We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value - nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Ranked #81 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Good value - nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This hotel was better than expected - very clean, quiet, and with friendly staff. We had a room with two double beds and there was enough space for a family of four. This hotel is a good choice in Manhattan. Good location, free breakfast, nice rooms, and the parking was reasonabble.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Janice,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you and family with an enjoyable stay with us. Please, make us your hotel of choice for any anticipated future stays in the New York City area. Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn United Nations and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    469
    89
    19
    14
See reviews for
445
369
83
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 8 nights in May for my first trip to NYC. The room was seemed small but that was because it had a huge king size bed. The bed was the most comfortable I have had in a hotel. Though the pillows are not great. It's a great location for grand central station and I was able to check in late at night. Service was good, check in staff friendly and I was always treated warmly on my return to the hotel. The room was cleaned daily and got breakfast is included. I would recommend this hotel to any one.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very glad to hear that you found our beds so comforting and enjoyable. Thank you for the feedback on the pillows, we will be sure to look into this. We would also like to thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. Please, make us your hotel of stay for any anticipated future stays in the New York City area. Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn United Nations and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Moved to the Hampton Inn having spent a few nights at the Grand Hyatt - don't waste money on GH, go to HI. At check in we were warmly welcomed by Joshua who provided us a room, even though we were there before check in time - I know this can be dependant on room availability but the fact he looked was great. The rooms have everything you need - free wi-fi, toiletries, hair-dryer, ironing board and coffee machine (quite rare in NY hotels). Erica was also very helpful checking on the car service reservation I had made to take me to the airport. Highly recommend staying both for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JASH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We thank you very much for your kind words towards Erica and Joshua. We will be sure to share this positive feedback with the rest of the Hampton Inn UN Guest Services Team. We look forward to any return visits that you may anticipate with us! Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn United Nations and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed here with my mom for mother's day weekend and it was amazing, it was very affordable and breakfast was included. The location is everything! just a couple of blocks from the subway station and other attractions whitin walking distance.
Even though the rooms are very small (which is expected for NYC) it is very clean and comfy.
The staff is very friendly and helpful! I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Lorena,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you for your kind words towards our staff. We are glad that you enjoyed a wonderful Mother’s Day with us at Hampton United Nations. Please, make us your hotel of choice for any future celebrations taking place in the New York City area. Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn United Nations and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel was clean and was decent size for NY. The staff was great. Breakfast was decent compared to other chains. The entrance to Grand Central station was about a 5 minutes or less walk from the hotel (same street as hotel). The noise from outside never was heard in our rooms. We could hear the people next store a little, but not anything uncommon from any other hotel stay. Not a bad hotel and location overall. I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you for your kind words towards our staff. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast with Hampton Inn United Nations. Please, make us your hotel of choice for any future visits to the New York City area. Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn United Nations and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Hotel location is excellent. We were very pleased with the hotel staff: dynamic, efficient, courteous and professional. The rooms very clean and the bed is large and very comfortable. Excellent television. Small usefully safe. Breakfast is rich and satisfying.
Those who did not manage to get breakfast can get a bag that contains: a bottle of water, fruit, snack, candy and cake. Coffee 24 hours - delicious coffee (not STARBACKS).
My wife and I greatly enjoyed from this hotel and highly recommend.

Room Tip: There are not many rooms with views of the street. Each room will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ofer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Ofer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you for your kind words towards our staff. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the coffee provided by the hotel as a fresh alternative to the chain baristas. Please, make us your hotel of choice for any future visits to the New York City area. Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn United Nations and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresh Meadows, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel was renovated, clean and in a great spot in NYC. The room was small but had everything you needed and was very clean and modern. You can't ask for more than a clean, quiet room, in a great location with friendly staff that are willing to assist you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Jill,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are very glad to hear that you found the accommodations of our hotel to be satisfactory and we thank you for your kind words towards our staff. Please, make us your hotel of choice for any future visits to the New York City area. Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn United Nations and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Sq...
#75 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 921 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#91 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,843 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#143 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,735 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#167 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Address: 231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017-4701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing