We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Ranked #68 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a weekend in August and we loved the location of this hotel. We stayed before at the one in the Chelsea area, but this time we picked this one and we were glad we did. It is right next to Grand Central Station and also to Times Square.
Also, we loved the room A/C. It worked perfectly and maintained whatever temperature we wanted. (not like other hotels that you try to lower it to 72 but never reaches not even 78!)
The breakfast was ok.
We also loved the mattress and the comforter set.
Room was very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emm730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Emm730,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! The Hampton brand is known for our awesome beds, and we are proud to uphold the name we've made. Our Chief Engineer and his team have worked hard to make sure that the air conditioners are reading accurately and functioning properly! With New York being so hot at times and so cold at other times, we understand how important the AC unit is in regards to the overall comfort of our guest rooms. We hope that this message reaches you well, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,067)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,423 - 1,429 of 2,067 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have been visiting this hotel for months and encounter Enoch on a daily basis. He always greets me with a smile and a hello. As a frequent traveler, it's great to encounter someone like Enoch who is consistent with his above and beyond service. Thank you Enoch, it's been great meeting you.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Sidneylm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Hello Sidneylm,

I just showed Enoch your posting and I have never seen him blush so much! He thanks you very much for the kind words and hopes that he will see you again to thank you for such a kind post!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, a great location near Grand Central Station. This is a new hotel, only eight rooms per floor, so not large, but rooms are good sized and has a well sized breakfast area and a very good breakfast. Very clean, I would recommend this hotel. Plus if you need a late night snack, just a block away from a 99 Cent Pizza location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank other100a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear other100a,

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in New York! The 99 cent pizza is a favorite of our hotel staff and guests alike. We hope that this message reaches you well and look forward to seeing you during your next trip to New York.

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I am a frequent traveler for business and current Hilton Honors Platinum status member. I regularly travel to New York City and I always stay at the Hampton Inn United Nations on East 43rd.
From the moment you walk through the door, you are immediately greeted by a friendly and overly-accommodating staff. Whether its Victoria, Enoch, Jenifer or Johnathan , you will be interacting with some of the most sincere and welcoming people in the industry. They treat me as a member of their family, which makes being away from mine that much easier.
There is a tremendous amount competition in NYC, however, I highly recommend the Hampton Inn United Nations for a steady, reliable and welcoming experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Ryan S,

Thank you so much for the kind words! We understand how hard it must be to be away from home and are truly flattered to hear that we can provide such comfort while traveling. We hope all is well and look forward to being your home away from home on your next trip to New York!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The absolute best part of the stay at this hotel was the staff. We encountered a really wonderful front desk staffer, Ms. Rodriguez. She was really helpful, always smiling, and really bent backwards to help us when we left an envelope full of cash in the hotel safe. Note, this was after we had checked out already...I had only realized this after we had left but upon receiving our phone call, she went to our room and checked it immediately instead of waiting for housekeeping to do so. It was really above and beyond the call of duty and we really appreciate it. Her honesty and helpfulness as well as the great attitude of everyone else there really raised our opinion of the hotel chain.

With regard to the rest of the stay, the rooms are a decent size, breakfast is generous, the location is great and the property is nice and clean. It was nice but wouldn't have been anything very special except for the staff.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raweli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Raweli,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a reader response! It is a great help in spreading the word about our new hotel, and Victoria will surely enjoy hearing that her name was mentioned in a response!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've been staying at the hampton inn United Nations location in NYC for business since may. It has truly become a home away from home. The customer service is outstanding. Enoch works at the front counter and has been exceptional since the day I checked in! Friendly and accommodating, he always goes out of his way to say hello and ensure my stay is good. All of the staff is wonderful. I highly recommend staying here. It will not disappoint!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jls30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

JLS30,

Thank you so much for the great review! I am certain that Enoch will enjoy hearing he made such a positive impression. Hope you are having a great summer!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I had a really nice stay at this hotel when visiting New York for 5 nights. My room was 2104 on the top floor (no view what so ever). The room was really quiet at nights. The hotel is quite new so the room was extremely clean and modern. I liked especially the clean and modern bathroom even though it was quite small. The staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel is well located and it's only a short walk away from the grand central, so you can catch a subway really easily. WiFi in the room is free and it worked well. Bed was nice and comfortable. Really big plus side was that there was a complimentary breakfast with hot and cold foods. Not the best hotel breakfast I've had, but it was plenty to get the day going.

Only negative comment on this hotel is the air conditioning in the room. The AC is located close to the floor so that it blasts cold air straight towards the bed. Quite funny, but I literally had to make a "pillow shelter" to the other side of the bed so the cold air wouldn't bother me all night. I tried to adjust the AC manually, but it didn't make any difference. AC was either blasting cold air full throttle or it was off, and if it was off the room was extremely hot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni_quest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Toni_quest,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a reader response! We're sorry to hear about the issue you encountered with your heater; I spoke with the chief engineer and the problem has been resolved. We hope that this issue will not deter you from staying with us for your next trip to New York City. It was a pleasure reading your response, thank you again for taking the time!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#24 of 468 in New York City
334 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#51 of 468 in New York City
2,256 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 468 in New York City
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central

Address: 231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017-4701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $191 - $617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing