We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Ranked #61 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Belize City, Belize
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel Experience”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The staff at this particular property was courteous and very professional. The rate was reasonable especially for NYC and the hotel amenities were great. Free Breakfast & Wifi was great and the location of the property was perfect to enjoy my NYC experience. I have visited New York numerous times and I find that this property was my the best value for my dollar. I plan to be a return customer.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty standard but they are all very clean and cozy. I prefer the higher floors becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filmbelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Filmbelize,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about our hotel! We are pleased to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and are planning on coming back. Perhaps you can take pleasure in some of the extra amenities we set out for guests next time you stay with us. Once again, we appreciate your kind words and thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,169
    636
    121
    30
    16
See reviews for
662
505
111
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Towson, MD
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in a Great location in Manhattan close to the best the city has to offer. The staff are friendly and very attentive.
The room was neat and clean with a fresh smell. Also, the view from the rooms are great. In addition, the pricing is very affordable as well.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kerobles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Kerobles1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience in NYC. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the view in your room, and the condition of your room. I will make sure to let the housekeepers know how much you appreciated it. Thank you for choosing at the Hampton Inn United Nations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I'll start by saying that this was my first time in NYC, so I cannot compare this hotel to other. Having said that, the hotel was pretty nice. The prices are expensive to me, but relatively cheap for New York. The free breakfast in the morning and the free WIFI is nice. The rooms and bathrooms are very small, but the beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. As for convenience, I would have preferred to be located 2-3 blocks closer to the center of Midtown to cut back on some of the walking, but it's not too bad getting around. Grand Central Terminal is literally 1.5 blocks away. The area is pretty nice and quiet. The only problem we had was with our luggage. We checked in very early (9am) and of course our room was not ready, but the clerk gave us luggage tags and assured us 3 times that our luggage would be stored in a secure area until we returned that afternoon. We actually didn't get back until around 10pm that night, and our luggage was still sitting next to the counter in the lobby. The clerk assured us that is was secure the whole time, but I believe that someone could have easily made off with some of our bags very easily. It's not an incident that would keep me from staying there, but I really didn't appreciate it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan7667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Dan7667,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice and detailed review on your first trip to NYC. We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy your stay with us and take advantage of our hotel’s location and accommodations. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you suffered with the security of your luggage. Please contact me directly if you are planning to stay with us again, I will make sure your stay is enjoyable and memorable for all your future trips. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn United Nations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Always like to stay at Hilton properties. The staff is always courteous, rooms clean and comfortable. Some of the other hotels we have gotten some not so good surprises in our accomodations. Have nor experienced those surprises with Hilton.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Carolyn B,


Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a sweet review of your experience staying in the Hampton Inn United Nations. I will make sure I let the rest of the team know of your kind words. We hope to see you soon and thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn United Nations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Location, Location, Location !!! Clean and Great Staff
Check in a breeze, Jonathan S. the guest services agent was very kind, friendly and helpful. Helped with lots of advice and directions as well. Room was small, clean and quiet! Breakfast was good, hot and cold items and well attended by staff. Location was fabulous, close to EVERYTHING!!! Walked to Broadway, to Rockefeller Center and Central Park. Also walked to Little Italy which was a longer walk but enjoyed the New York ambiance and charm. Grand Central a block away and the 5 train took us to WTC memorial and new construction. What more can you ask for in the greatest place to see, do and experience everything Manhattan. Bed was fine, tv was fine, wireless internet free and relatively fast thank goodness.
Highly recommend,. Hilton Honors amenities received and gold status acknowledged. Private car to and from LaGuardia $60 including tax, tip and tolls which was nicer, cleaner and faster than risking a taxi that was likely a little less. Used an online coupon for a popular car service so paid with credit card and no games. Great property near UN and everything Manhattan.

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfPete34515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Greetings ProfPete34515,

Thank you so much for writing such wonderful review, I will make sure I forward over this review to Jonathan our Front desk agent. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the hotels location. We are happy to know that were able to provide you with the service an accommodations you need to make your stay the best it can possibly be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights on business. Super convenient if you want to be near the UN or Grand Central. The rooms are a good size, for New York, and very clean. The WIFI was fast and reliable. The staff are very friendly and welcoming.The breakfast is standard American chain hotel - nothing special, but very convenient to be able to grab a cup of coffee and a danish in the morning before setting off for the day. The guests seemed to be a mix of people doing something at the UN (identifiable by the UN IDs around their necks) and tourists. Not only would I stay here again but I would consider this chain for future travels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcusandgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear marcusandgriffin,

We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of your experience staying at the Hampton Inn United Nations. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy our hotel accommodations and location. We do hope next time you visit NYC again, you will consider choosing the Hampton Inn United Nations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel was clean and the rooms were maintained clean too. However, the breakfast quality was not good. The location is near the Grand Central and other locations are few blocks away. Plenty of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashutosh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Ashutosh T,

We apologize for the quality of our breakfast accommodations, we will be addressing it to the team and hope this doesn’t discourage you from staying with us in the future. Thank you taking the time to write a review of your experience, and thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn United Nations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 467 in New York City
245 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#51 of 467 in New York City
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Address: 231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017-4701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing