We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient location.....but is it worth the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Ranked #61 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went here for a wedding in Queens it was one of the only hotels available so we ended up paying $250 a night for two nights which is a little steep but what do you expect for New York. The hotel is very new so it's nice and clean couldn't find anything dirty. Although the rooms are very very tiny a kind room is about 150 sq. ft. So try to get a double bed one also the bathrooms are very strange they all have a sliding door type thing that doesn't have a lock so roommates be wear haha. They have a free breakfast like any other Hampton inn which is bagels, waffles, fruits, eggs, etc. Also this is about a 15 minute walk from the United Nations and the tour was so good I for sure recommend it. Staff were beyond helpful and had great restaurant recommendations and directions. Overall pretty good stay.

Price: 6.5/10
Cleanness: 10/10
Comfort: 8/10

Room Tip: Choose double bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanr794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Alan R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a reader's response. I hope you had an amazing time at the wedding in Queens, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,476 - 1,482 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

The location is excellent, however there are two day front desk personnel that are very great listeners and supportive. The gentleman are very courteous and provide great directions and assist when needed. Thank you Enoch and Jonathan for providing EXCELLENT Service. I recommend the Hampton Inn United Nations for personal or business stays 100%. Again thanks for all that you do!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mott1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Mott28,

Thank you for speaking so highly about Enoch and Johnathan; they work very hard and it is great to see that you enjoyed their personalities and helpfulness. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you are familiar with Hampton Inn hotels you won’t be disappointed. You get what you expect from a Hampton Inn but since it is NYC everything is a bit more compact. This hotel seems to have consistently good rates (we got a AAA discount that they actually lowered to match the current rate when we checked in!). And don't forget, your room rate includes breakfast also...even more value for your money. It’s nice to be in a neighborhood away from the touristy Times Square area and it’s less than a five minute walk to the beautiful Grand Central Station. We enjoyed our visit and this hotel so much we are already trying to plan a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thunderfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Thunderfan,

We really appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel; our location is something we get lots of questions about, so I'm sure it is helpful for potential travelers to hear tips about our immediate area from a fellow traveler. Thanks again for sharing your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Bed was cumfortable and room was very clean. Hotel Staff was very personable and helpful. Wish they had early check in but allowed to leave luggage to roam around town while we watied. What a plus to have a nice hot breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Hello Sandra R,

Thank you for taking the time out of day to write such nice things about your experience in NYC. We are grateful that you decided to choose the Hampton Inn United Nations. I will make sure to pass this information over to the Breakfast hosts who work really hard to make our breakfast accommodations and selection enjoyable while you stay with us. We hope to see you soon, enjoy the rest of the summer!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel has a great location, close to Grand Central Station and wonderful restaurants. I was pleased with the amenities and staff, who answered my questions, no matter how obvious the answer was. All in all, the Hampton Inn/United Nations made it easy for me to accomplish my business goals and to have a wonderful time in New York!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Barbara J,

It's great to hear that we were able to provide you with the things you needed to focus on the business at hand and accomplish your goals! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we hope to see you again in the future!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel is very close to Grand Central Station , good location. Almost no traffic noise. The breakfast is satisfactory. The only missing thing is the small refrigerator in the room. The front office is very friendly and helpfull especially Enoch Nimene helps us for arranging The transportation to JFK.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Cemo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Cemo S,

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to write a review. Refridgerators are something that we are currently looking into acquiring, so for your next stay hopefully we will have you covered! We hope all is well and look forward to your next stay at the Hampton Inn United Nations!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

this hotel lies in a great place, it's very easy to go out and find what you want. The most interesting thing is they focus more on the service quality, We have been highly impressed by Enoch Nimene, jennifer Ureny and Can. They just make us highly consider this is not a Hotel, it's more like a 'Home'

Room Tip: rooms are quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucXue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Hello Lucxue,

Thank you so much for such heartwarming comments! I will make sure I tell the staff you mentioned, about the wonderful things you wrote. We are glad to hear you were able to take advantage of the location and got the best experience out of your trip as possible. We hope next time you visit NYC you will consider staying at the Hampton Inn United Nations your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 469 in New York City
411 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#40 of 469 in New York City
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central

Address: 231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017-4701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $139 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing