We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good indian meal, the tandoori dishes are mouthwatering”
Review of Amla - CLOSED

Amla
Cuisines: Indian
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good indian meal, the tandoori dishes are mouthwatering”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We want into Amla following other reviews on TripAdvisor as we were looking for a Indian restaurant nearby the place we were wandering at. The restaurant was completely empty when we got there which was not a good sign on a busy Saturday afternoon. However, it was already almost full when we left.

The starters were no more than OK but the entrees were superb. Very delicios, yet not too spicy (this was exactly what we asked for as none of us is capable of eating very spicy dishes). When we got to the desserts we could harld breath so we had to skip.

The service throughout our meal was very professional and attentive. The only reason my rating is good rather than excelent are the starters which were blend and uncomparable to the rest of the meal.

Recommended + I will personally go there again

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusyBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Northport, New York
Level Contributor
469 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

The food was excellent and the service was very efficient. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the wait staff wad nit very friendly. Otherwise, I would highly recommend if you like Indian food at reasonable prices

Helpful?
Thank Lo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I m Indian. this restaurant very good food”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Me and my family go this restaurant . This food very very good . I eat tandoori chicken it is like Indian test & lamb kabab so good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elongated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great food”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have been to Amla several times and the place has become our favorite Indian restaurant on the upper west side. We have tried many items from their menu and were never disappointed - Everything is delicious, well-spiced and not too salty (a frequent problem with many Indian restaurants) and the quality is consistently high. Friendly service. We have tried their delivery as well and were very happy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank se9834a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“great indian food”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Amla wasa great find we ran inyo after a wholr morjing of walking and shopping on broadway. checked out their veg biryani and garlic nan. Both turned out to be dekightfully good.. would strongly recommend. ?.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank anrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amla also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing