We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Ranked #60 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I chose this hotel based on it's nearness to an event I was attending. However I will choose to stay here again not only because of the great location but also because of the helpful staff. My room was small, but well appointed and comfortable. The breakfast was standard with a good selection of options. I did not use the gym.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Alla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Alla W,

Thank you for writing such a great review of our hotel! It is truly delightful to know that we were able to provide you with the assistance you needed. Our rooms are actually considered a bit larger than most hotels in Manhattan. Our aim is to provide all of our guests with the experience of it being a home away from home. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and hopefully we get to have you grace us with your presence in the near future.

The Hampton Inn UN TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,527 - 1,533 of 2,262 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

My cousin treated me to a stay at this hotel during my husband's medical illness. What a treat to have a retreat nightly that was safe and secure; with a staff that was watchful and alert to the people that were entering the building. Extremely courteous staff and cleanness that were not surpassed. Thank you and God bless you & your staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Bonnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Bonnie K,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our hotel! We enjoyed having you stay here with us at the Hampton Inn UN and our hearts go out to you and your husband. Thank you for your compliments and I will make sure to pass them on to the rest of our TEAM members. All of us wish your husband a speedy recovery and hopefully we can have you both visit very soon.

The Hampton Inn UN TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in September of this year when we came over from Glasgow for our daughter's wedding. We've been to New York a few times and so glad we found this hotel! Wonderful and helpful staff, comfortable and quiet room, breakfast is first class and especially liked the 'breakfast on the go' offering. The 24 hr tea and coffee was a bonus. Great location being so close to Grand Central and all the main attractions. My wife enjoyed watching the local New Yorkers from the front door terrace! We'll be back - hopefully next year!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Anne M,

Thank you very much for your very kind review! We take great pleasure in the services and amenities we provide here at the Hampton Inn UN and we truly are pleased to know that you took notice. Hopefully next time around you can try the freshly baked cookies that our very own Front Office Manager makes.

The Hampton Inn UN TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Quiet, with large rooms for NYC and nice bathrooms. Good location and staff is very friendly. The breakfast every morning was great. The price is wonderful for the location and the service that you get at this hotel. We stayed here on a girl's trip to NYC in November and had a great time. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to the NYC area

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Caitlin M,

Thank you very much for writing such a great review of our hotel! We are pleased to know that you took pleasure in our complimentary breakfast and enjoyed the services we provide here at the Hampton Inn UN. You are correct in stating that our rooms are a bit larger than most hotels in Manhattan and we are obliged that you did take notice. Hopefully you can return to visit us again very soon.

The Hampton Inn UN TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

From the front office staff to the room service staff, this Hampton Inn location demonstrated excellence in customer service. There were knowledgeable, helpful and most of all, friendly. Our room was cleaned everyday and smelled like freshly cleaned cotton sheets! This hotel completed our trip to NYC! I would definitely recommend this location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Dora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Dora L,

Thank you very much for writing such a wonderful review of our hotel. It makes us happy to know that we could make a difference during your family vacation. I will definitely forward your very kind words to the rest of the TEAM. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you return soon.

The Hampton Inn UN TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

New hotel, fresh feel, great staff, everyone was friendly and helpful, everyone.
King room was small, and very functional.
Hot water every time, unlike many NYC hotels.
Coffee, cereal, and rolls helpful in the am at no charge.

Very clean room, and sheets washed daily.

More than two people would be cramped, business travelers would enjoy the efficiency of the place versus a couple on a romantic trip.

Good discount on Central Parking down the street, however, service is very slow, but at
$27 a day max, good deal for NY.

As an aside, Manhattan traffic is horrible, especially East side. I used to drive some places in the boroughs, never again. The FDR is out of the Godfather, narrow lanes, a wide school bus almost ran me over at 50 mph.

Highly recommend hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are same size, perhaps room with double beds is bigger; webiste lacks square footage, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalmBeachGolfer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Jack44Florida,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the amenities that we provide for our guests. We are terribly sorry to hear about your experience with traffic here in NY. Hopefully that does not deter you from coming back and visiting us again. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The staff at this particular property was courteous and very professional. The rate was reasonable especially for NYC and the hotel amenities were great. Free Breakfast & Wifi was great and the location of the property was perfect to enjoy my NYC experience. I have visited New York numerous times and I find that this property was my the best value for my dollar. I plan to be a return customer.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty standard but they are all very clean and cozy. I prefer the higher floors becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filmbelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Filmbelize,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about our hotel! We are pleased to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and are planning on coming back. Perhaps you can take pleasure in some of the extra amenities we set out for guests next time you stay with us. Once again, we appreciate your kind words and thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 473 in New York City
480 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#35 of 473 in New York City
736 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#65 of 473 in New York City
288 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#42 of 473 in New York City
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central

Address: 231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017-4701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $138 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing