We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Nearby Hotels
$316
$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$262
$237
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$236
$205
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
$177
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$400
$341
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$185
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
$265
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$249
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,311)
Filter reviews
2,313 results
Traveler rating
1,374
736
143
38
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,374
736
143
38
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunited nationsfront deskgreat locationnew yorkthe breakfast areafree breakfastsliding doorhot breakfastbreakfast stafftwo blocksyogurtchrysler buildingtimes squarerooms are smallclean hotelbusiness centerfitness center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,660 - 1,665 of 2,313 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Good location on the east side near GCS Newer facility and rooms. But...On some of the hotest days of the year A/C was either too hot or freezing cold. Over holiday housekeeping had not serviced the room all day. Hallway noise and between room noise worse than most.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Michael C,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the online community; the problems you encountered have been addressed and improved upon since your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and would love the opportunity to show you the improvements we made. Hopefully you consider us when planning your next trip to New York City!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great location, new hotel, two blocks from Grand Central Station The room was large and very clean. The bathroom was spacious. The air conditioning worked well.The free buffet breakfast has a nice selection and tastes good. The room rate was reasonable for NYC. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Robin029,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our breakfast and guest rooms and hope to see you again!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Blainville, Canada
11
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Hampton is far from the noise of the city but close enough to walk to Grand central, 5th Avenue, Time Square,etc. The hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. Recommended for family visting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out a user response! Our location has proven to be a great one; close enough to Times Square, shopping and dining, but far enough to exhale at the end of the day. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Room was very clean and spacious. I was given an accessible room even though I did not require it. I don't believe that anybody with experience in working with wheelchairs actually designed the bathroom. Even though it was a roll-in, there was nowhere to place toiletries and when the shower curtain was closed it was a very confined area. Curtain rod should be moved out a good 12-18". Floor was very slippery when wet. Additional counter space in the bathroom would be very helpful.

Room decor was very nice. Gym was in the basement (did not love) and sufficient. Breakfast was okay. Powdered eggs were not enjoyed by anybody in my group. The rest of the breakfast offerings were good.

Loved that the front desk gave out bottles of water upon request. Very nice perk, esp. as the temps were pretty high the week I was in NYC.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraLevengard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Hello LauraLevengard,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel! We are sorry to hear that you ended up with an accessable room although you didn't need one, but are pleased to hear that you liked the decor and our complimentary bottles of water. Hope all is well and that we will see you again in the near future!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Unexpectedly stayed at this hotel, as the hotel we had booked was oversold, but was really pleased with it, and will definitely stay here again if we are in the area. Reasonable price for the area....brand new and very clean....free breakfast...free WiFi....decent sized gym....and great staff. As a plus, it has a few bars in the area that are open late...so if you arrive in late, you can still grab a few beers. And, for those cruising out of the port of New York, it's very convenient to the cruise ship port. The rooms are a tad on the small side, but for that neighborhood, that isn't unusual....and they do a good job with the small spaces. Well done, Hampton Inn!!

Room Tip: Make sure you aren't located right next to the ice machines....
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merrill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Buenagirl,

Thank you for the thorough response, it will be a great help for others that are looking to make an educated decision regarding their travel plans! Although we are just outside of the main tourist streets, there are plenty of fun bars and restaurants surrounding our hotel. Sorry to hear you had to deal with an overbooking situation, but happy that you ended up with us so that we could make sure you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Hope you are doing well and enjoying the Summer weather!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews