We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you want at a price you can afford” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Ranked #72 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Everything you want at a price you can afford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is a superb value, especially if you get a discount price, like on expedia or travelocity, as I did. The hotel is quiet (amazing to find in the middle of Manhattan!), clean, attractive and modern, with hot water, good water pressure and other wonderful amenities. The personnel (including at the front desk, cleaning crew, and breakfast servers) are most helpful and friendly. There is also a terrific hot breakfast buffet! And, though I didn't use it, there's a gym! This is a great find in the middle of Manhattan. However, the location is slightly out of the way. If you want to be in the middle of the action, go elsewhere. It is not located in Times Sq, but reasonably close (within walking distance if you're not carrying luggage) to Grand Central Station (which has a shuttle--short, quick, direct subway--to Times Sq). For me, going to a conference SW of midtown, it wasn't the most convenient location, especially when taking taxis. Re location, imho, it's best if you can get around easily taking subways and walking, using only the occasional taxi--unless you learn the route to tell the cab driver!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starcompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort quality and cleanliness of our rooms and staffs hospitability. It’s even better to hear that the hot breakfast buffet was terrific and was able to fuel you for the busy day ahead of you. We hope to have you at our property once again the next time you have business in NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    563
    110
    24
    15
See reviews for
545
456
96
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here for a week and had a great time. This hotel is fairly new so everything is in perfect working order. The location can't be beat as you can walk to many of New York's famous attractions. If you're hungry there are plenty of restaurants in all price ranges in the area.

The room was very comfortable and so was the bed. The free breakfast that is included in the price of the room was great as well offering both hot and cold items. The front desk staff were always helpful and friendly.

Next time I go to New York I will definitely try to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superjerryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We here at the Hampton Inn United Nations would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review for our property. It brings us great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary hot and cold breakfast along with the comfort and quality of our rooms. We are happy to hear that your future stays will be with our property and that our staff’s hospitability has made an impact on your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here for the first weekend in March. The hotel is in a great location and walking distance to a lot of places. The rooms are pretty standard but if your here on leisure is suggest this hotel because it's in a quieter location in the city but still very accessible. The staff is great and friendly as they speak to everyone coming in and leaving the hotel. Also nice hit breakfast in the am. The beds are very comfortable and the windows in the room open if you like a little fresh air. Only problem is the water temperature in the shower doesn't get very warm. Other than that, great hotel.

Room Tip: Check water temperature of shower before you unpack your bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhov208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this great review for our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, complimentary breakfast and hospitable staff. We have passed the information along to our engineering team so they can make the formidable changes necessary to keep our guests water temperature levels comfortable. Hopefully this does not deter you from staying with our property once again when your travels bring you back to the big apple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

This hotel showed me that Hampton Inn maintains its standard of hotel services the same, whether you are in a small town in the Midwest or in Manhattan. When you come to this hotel and are familiar with Hampton Inns, you know what you're getting.
This hotel is in a prime spot for business travelers, especially those with business at the UN and surrounding area. Additionally, the rooms were excellent, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast buffet and dining area were nice, with lots of space for people to surf the Net, work, read, or enjoy a cup of coffee. Our company will be back and use this hotel often.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTrekkerDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of our property from your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that our hotels location, comfort and quality of our rooms and complimentary items were excellent by you and strengthened your trust in our brand. We shall be patiently awaiting your companies return with open arms as our property and Hampton Inn Brand thrives on making our guests stays as effortless and homely as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is an excellent hotel with a convenient location, clean rooms, a great complimentary breakfast, and great value for the money. I really enjoyed my stay and the staff makes everything effortless for their guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hi Gary,

Thanks you for taking the time out of your day to leave our property, The Hampton Inn United Nations, this great Trip Advisor review. It brings us great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff’s hospitability went a long way to make your travels effortless. Hopefully your return trip to NYC will bring you back to our property where your travels are at ease!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
217 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in New York. We only booked this hotel 2 days before we travelled as we got a super rate on Expedia. We had a room with 2 double beds and which included a very good free breakfast which set you up for the day and free wifi throughout the hotel. Free tea/coffee was available all day.
The location was perfect, 5 mins walk from Grand Central station and 15 mins from Times Square.The hotel stored our luggage on the last day when we checked out as we were not flying til late that night.
I would have no hesitation in using this hotel again or indeed in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eimear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review for our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary hot and cold breakfast items as well as complimentary WIFI throughout the building. Hopefully you also enjoyed the hot chocolate that is available 24hrs along with the coffee and tea in the breakfast area, one of the few amenities that everyone enjoys during this crazy winter weather here in NYC. We were more than happy to store your luggage for the day so you can enjoy the city prior to your flight travels and will be pleased to offer this the next time you return. Many thanks for the recommendations and great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here in February 2014 for 5 nights.

Pros:

Good location, as only 5 minute walk to Grand Central and 15/20 minute walk to Time Square.
Some small shops/eateries close by.
Good breakfast included in the price of your stay, with a decent range of hot and cold food.
Free tea/coffee served from the breakfast room all day.
Free wifi in your room/lobby areas.
Sat TV in room.
Some staff polite, helpful and friendly.
Good size rooms for the money and well equipped also with hairdryer, toiletries etc.
City Map available at check in for free.

Cons:

Check in was a little rude, not welcoming us to the hotel and talking to someone else on the phone as we arrived.
Some staff seem to not remember their manners like ‘please and thank you’!
‘City View’ was a little disappointing.

Overall, I can certainly recommend staying here at the Hampton Inn. For the money, compared to other similar hotels, it is real value for money and you are very well catered for. It is in a safe area, and is a good location for your stay in NYC.

(Hotel can book a taxi for your return journey to the airport for around 65$ if required. Taxi from the airport is a fixed price 55$, plus tips, plus bridge toll.)

Enjoy this amazing City, and don’t be afraid to book this hotel. We certainly did not regret it – a good solid and affordable choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a non adjoining room. Most in the hotel are, but you can hear what's going on in the nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank javab29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review for our property. We are happy to hear that our location, staff, car service and bedding accommodations were to your pleasing. Hopefully the short comings mentioned will not avert you from returning to our property and enjoying your stay once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#144 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Address: 231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017-4701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing