We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Ranked #59 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location, decent value!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Only a 3 block walk to Grand Central Station from the Hampton Inn - and this is what you want when you come to NYC. Recently opened, we were able to get a decent room rate for this hotel for a long weekend (Thurs-Mon). Rooms were spotless, and linens were fresh and plentiful.

Front Desk staff members were quite helpful, but not over-the-top. Happy to provide local dining and transportation recommendations as needed. They arranged a car to LGA for us upon departure, and gave us an excellent recommendation for NY-style pizza.

One oddity with the room, mostly driven by limited real estate. Room is small, but well organized for the most part. Bathroom door slides shut, to save space, and didn't quite close all the way. Might be a slight privacy concern if you're staying with a distant cousin you haven't seen in years or something. Excellent WiFi access is a bonus.

Two elevators, so there could be a slight wait (3-5 minutes) at peak times.

Breakfast is a typical Hampton Inn breakfast - plenty of fruit/bread/cereal options available, as well as the "make your own" waffle. The egg-based items, however, were a little less attractive. Fresh fruit options more than made up for this, though!

Business center was working through a construction issue, but the staff provided computers/printers in the breakfast area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisyfae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    634
    120
    30
    16
See reviews for
657
505
111
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent a long weekend here this month and it was fantastic! The hotel is brand new, extremely clean and several blocks from the UN and Grand Central Station. The weekend we were there it was totally booked.
Breakfast is plentiful in a cheerful room. Small lobby and the room we were in was small but well planned with adequate storage, flat screen TV and very clean. The most remarkable thing about this hotel was the extremely friendly and helpful staff - they were all wonderful. A great value for the money and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Pvbeach,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your stay with everyone! Although most people think of Times Square when coming to New York, our location is great because it is safe, close to transportation (and walking distance to Times Square), and surrounded by restaurants. We hope to see you again in the future, thanks again for the kind words!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinkin
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed a week here from late May to early June this summer. Rooms are clean (hotel is brand new) Location is great with everything you need to see close by. Breakfast was very good compared to other hotels in New York. All in all great value for your money

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Jack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
19Jack64,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a response for our hotel! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness and breakfast that we provide daily!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last week for 2 nights. Although the rooms were small, they were clean and the staff most friendly. In particular, one of their staff, Enoch Nimene, when out of his way to accommodate our unusual needs. He is a great example of the fine people hired by Hilton and the Hampton Inns. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Speak to the staff in a friendly and polite manner. They do listen and will go out of their way to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Greetings George C,

Thank you for the compliments, Enoch will be thrilled to hear that his name was mentioned; our staff takes personal pride in providing such good service that their name ends up in a response!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My title says it all! Yes, the rooms are smallish but, by NYC standards, large enough for our 3 night stay. Yes, it is not in Times Square but it is within a short walking distance of all the lights and sounds of Times Square. The breakfast was up to Hampton Inn's standard (better than most chain hotels) and wasn't overly crowded during our stay. The staff was helpful and cheerful but not intrusive. If value is your main goal, I feel this Hampton Inn is a great choice. This hotel also offered a great view of the Chrysler Building and was very close to the United Nations (3 blocks up 43rd Ave). Since my wife and I visit New York frequently I would definitely not hesitate to stay here again if others closer to Times Square were full or too expensive.

Room Tip: Our room on the 12th floor was quiet, I'd try to stay away from rooms which back onto the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firefighter28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Firefighter28,

Thank you for the kind words! We are happy to see that you enjoyed a filling, comfortable breakfast and a good night's sleep to energize and fuly enjoy the day. Please don't hesitate to stay with us again, we would love to have you!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in June for my first trip to New York City. I had been warned that hotel rooms in NYC are tiny and ours was, but it was clean and up to date! We arrived before check-in and were just going to leave our luggage and park, but they had a room available and allowed us to check in early. Parking was just down the block and you get a discounted rate of $28 per day. Based on what we saw walking around town that was a steal! The location really couldn't be better. We walked every where. You are only a couple of blocks from Grand Central station so you can get a train or subway anywhere. Restaurants are everywhere you look. We even grabbed a slice of 99 cent pizza less than a block away. Best pizza we have had in a long time. We also walked to Times Square and saw two shows on Broadway. Personally, we were relieved not to be staying by Times Square. Too congested and loud. We were only on the 8th floor and our room was quiet. It also included free breakfast which was quite nice and FREE! We would recommend this hotel to friends and would return in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krismo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Krismo22,

Thank you for the nice response! The 99 cent pizza is a favorite of the staff as well, I'm not sure if a day has gone by that at least one of our team members hasnt' enjoyed one of those slices! In a city as expensive as New York, it's important to save where and when you can, and with the discounted parking, cheap (but good!) food options and free breakfast/ internet, our hotel is well suited to allow you to save for larger expenses, such as the shows you enjoyed during your time with us. We were happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and plan on coming back, it would be our pleasure to host you again!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here last week for her graduation present. We were a bit shocked at first by how small the rooms and the floors were, but this is New York City... I think unless you are staying at the Plaza you are probably going to end up with a very tiny hotel room. It didn't really matter because we didn't plan on staying in the hotel very much, of course not! There was a whole city to explore!
We really like staying at Hampton's, as they are pretty consistent. This one didn't disappoint. The front desk staff was very helpful, and we got to check in early. We had a little water in the bathroom as we arrive, and the maintenance staff was very friendly, offering us some information about pizza we were looking for.
There is a nice little regular hotel breakfast that cuts down on eating out costs, which is always nice.
We were a little further away from the hustle and bustle, but I think that made it a little nicer. The hotel is a few blocks down from Grand Central Station, which of course easily took us to Times Square on the Subway.

Room Tip: Just 2 blocks down from Grand Central Station Expect rooms to be small, but still nice and seemed q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinksparklypony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Hello Pinksparklypony,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Congratulations on the graduation!!!!!! New York is a great treat, and we are very happy that we could be part of your special trip! The hustle and bustle of New York is a big part of what makes it such a special city, but it is nice to not have to sleep in the commotion or fight your way throught the crowds to get into your hotel. It sounds like you took full advantage of the subway system located a block and a half away to get around; the subway system is a safe, efficient and easy way to get around, and is only a block away. The cab bills can really add up in the city, so we're happy to see that you took advantage of the train system!

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM

P.S. Love your username!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#34 of 467 in New York City
233 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#52 of 467 in New York City
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Address: 231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017-4701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing