn, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing