We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Ranked #219 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Pakistan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

the room is too small or should i say tiny.
the breakfast did not have anything except for breads and juices. No bell staff or any thing other services available in the hotel.
Wifi is free that is the only plus point.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments. In response to not having bell staff on property, the limited service model for the brand Holiday Inn Express does not require bell staff. At any given time though our team is always ready to assist should you need assistance with you bags. Your comment will be the topic of our next review meeting on services. Thank you again for taking the time out to review the hotel and services and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    474
    133
    29
    24
See reviews for
336
304
59
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and stayed here on a 5 day vacation to NYC. The hotel is new so it is in very nice. The location is about 4 blocks from time square. The size of the room was adequate as well. The problem with most hotels is it's housekeeping and this hotel is no exception. Upon getting my room key, we discovered that the room had not been prepared. The bed was unmade and housekeeping was just like "ummmmmmm, I dunno" The lady at the desk was very apologetic and put us in another room. Everything was fine until the next day after we got in about 11:00 pm and discovered that housekeeping didn't replenish ANY towels. We had to call the front desk to get towels. This was a true inconvenience since we were dog tired when we made it back to the room. A maintenance man brought us about 20 towels, unfortunately they were all bath towels. I left the remaining pile of towels on the floor the next day hoping that housekeeping would give us the correct quantities of towels, both large and small. NOPE, the pile of towels were still on the floor and the trash can was not even emptied. Not only that our soap was never replaced by housekeeping. I had to go down stairs and get a bar. I understand that they were just opening up a few days before my arrival, but the housekeeping situation was just unacceptable. I hope they have gotten these issues resolved as this is a nice hidden gem. I would be willing to stay here again, but would quickly choose another hotel if the same housekeeping issues remain. To the hotel management, my service and cleanliness score is strictly based on the housekeeping and not on services provided by the front desk or maintenance staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabulas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Fabulas - Thank you very much for writing a review. I appreciate you noting that when you stayed, we just opened up. It was definitely a trying time but we have since battled from then and on track. When the hotel opened its doors it was almost full to capacity and to be quite honest there was no time to fully finish what we call our simulation of training. It is from the constructive criticism like yours that we can see what is working and what is not plus if we achieved or failed in any attempts.

Thank you again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back should your travels plans bring you back to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived and needed help accommodating last minute guests/friends. Luis and Juan were very friendly and helped us out immediately. Excellent customer service! The location is slightly out of the way but $30 will get you a cab all the way across town. $30 overnight parking was also very nice and easy to figureout

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AG908689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
AG908689 Thank you for your kind words! Look forward to welcoming you back should your travel plans bring you to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The room i had was really tiny, like it was difficult to go to the bathroom, but for the price, in Mahnattan, if you just want to store your luggage in a secure place and if you just want to sleep there, and you spênt the whole day outside, that's perfect i think,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Piel2013 Thank you for you comments and look forward to you staying with us in the future. Enjoy the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I have to say after reading some reviews I didn't know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised check in was quick and the clerk (Juan) was very friendly. All the staff I met were really nice and were very interested in great customer service. Hotel is brand new and they are still working on the outside. I didn't find it a issue and it was during the day when most people are out. The only issue I had was slow elevators and if that's the worse thing to say about a hotel I think it's pretty good. Rooms were small but price was right for a hotel in manhattan especially one that gives breakfast. Which is normal Holiday Inn express with the yummy cinnamon buns! Breakfast was crowded in the am's but they were refilling as need. I didn't find the Salvation Army location across the street a issue at all. I didn't see any one hanging around at night. This hotel is in a residential neighbor and is quiet at night. I would stay again in this location with out hesitation!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelfam2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments and the mention of how nice Juan was. Yes we are still working on the exterior which involves the canopy which should be complete by end of June. I do apologize for the elevators being slow for you.

I do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We found the staff at the hotel super friendly and helpful. This was across the board, from the two guys at the front desk (Juan and Luis) to all of the housekeeping staff to the eating area staff, who in the midst of a chaotic breakfast did not mind replenishing different things that they had run out of... i would recommend getting a room away from the construction on 48th street (the construction started at 7am and was really loud) but after one night, we asked to have our room moved, and they were more than glad to do so. once we moved to the other side of the hotel, it was no problem. My only minor complaint about the hotel was the elevator, which was super slow at times when a lot of people were using it. We very much enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drukey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Drukey - I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that Juan / Luis were very accommodating. The hotel has really been trying and going through some major training over the last few weeks as we just opened a month ago; so I am happy it is paying off as you mention housekeeping was very good.

Once again do appreciate the nice comments and look forward to welcoming you back on a future trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a brand new hotel that just opened a couple of months ago and is quite a good option for budget travelers.
It's location is still quite close to the heart of things. On W 48th and 10th, the hotel is perhaps a 10 min walk from Columbus Circle/Central Park and equally as far from Times Square.
The staff was so helpful to the point of flattery. I think they were trying to make a good impression for their new venture. (Note: good impression made)
The rooms are basic but well equipped, coming not only with a mini fridge but also a coffeee maker.
As with all Holiday Inn Expresses, breakfast is free, but it is, again, par quality. There are eggs, pancackes, sausages, bacon, etc, but the food is all super processed supermarket food--what you would expect from NY.
There is also a nice gym that is small but doesn't seem to be used much.
Overall, I suggest this place for the budget traveler who wants quality, a good price and a close location to the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landonroussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
landonroussel - Thank you very much for taking the time to write a nice review about the hotel. Yes hotel just opened and to hear you were satisfied goes a long way. The team really enjoys to read that our guests leave happy and satisfied.

We hope you chose Holiday Inn Express Westside should your travels bring you back to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#316 of 468 in New York City
520 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#181 of 468 in New York City
1,136 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#289 of 468 in New York City
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#187 of 468 in New York City
562 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#275 of 468 in New York City
2,472 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#296 of 468 in New York City
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Address: 538 W 48th St, New York City, NY 10036-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing