We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton is reliable family base of operations for NYC visits”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Ranked #61 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have stayed in three different Hampton Inns in Manhattan with kids- United Nations, Empire State and theater district (Midtown West). Are are nearly identical. All are reliable , clean, ample for NYC, near subways and walk-able destinations, and provide a serviceable breakfast and 24 hour coffee to get everyone out the door. I stayed here with kids to facilitate Eastside events, including a guided United Nations tour- 3 blocks away. Grand Central with trains and subway, is a block away westward. There are plenty of bars and restaurants on Third Avenue (one block east). It is not romantic. It is not a boutique hotel. There is not a lot of charm. That is not the point. I have stayed in boutique hotels that had tiny rooms or poor Heating/ cooling/ elevators. I have also stayed at spectacular hotels that I remember fondly. Hampton Inns in Manhattan serve as a base of operations for Manhattan, they are not an end to themselves. I highly recommend each of these properties to families with busy NYC agendas.

Room Tip: I think they are all about the same in this one and one the Westside. . I did get an Empire State Vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BryanK8129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you for the time taken to write this 4 circle review for our property. We hope that you continue to choose Hampton Inn’s as your choice of stay for all future reservations here in the Big Apple.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,283 - 1,289 of 2,136 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

I am writing this review because I have received excellent customer service from this hotel. All personnel took care of my issues, eventhough not all had the power to adjust my request, they made sure I spoke to the manager and my issue was well taking care of by Mr. Rodriguez, hotel manager. I am so looking forward to staying in this hotel next week.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Sr9218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

We at the property would like to give many thanks for taking the time out of your day to write this review. We are pleased to hear that our agents showed excellent hospitality and accommodated your requests as best to their abilities. We look forward for all future reservations to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

You really couldn't have asked for a more perfect location. Just two blocks away from Grand Central Terminal (where you can catch the Subway) and a 15 minute walk to Times Square, yet still on a somewhat less traveled quiet street, it was truly a gem. Overall a small hotel, typical for New York but at the same time had all the amenities needed for a great stay. Before arriving I had seen some comments of small hotel rooms and was a little worried but after checking in, I was pleasantly surprised. Although the rooms were not large, they were average size for New York city and I had stayed in smaller ones before. Ample of room for four people to navigate around although a little tight on storage space. Only 8 rooms per floor so interior hallway noise was very limited and at times sounded like there was no one else staying in the hotel. As for outside noise, although I was on the 10th floor, I really didn't find it that bad. There was a somewhat occasional ringing sound from the building next door and obviously some traffic noise but nothing overly loud. The block of East 43rd that the hotel is situated on is mostly offices (Pfizer), with a few shops and two restaurants, so after suppertime there is really not much traffic passing by.

In regards to location, there is a Avis rent a car office right next door, Starbucks and Dunkin Dounuts just around the corner and a Duane Reade Pharmacy just two short blocks up. Had tons of quick places too eat nearby including a great pizza place one block over that was selling slices of pizza for 99 cents.

Overall a great friendly, clean and comfortable hotel at rates that won't max out your credit card. The only negative thing was one of the elevators was broken on the morning of check out, so after waiting close to 20 minutes for an elevator with enough space to fit myself and luggage and still no luck, I carried my suitcase down 10 flights of stairs as I had a train to catch a Penn Station...

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Manhattan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for the perfect 5 circle review for our property, Hampton Inn United Nations. We are happy to read reviews as yours where our guests are more than content with their stay. Although we had a technical issue during your stay we hope it will not deter you from returning and enjoying our clean comfortable and hospitable staff once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel is clean and well managed, close to Broadway Theatre District, Museum of Modern Art, Grand Central Station. It is not a fancy hotel, but the staff is very friendly and very responsive to your needs. Breakfast consists of hot entrees (eggs, sausages, omelettes, the days we were there), cereals, yogurts, make your own waffles, coffee, juices, breads,muffins. Hotel has a good exercise room my daughter frequented and the computers/printer in the business center was FAST. The front desk staff were great with advising where best to see the July 4th fireworks, late check out, etc. Location is great and we would DEFINITELY stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lblumen447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for the time taken to write this 5 circle review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotels free amenities as well as the staff’s hospitability. Thank you for choosing our property on your recent stay and we cannot wait to have you here once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I went to the Hotel on the 4th of july weekend. It was a really good experience. The rooms small, but cozy, complementary wifi and breakfast. The staff pretty friendly, they even welcome you with some yummy cookies at the lobby.
Tip: ask for high floor they are pretty quiet, which its unusual in New york city.
The location its great too, close to grand central.
I would go back again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ItsAdri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for the taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with our property during the 4th of July weekend. We are glad to hear it was a really good experience and that you enjoyed the coziness of the rooms and staffs hospitality. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great hotel with clean rooms and friendly and helpful staff. Great location if you want to experience mid-town Manhattan, close to Grand Central Station and many of the main attractions are within walking distance. Overall very good and reasonably priced with a good breakfast included.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Jacques V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

We are pleased to hear that you considered our property great and enjoyed our complimentary hot and cold breakfast buffet. Thank you for taking the time to write this great review and hope that your future travels to NYC shall return you to our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

4 sisters having a sister weekend in nyc. We were well accommodated. Asked for and received Welcome Sisters Sign and a room sized refridgerator. We were kindly assisted with good directions and recommendations for travel and activities. The alertness and quick action of manager Kelvin Rodriguez saved a bag that had been inadvertently left at the patio table , and us from having to replace personal items. The room accommodated us well The closets certainly did not accommodate clothing for 4 women but there was enough drawer space. the bathroom was roomy. The staff greeted us upon entry and departure daily. We would like to have been able to call a taxi directly to the hotel rather than hailing one from the intersection. Other than that and perhaps a bit more variety from day to day with the breakfast meat, everything was well done. Especially appreciated the open tea and coffee bar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank freida w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for the great five circle review of our staff here at the Hampton Inn United Nations. It brings us great pleasure to hear that you were well accommodated and enjoyed the hospitality of all our staff. We hope the following sister weekend that happens in NYC will be back with our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#31 of 469 in New York City
411 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#34 of 469 in New York City
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central

Address: 231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017-4701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $116 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing