We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Ranked #62 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I was recently there and stayed for about a week, in town for a conference. Small room, even by NYC standards. Have stayed in other Hampton Inn in NYC which had much bigger rooms. The closet was equally as small, with the the hanging rod coming out towards you instead of hanging left and right; making very little space to hang up items. Bed was clean and comfortable, no bath only shower in the bathroom. Free WiFi, free breakfast, gym, and office suite. Excellent location, only 2 block from Grand Central Terminal. Staff was extremely friendly and eager to help with any concern which definitely helps. Overall a very positive stay, just wish there was more room. I would recommend for a single person on a business trip or only a short stay for a couple.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the experience you had at our hotel, we at the Hampton Inn United Nations appreciate the scores you gave us. Although our rooms are a bit different than other Hampton Inns, we try to make up for it with our Hamptonality. We hope next time you are in town you chose to stay with the Hampton Inn United Nations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,620 - 1,626 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I picked this hotel because I was on a budget. It was almost the cheapest in the area. I found out that it opened in lat February 2013. Some reviews stated the need to work out the bugs with service. I have nothing but praise for the staff. 30 minutes after check in they called to see if ny room was up to my standards...great service.

I had a king room. It was the perfect size for a business traveler.

The bathroom was spotless, a telltale sign of a clean room.

I think this place hasn't been discovered because it wasn't too crowded.

I would recommend this hotel to any business traveler looking for a great hotel, in a great location, for a great price.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Eric,

Thank you for the kind words! Our team works really hard to create a safe and pleasent environment for all of our guests, and it's awesome to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. If you find yourself traveling to New York in the future, we would love to host you again!

Best Wishes,
Felix O'Casey
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

It was nice to stay in a brand new hotel. However, like the other reviews, the rooms were small, and you could hear every single noise from the hallway and adjoining rooms. I liked the modern decor, but the sliding door to the bathroom had gaps on both ends which took away your privacy. I didn't like the glass shower door in the King room either. The Double rooms had shower curtains. At first glance, the beds looked like they would be very comfortable (like the Sheraton beds), however, the sheets and pillows were stiff. The heat worked, but the forced air made it seem cool instead of warm. It would have been nice to have fresh fruit as an option for breakfast. The waffle maker didn't work adequately, but the other breakfast items were suitable. Despite some of the negatives, I did think the staff at the front desk were VERY helpful and nice - no complaints there! The hotel was located in a great spot, within walking distance to several restaurants and Times Square. I would probably stay again, just for the location. Hopefully, they will make some improvements as they continue to grow in popularity.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meagan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Guest Service Agent at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

We want to personally thank you Mrs. Megan J., for your response. Not only is your review noticed but it is also helping us make improvements for other future travelers. Your honesty goes a long way and is taken into deep consideration. Hopefully when we do see you again we can chat about your last stay and what we can do to exceed with your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Hampton Inn Manhattan/United Nations is a brand new place with lots of things going for it. Business travelers will love it, I think, but families may want to look elsewhere.

Because it was brand new, it was very clean. The staff is very friendly, attentive, and is willing to have a conversation with you as you come in and out. The location is very convenient as well. There is a car rental office and a parking garage right next door. If you walk just a block, you'll find plenty of breakfast places to supplement the free breakfast the hotel provides. The WiFi is decent and free for guests. The heat and AC worked very well for us too.

The building, however, is very small. The hallways are narrow and even the rooms with two double beds are narrow. It's New York, so you have to expect it, but it's bad enough that this really isn't the hotel to stay in when you're sharing a room with several people, or have lots of luggage. Noise can be an issue too because of those narrow hallways.

Over all, business travelers who need to get in and out and people who are travelling light should like this place a lot. People who need more space should look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms with two double beds are a little bit larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, front desk supervisor at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your ratings on your most recent stay with us. This rating and review helps us to measure the success of the hotel and service we provide to our valued guests. It is fortunate to see that your stay was satisfactory overall. We always strive to provide a great and positive experience to all of our guests. We love having you here and we sincerely hope you will consider staying with us in the future and thank you for choosing Hampton Inn United Nations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Brand new, so bugs were still being worked out. Smallish room and bath. Narrow hallways. On day two, housekeeping showed up after I returned to my room for the evening. Chalk that up to bugs to be addressed. Thoroughly understand parking rules before making any presumptions. In/out service and billing to room was complicated. Just understand the rules. Easy walk to lots of places including restaurants.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to fill share your experience with the rest of the Trip Advisor world! The bugs you mentioned have been ironed out, and we are ready for your next arrival to show your our improved service and organization with the parking. Hope all is well and would love to host you again in the future!

Regards,
Felix O'Casey
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We recently stayed in the Hampton Inn which was in Harbison, Columbia, S.C. and had been very very pleased with everything, so our sights were set rather high when we moved on to New York.

As the hotel had just opened I expected teething problems and I am sure these will be ironed out, so will not mention them now.

However, compared to their one in S.C. this hotel was a poor second. The first room we were given was so small it was funny. The clothes hung in the closet (wardrobe) flat instead of the normal way as it wasn't deep enough. We were dodging round the suitcases. The bathroom was about two feet from the bed and you certainly couldn't swing a cat in there. The coffee maker was in the bathroom, about a foot from the toilet - charming!

We asked for a larger room and were moved to a twin room which was over double the size.

Breakfast, again wasn't as nice as the one in S.C. No fresh fruit, no yoghurt, no boiled eggs, also if you went down towards the end of the breakfast period there were only a few crumbs left, but that is probably because they were not used to amounts as the hotel is new.

A few design flaws in the room which make it a bit uncomfortable, coffee maker still in bathroom, uck! TV was above chest of drawer in the corner we had to bend down to reach drawers (and try to avoid hitting our heads). Heater blows straight behind curtain and heats the window rather than the room.

Staff were pleasant, beds very comfortable, the people who tidied the bedrooms were particularly pleasant.

Room Tip: request a double room as I think most of the rooms that have a king bed in them are the tiny rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirlylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to point out some of the things you noticed/experienced when you stayed with us, we have reached out to the managers in charge and have encouraged them to make some changes from the things you have pointed out. Thank you again for choosing the Hampton Inn United Nations, and we hope you choose us again when you are visiting New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank aliciaglez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 470 in New York City
431 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#143 of 470 in New York City
1,124 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 470 in New York City
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central

Address: 231 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017-4701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $139 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing