We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Former NYer… My new go-to when I go to NY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Ranked #63 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Former NYer… My new go-to when I go to NY”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Like other reviewers, I was impressed. NY is a tough city in which to find a reasonably priced room. NY is a tough city in which to find a quiet room. The room was reasonably priced, quiet, recently renovated. The front desk service was professional. They gave us a coupon so that our parking next door was $28 instead of $65 for 24 hours. They kept our bags safe for us after check out until we were ready to leave the city. This will be my new go-to when I go to NY.

Room Tip: Room 1701 was quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank My_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi My_AZ,

We appreciate your great review of our property and the time taken to write it. New York City is a tough place to find a quiet room especially when trying to keep close to all the city attractions. Noise and bright lights will definitely become a factor in determining which property you choose to stay with, we are glad you chose the Hampton Inn-United Nations for our off centered location gets one where they need to be quickly but also gives the tranquility one needs when it’s time to rest! We hope you enjoy your future stays with us and take advantage of all the amenities we complimentary offer as well.

We at the Hampton Inn-United Nations wish you a Happy Holidays and a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,195
    648
    123
    31
    17
See reviews for
684
514
113
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Very nice and clean room. A little pricey but in a good area. Located within walking distance to Grand Central Station. Breakfast was satisfactory not much to choose from but what was available was good. Hotel staff was very helpful and attentive. I would recommend this hotel if you would like to be close to Times Square but want to escape the higher price of Times Square hotels. You would have to take a cab to Times Square, about ten bucks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Debleger1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review for our property, the Hampton Inn United Nations, of your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the comfort and quality of our rooms as well as the complimentary breakfast that was available during your stay. We are grateful for your recommendation for future guests and hope that all your future stays to NYC will be with our property.

Wishing You a Happy Holidays and a Happy New Year,
Hampton Inn United Nations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel has very friendly and helpful staff who go out of their way to ensure you are taken care of. If you need access to the United Nations or Grand Central Station, this is the place to stay. Lots of variety at breakfast, although it's a bit crowded at times and you my need to wait for a table. The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We at the Hampton Inn United Nations are proud that our staff showed excellent hospitality on your current stay with us and went above and beyond in assisting you. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast variety and the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms. Hopefully we’ll be your location of choice for all your future stays when returning to NYC.

Wishing you a Happy Holidays and a Happy New Year,
The Hampton Inn-united Nations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel was very impressive. The rooms were very clean, and the hotel staff was friendly and helpful. I was quite impressed with the great service for a hotel so close to all the landmarks in Manhattan and the UN.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hi Janice D,

We at the Hampton Inn would first like to thank you for taking the time to leave this wonderful review of our staff and property. We strive to make every guest stay perfect and are happy that we've accomplished this feet with you. Hopefully the next time you’re in town you choose the Hampton Inn united Nations as you’re home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Great location, staff always attentive and friendly, comfortable beds and very nice modern rooms. The only downside is the pipes is noisy, but this is because the hotel is built on an old building site I think.
And I was unfortunate enough to have a room right next to the ice machine which added to the noise factor.
I will definately stay here again though. Very good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stugs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear sugs 123,

We do appreciate the time spent on giving an honest review of your stay here with us at the Hampton Inn United Nations. Friendly Service, clean rooms and comfortable surroundings is something we strive to meet and exceed for each and every guest stay. The hotel was actually built from the ground up and opened March of this year. We are working on the small quirks that have risen and will continue to address all issues that do arise to keep our property as comfortable, noise free and modern as possible. We would humbly love you to return to the property so we may make your experience with us a perfect five!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I often stay at Hampton Inns and this one was very nice and in a great location for my business trip. I believe the hotel is fairly new, so everything in hotel was up-to-date. My room was very nice and quiet. Also, I found the price of this hotel to be very fair based on what hotels cost in New York City. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hi Paul A,

Thank you for taking the time to place this wonderful review for future guests to see and hopefully choose to stay with us here at the Hampton Inn United Nations. As a business personnel we know traveling and being away from loved ones can be quite cumbersome and is why we make every effort to make your stay as smooth and tranquil as can be. Arriving home after a long days work to a quiet and comfortable room is what we embody here at the Hampton Inn United Nations, at a reasonable price to match. We hope to make your future stays as wonderful as this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights. The rooms are small, but you have to remember you are in NYC, so it didn't bother us. Everything was very clean, staff was nice and helpful. You can leave your bags with them before and after check-in which is very convenient. The location is only a few blocks from Grand Central Terminal which makes getting around easy. Room was quiet to outdoor noise, however we could easily hear conversations in other rooms around us and the doors did close quite loudly. Only complaint was that we never got refilled with shampoo (but got more conditioner and lotion) and though we hung up our towels (so they would not replace them), they still gave us new ones every day. This may not seem like a big deal to some, but I specifically hang them up to try and do my part to cut down on waste so I wish the housekeeping staff would follow this rule (which is posted in the bathroom). The breakfast was GREAT! Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel - we had a great experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondie52210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hi blondie52210,

We are pleased to hear that you had a great experience at our property and took advantage of our luggage holding services for a few hours as you enjoyed the town on arrival and departure. It also brings us great pleasure that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast every morning of your stay, we know it’s the most important meal of the day especially when traveling in the Big Apple. Thank you for the time spent on the above satisfactory review and high recommendations for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#23 of 467 in New York City
294 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#54 of 467 in New York City
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#59 of 467 in New York City
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Address: 231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017-4701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing