We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Union Square New York
Ranked #116 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great little hotel in the heart of the city. Close to shops, food, restaurant etc. We were able to walk almost everywhere from here and everything was at your doorstep. Rooms were cozy and clean and the washroom are great. Service is exceptional and the staff are very friendly. Turn down service, extra late check-out (3pm) we requested and they said no problem for no cost, Ice tea in the lobby, complementary towels, headsets, apples and water at the gym. Valet was 65 dollars a day,there was also parking across the street and the on 12th as well, but it costs 50 dollars for 24hours. I think the cost of 65 was worth it because we stayed longer than 24 hours and there were no extra charges. We had a great time and really liked the service. They really aim to please here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kami K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Kami K,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I am glad that you had a wonderful stay with us. I am also pleased to hear that our staff has made this stay of yours one to remember. I will gladly share this review with my team.

Please feel free to contact me when your plan brings you back to Hyatt Union Square. And thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    468
    139
    43
    33
See reviews for
450
442
114
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, London
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location close to shops, subway and Union Sq.

Empyreal Suite was amazing. With separate dining table, lounge, 2 person shower, wc and bedroom. Sleek modern design, usual Hyatt Comfort. Excellent views, was happy to be able to see the Empire State Building.

Service from staff was impeccable.

I would choose this hotel again without hesitation. 5 star experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sexygrohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hello there,

Thank you so much for your amazing review. I'm so glad you had a wonderful stay with us. I am glad you loved our Empyreal Suite. It's one of our bigger suites with lots of room and of course the amenities and features that come with it. It's my personal favorite as well.

I will only hope that you will be joining us again in the near future. With all our wishes, please enjoy the beautiful summer and see you very soon.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I stay for 5 nights, it;s a new Hyatt in the nice and most strategic neighborhood in NYC, you are near of everything by walk or by subway (at one block). The hotel is in a nice buildinq and with a modern decoration that looks very good, I stay in a king room that was small but very comfortable, excellent bed and pillows and nice shower. The bar that's located at the corner of 13th st and 4th av and has also an independent street entrance is very trendy and a good place to take a drink before you go out to dinner, don't hesitate to take breakfast at the restaurant, excellent coffee and a good service in a very nice decor. I would give 5 stars to this review but because of an important error of them with my reservation that was partially solved I take off one, in spite of that I will return here.

Room Tip: higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianKek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Mr. Adrian K,

Thank you for this kind review. It is our pleasure to have hosted you and I'm very please do know that your stay was more than satisfactory despite your reservation error. And I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconsistency.

You have described our hotel and in fact beautifully drawn up a virtual map of the hotel and "to dos" for our future guests. And I would like to thank you for that.

Please do connect with me the next time you are in town so we can take care of you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was highly disappointed with my experience here.

1. The rooms are very small for what you pay ($500 a night) - the closet is a small piece of furniture, and the shower is literally on top of the bed. I'd say 150 square feet at most, including bathroom space.

2. They charge you an offensive amount for just about everything. Water, that's $8 extra. Coffee, oh that's $12 (really?). You want to bring some beverages back to the lobby, sorry, that's not permitted under hotel rules (i was actually told this).

3. They don't really have a concierge or other value-added services that I am aware of.

I think you can stay in much better value around Union Square, or higher end hotels on Central Park, than stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjeleven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear mjeleven11,

I am very sad to see that you didn't have a satisfactory stay with us. I wanted to apologize for all inconvenience you endured during your stay.

I would like to clarify that there is no restriction in bringing in coffee from outside through or into the lobby as our front desk staff always recommend the many coffee shops around the neighborhood such as Think Coffee, Starbucks, Pie Face etc. I am not sure who that individual could be but we'll investigate this further and inform them of our policy.

Please contact me directly should you reconsider us again and I'll be more than happy to arrange a better accommodation as we have several room categories that might suit your needs.

Thank you for the feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have traveled extensively all over the world and will tell you our experience at your hotel for my Daughter's wedding was one of the best if not THE best I ever had. The staff was incredibly nice to all of our wedding guests (they all commented on how polite and friendly the staff was) and very helpful to assist in any way. The front desk staff was excellent. EVERY member of the Bellman's staff was superb! We had tons of luggage going in and out...taxi needs, car needs, limos and shuttles picking us up and they managed it all with a smile. And we couldn't have had a successful event without the help of the Marketing/Event Coordinating staff..

The rooms were very nice and the maid service was great. The restaurant and bar...including staff...was very good as well.

When I need to stay in Manhattan....I'll be staying at the Hyatt Union Square.

My congratulations to you on a splendid operation.

Room Tip: The rooms with a terrace provide a nice opportunity to have coffee outside or a glass of wine in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Mark S,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I am so glad you had a wonderful stay with us and of course it was pleasure hosting your entire wedding party.

It gives me much pleasure that our staff are recognized and valued for their service as they are a team that are passionate and continuously showcase the exemplary service that every one of our guest expect to experience from a Hyatt.

Thank you again for staying with us and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I travel to NYC for business fairly frequently and try to stay at the Hyatt Union Square whenever I'm in town. The rooms are a great size for New York and the quietest that I've stayed in. There is a ton to do nearby and the location is pretty central to get to other spots as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Art B,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We really appreciate your loyalty to Hyatt Union Square. You are right about our location, it is hard to beat this as we have nearly everything walking distance or a few minutes cab ride. I'm very glad you had a wonderful stay yet again.

We do hope to you see you very soon and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virgina USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had a two night stay at this new Hyatt--first time for us as we were visiting relatives in NYC. It's a beautiful hotel---the staff was super friendly and attentive to our needs. The rooms are large by NYC standards, and very clean and comfortable. Beautiful tile in the shower, with a separate toilet. It was a great location near Union Square, so we could walk to the farmers' market on Saturday morning--fun. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philsfan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Philsfan56,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay this first time and we'll be sure to make that happen again when your back.

We have a great team here at Hyatt Union Square that are eager to go the extra mile and make sure that you have a memorable stay. Please contact me should you need further assistance or have any questions.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
W New York - Union Square
#138 of 467 in New York City
1,485 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#112 of 467 in New York City
596 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#118 of 467 in New York City
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#168 of 467 in New York City
692 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#147 of 467 in New York City
1,437 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#95 of 467 in New York City
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Union Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Union Square New York

Property: Hyatt Union Square New York
Address: 134 4th Ave, New York City, NY 10003-4903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Union Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a block from Union Square Park, the Hyatt Union Square New York is a AAA Four Diamond property featuring 178 luxury, pet-friendly guest rooms, studios and suites with options for a private terrace. Surrounded by a vibrant neighborhood filled with public art galleries, entertainment, shopping, restaurants and bars, you won’t need to go far to discover Union Square. You’ll also have access to the third largest transportation hub to get you to other parts of Manhattan and beyond. During your stay, keep your fitness routine at our 24-hour Life Fitness™ gym complete with top of line fitness equipment, complimentary towels, fruit snack, water and headphones. Prefer to be outside? Take a tour of the city May-October on one of our bicycles. If you’ve worked up an appetite, step into Bowery Road for American cuisine. Prepared by Chef Ron Rosselli, the flavorful and thoughtfully prepared dishes are inspired by local farmers. Seasonal produce from the nearby farmers market, Union Square Greenmarket, can be found in each dish. Need something a little stronger? Take a seat at the Library of Distilled Spirits to try one of more than 700 bottles of liquor from around the world. Choose from our encyclopedia of more than 150 classic cocktails to sample something shaken or stirred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Union Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing