We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Ranked #62 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Good value for NYC. Close to Grand Central and in a quiet area. Room was very clean, but the king room is small, even for NYC. Only two elevators and at peak times you will have a wait. An appeal of the Hampton Inn is the included breakfast, unfortunately the space reserved for the food and dining is not adequate. We tried early at at 9AM, and could not be reasonably seated or served. At 9AM on Sunday, no fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, and very limited bread choices. Not acceptable for a room that is advertised as "breakfast included"

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wareagle-1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Wareagle-1980,

I would like to extend an apology on behalf of the entire team at the Hampton Inn United Nations. We regularly order more food than we believe will be necessary to accomodate our guests, but there are times that the amount of food consumed is simply unforseeable, and we are sincerely sorry that you were unable to enjoy all that we offer for our breakfast. Although you encountered issues with the physical aspects of the hotel, we hope that we maintained our high level of service standards and that your time in New York was otherwise pleasent and enjoyable. If you find yourself traveling to Manhattan again, we would love the oppurtunity to regain your confidence in our hotel.

Regards,
Hampton Inn United Nations TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,595 - 1,601 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were a group of friends with kids spending a weekend in New York. The Hotel was very clean and well located. Extremely professional and friendly staff. Definitely recommend, either for business or family stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Constanca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Front Office Supervisor at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you Constanca C for this great review about your experience while staying at the Hampton Inn United Nations. We really do appreciate you taking the time out to write such nice things, I will make sure I forward this over to everyone! On behalf of everyone at the Hampton Inn United Nations we thank you and hope next time you are in NYC you will consider us as your hotel of choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

No frills hotel, but everything you need on essentials is ok. Close to Grand central, perfect connections. fair, clean, good management. Fresh fruits on breakfast. perfect free wi-fi. bed very confrtable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank barrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Front Office Supervisor at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review barrica! we do hope next time you are in NYC you will stay with the Hampton Inn United Nations, we will make sure we have fresh fruits and provide you with the comfort, quality and service we at the Hampton Inn United Nations enjoy providing to all of our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel was very clean and new. I enjoyed the room and staff. Breakfast was very crowded as there was a tour group there at the same time. It also rained and the access to a taxi was very difficult since the location is on a side street. However, all other items were extremely good. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Rodney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Front Office Supervisor at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you Rodney R for your review. We are happy that you were able to enjoy the service the Hampton Inn United Nations has provided. Even though New York City weather may put a dark cloud over you we always try to make it a little bit brighter and sunny by serving and assisting you. We hope to see you soon and thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

It was good but could have been better. Noise in the next room woke us up early. The walls seemed to be very thin because we could hear the people talking and taking a shower. Lobby check in was fine. Food for breakfast would have been good except for the fact that there was no food at 9:30 am on Sunday morning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank rptims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for expressing your concerns in your review rptims. We take your review very seriously. We also appreciate you taking the time to express your concerns and we are looking into the things you mentioned so that another guest may not have the same experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

After a long trip it was so nice to find a nice clean comfortable room. The all season room in the back of the hotel on the 1st floor provided a nice escape from the city to eat my lunch or sit and read the paper.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank amateur_t0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

We are so pleased by your review amateur_t0urist. We are glad that we were able to share a moment in your life that you rememberd and felt the need to share. We cannot thank you enough!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at the Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations for one night. The hotel is brand new (2 months old). The reception area is quite small unsure how they would handle an influx of people. The front desk staff were very friendly and professional. Breakfast if free but the small breakfast area fills up fast (get in there before 10 am), the food is basic but good. Our room was on the 20th floor, quite small - sleeping quarters approx 196 sq feet. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. The bathroom was a good size with a shower (no tub), basin and toilet. The gym and business center were in the basement and set up quite nice. Found the hotel to be pricey, but then again probably the same price as other Manhattan hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Front Office Supervisor at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you Chatherine897 for taking the time to write a review about your expirence at the Hampton Inn United Nations. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and hope when u visit new york city you will consider staying with the Hampton United Nations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 470 in New York City
430 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#143 of 470 in New York City
1,124 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 470 in New York City
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central

Address: 231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017-4701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $139 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing