We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, United States
2 reviews
“Hotel Staff”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very friendly and answered all questions. Pleasant to talk with and I would stay here again. Only issue was 2 elevators that took some time to get back and forth to rooms but no big deal. Good location, 15 minutes from the airport and 5 minute walk to Grand Central station

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bradley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Bradley R,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a reader response. It sounds like you were able to get a flight into Laguardia, which is the closest airport to our hotel and a quick, inexpensive cab ride (~$30-$45, shuttle about $15/ person). We are constantly looking for ways to improve, and have paired with a new elevator company in an effort to improve the experience of our guests. Hope you are having a great summer and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Regards,
Felix O'Casey
Assistant Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn United Nations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    596
    117
    27
    16
See reviews for
596
474
101
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
248 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at this property for 2 nights on the second floor. It is a nice property that offers free WIFI and breakfast from 6a-10a. We never got up early enough to have the breakfast so I cannot comment on it. Coffee and tea is available 24 hours in the breakfast area, along with ice water or ice tea in the lobby. The rooms are small but this is NYC and that is the standard. It is only a couple of blocks from Grand Central Station. Rooms have a programmable thermostat, safe, coffee maker, plenty of plugs and the window opens for fresh air. The bathroom has a shower, no tub or fan. There are also privacy and blackout drapes in the room. There is a fitness center on the lower level and 2 desktop computers and a printer near the breakfast area. There is no charge to use them or print. There is a public parking garage a few doors down but the rates are $50 a day. I prefer the public transportation and since it is so close to Grand Central it makes it easy. We are night owls and were out until 3am and never felt safety was an issue at or near this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
TravelerJ,

Thank you for touching on the safety of our hotel; we are in probably the safest area of New York City. There are police officers posted 24 hours a day on the corner, due to our proximity to the United Nations Building and the numerour embassies in the immediate area. It's great to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Regards,

Felix O'Casey
Assistant Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn United Nations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St George, Bermuda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have been staying at the Hampton Inns For about ten years and I will continue to stay at the Hampton Inn hotels because I find the service to be very good. The staff are always very helpful. I also like the idea of the free breakfast which is always very good. I also like the idea of the large number of channels I can access on the TV In ten years I have never been disappointed. Thanks for the good service. Phillip Smith

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
PhillipS,

It was our pleasure to provide the best possible service we could during your stay! Thank you for the recognition, it truly means a lot to hear from our guests that our hard work is paying off. Hopefully we will get to see you again in the near future, thank you again for taking the time to fill out a reader response.

Regards,

Felix O'Casey
Assistant Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn United Nations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My family and I spent a week at this hotel in late July/early August 2013. The genuinely friendly staff made us feel right at home, especially Victoria, Emina, and Carlos. We slept very well, partly because of the cozy beds, and partly because of the hotel location in a quiet area of Manhattan. The location was perfect for us, within walking distance of Grand Central Station (only a few blocks), Bryant Park, and Times Square. We thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, especially the hot oatmeal with optional dried fruit and sliced almonds. There was a coffeemaker in our room, but we didn't use it at all because there was coffee, tea and hot chocolate available 24/7 in the breakfast area. We also enjoyed the cold citrus water in the lobby. It was very refreshing after exploring NYC for the day. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Thanks for a wonderful hotel experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
SandyF,

Thank you for recognizing Victoria, Carlos and Emina, they all work very hard and will be thoroughly pleased to hear that they had a lasting impact on your stay! It's great to hear that you explored Manhattan and enjoyed our beverages upon your return- we know that all that walking can make you thirsty! Hope all is well and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards,

Felix O'Casey
Assistant Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn United Nations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My beloved wife and I enjoyed a short weekend in Manhattan late July.
The first thing you'd notice at this property, is a warm welcoming staff, attending to details and wanting to make your stay pleasant.
Property is well kept. Room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast, albeit busy, had a decent variety and always a place to sit down. Mid town location is perfect.
Would definitely use this hotel again when in NYC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UPIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear UPIA,

Thank you for the kind words! The service we provide is something we take great pride in and are pleased that you enjoyed it. We hope all is well and you are having an amazing summer, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,

Felix O'Casey
Assistant Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn United Nations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in July. Great location, nice room. Good choice at breakfast - plenty of fresh fruit and always a cooked option. Staff were really helpful and very friendly. Would definitely use this hotel again if in New York

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
374Shiela,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with the Tripadvisor community! Great to read that you enjoyed our hearty breakfast, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,

Felix O'Casey
Assistant Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn United Nations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I visited Manhattan last week and checked into the Hampton Inn for four nights. The hotel is close to Grand Central Terminal, bus stops and the glittering shops of Fifth Ave.The room was spacious and spotless, though the sound-proofing could have been better. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate.The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, particularly Victoria and Enoch. We will definitely stay at this Hampton Inn again.

Room Tip: Discuss your needs with management when making a reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Sheldon2013,

Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to review our hotel. I will pass along your compliments to Victoria and Enoch, who will surely be ecstatic to hear that they made such a positive impact on your time with us! Hope you are well and look forward to your next stay!

Regards,

Felix O'Casey
Assistant Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn United Nations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Address: 231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017-4701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing