We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bargain in midtown Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Ranked #65 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were delighted to find a Hampton Inn in midtown at such a low rate. The room was small (as one would expect in Manhattan) but very clean and attractive. Even though our room faced the street, it was very quiet. Contrary to recent experience elsewhere, the room was cleaned everyday even when we didn't leave the room until after 10 am. The breakfast included real cooked oatmeal, which I always enjoy. We had no problems whatsover.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review for our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and took advantage of our complimentary hot and cold breakfast. Hopefully the great experience you encountered will bring you back to our property each and every time your travels return you to the Big Apple.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,337 - 1,343 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

Over the years, I have stayed at two and a half dozen hotels in "Midtown East", the Grand Central-Lexington Avenue Corridor area. While nearly a third have offered more cachet and creature comforts, this very new Hampton Inn is a sound and thrifty choice in an expensive city. Just three blocks east of Grand Central, it is on a relatively quiet, if homely, side street.

Most of the predictable things about Hampton Inns are commendable: high standards of cleanliness, alert and cordial staff, very comfortable beds, amenities that are appreciated by both business and leisure travelers (ex. free wi-fil iron and ironing board, coffee maker, nice flat screen TV) and good value. Other repeat features are less appreciated: the fairly industrial breakfasts (albeit "free", i.e. included in your room rate); thin insulation between rooms, spartan levels of finish in furniture, bathrooms and closets that will look rather worn in a few years. Also, in more vertical Hampton Inns (the big city variety), the rooms are often very small. Squeezing everything into the bathroom that needed to be there required some sacrifices (sliding glass door, fairly narrow sink, toilet paper dispenser in a rather awkward place, etc.) I suppose my main complaint was the mood lighting in the bathroom, not helpful when you are trying to shave.

But the overall calculus is that if you are trying to save money in the city, so is the Hilton Corporation, and they are entitled to a profit.

This is a very narrow 21 story hotel, with just a handful of rooms on each floor. There are two high speed elevators, and as long as they are working right, you won't have to put up with what can become a real drag in NYC apartments and hotels-the long elevator wait.

The answer to the totally forgettable breakfast is to go out and seek a place where New Yorkers grab a bite. The hotel gathers a nice clientele, so that isn't the problem. It's just the steam table with its nearly synthetic eggs and bacon and the supermarket grade pastries. Grab a decent cup of coffee, they do that all right, and go out looking for a real bagel.

On the subject of those thin walls, at least the folks who are staying here are well behaved. Otherwise, you could feel you were back in a dorm. The insulation from outside noise is not bad, especially with the white noise from the HVAC System. With what you save, you are ready to make a down payment on a Broadway Show, or a good dinner at one of the city's many fine restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inside are likely to be quieter than those facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ulysses4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete this trip advisor survey on your most recent stay with us. This survey helps us to measure the success of the hotel and service we provide to our valued guests. It is a pleasure to hear that you did enjoy your stay and our location in Midtown-East. Hopefully your next visit to the city either for business or pleasure is back with our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Hotel staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Nice breakfast was included. Free Wifi with ability to print boarding passes in the business center. Rooms were ample space and VERY clean. Quiet location. A five minute walk from Grand Central Station and a 15-20 minute walk from Rockefeller Center or there were plenty of cabs available. Very reasonably priced for the nice amenities, convenience and extreme helpfulness of the staff. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margemiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on our property. It brings us great pleasure to hear that our staff went to the extreme to make your stay as easy and comfortable as possible. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary WIFI and hot and cold breakfast items. We are patiently waiting on your return and hopefully we’ll be able raise the bar beyond extremely helpful and courteous to extremely wonderful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Excellent location. Central to get to all sites. Clean and up to date. Great experience. The parking was expensive. The staff was friendly and helpful. I will stay here agin next time I need to go to the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

We at the Hampton Inn United Nations would like to thank you for taking the time write this review for our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean and up to date decor and hospitable staff during your stay with us. You are more than welcomed back the next time you visit the big apple either for business or pleasure our home is your home away from home to enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel is one of the cleanest, quietest, and most reasonably priced rooms I have ever stayed in. I did not expect a very large room in NYC, but the small space was very comfortable. Very clean room, staff was very helpful and accommodating, hot and fresh breakfast. Very easy to get a late check out. It's also in a safe part of town for walking back and forth. Only a block or so from all the sights in Manhattan. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Greetings Kathleen C,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in NYC. We are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our hotels location. We are happy to be able to assist you and help make your New York experience the best it can be. I will make sure to pass on all the nice things you wrote to our Hampton Inn team. We hope to see you soon and thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn United Nations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My family and I stayed here during New Year's Eve. Check in was the best part of the stay, the clerk smiled and was fast. The hallways were narrow but the room was big. One weird thing was the bathroom door. It was a sliding door that didn't even close all the way! No one wants to hear what others are doing in the bathroom. We celebrated New Year's in Times Square 6 blocks away or so and went back to sleep. The neighbors next door, a young ENERGETIC couple, were having noisy sex all night long. At first we thought it was just their TV being loud, but soon realized it was not. I picked up the phone receiver to call the desk, and there was no dial tone. Just a lot of confusing buttons and no instructions. After a few minutes of figuring out how to work it, I called the front desk but there was no answer. If your young kids are staying here make sure they have earplugs unless you want them to ask questions all night long. That's my advice. Anyway, it's no fault of the hotel that things were so awkward with my family and I so I';m not giving them a bad rate. Other than the weird bathroom door and confusing phone, it was a good hotel. Bed was kind of lumpy and the pillows were the kind where go flat when you lay your head on them.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from people. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pledez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Hello Pledez,

We appreciate you taking the time to point out some of the things you noticed/experienced when you stayed with us, we have reached out to the managers in charge and have encouraged them to make some changes from the things you have pointed out. Thank you again for choosing the Hampton Inn United Nations, and we hope you choose the Hampton Inn United Nations when you are visiting New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We came to check-in at the hotel, and were very pleased with the location. Just a few blocks from Grand Central Station, and a nice short walk to Times Square/5th Avenue. Staff was VERY knowledgeable and friendly. We arrived early, and the room was not ready, but staff graciously checked our bags. They had fresh baked cookies in the lobby each evening, which was a welcome touch. Rooms were clean, and while quite small (not unexpected), they were laid out well. I appreciated the stand alone shower, over a tub/shower combination. My only complaint is that for a new hotel, the walls are quite thin...we were placed next to a family with two small children and were unable to get an afternoon nap from the doors slamming, and them being rowdy. In fairness, we didn't approach the staff, since it was 3pm in the afternoon, but if you're a light sleeper, might be worth asking the staff if they have a quieter floor, or a corner room. All in all, a nice, clean, new hotel which is a good value, and considerably cheaper than many "full-service" hotels if you're looking for an inexpensive, but clean hotel in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms with balconies are nice, and a nice addition in case the small room size gets a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review for our property. We are pleased to see that your stay was above satisfactory overall and that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and WIFI as well as centralized location to venture the Big Apple. Hopefully your future travels to NYC bring you back to our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#29 of 469 in New York City
369 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#48 of 469 in New York City
2,280 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#33 of 469 in New York City
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central

Address: 231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017-4701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $159 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing