We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, contemporary and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Union Square New York
Ranked #113 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed three nights in Union Square and chose this hotel because it is new. The rooms are comfy and quiet, the desk staff are friendly and helpful and the location couldn't be better. It isn't the same as staying in Midtown which is my usual first choice, but i actually liked it better! It was easy to get anywhere from this location, and I loved spending time in Union Square Park. The rooms are small, but have all the necessary amenities, and the most comfortable beds. I appreciated being off the street as it provided respite from the hustle and bustle, and was quiet at night and early morning so i could sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the street don't have views, but are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravellerZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear WorldtravellerZG,

Thank you for this wonderful review. I take pleasure in hearing that our guests genuinely feel satisfied with their stay whether it be location or service or both. I am glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and hope you will be joining us in the near future.

Your review will definitely be shared with our staff which goes a long way as this will motivate them further to serve and assist in excellence.

Please do contact me directly should you have any further questions and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,492 - 1,498 of 1,706 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were here for four nights. Our surroundings were roomier than many NYC hotels we have stayed in. The decor was contemporary and attractive. The beds were wonderfully comfortable. And the quiet was very much appreciated. The staff was young, charismatic and very willing to help. The location was great. The service was very good. We did miss the presence of an in-house concierge. Although staff was eager to help, they often had to ask among themselves until someone had the answer to our questions.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear MissMem,

Thank you for this wonderful review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am glad you brought up the concierge questions, which is already in the works and will be fully operational in the coming weeks.

Hopefully, upon your next visit we will have a fully functional concierge desk and the same staff that has served you with great satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Hyatt Union Square is a great place for a get away. Great neighborhood, friendly and welcoming staff. The rooms are modern and comfortable. We have stayed 3 time this year and it continues to be our first choice when staying in NYC.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcd1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Marcd1963,

Thank you for a wonderful review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us yet again and thank you for your loyalty to Hyatt Union Square. We will definitely look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Please do contact me directly should you have any questions.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We recently used the Hyatt Union Square New York for our son's wedding party and the Hotel staff was tremendous. We booked 25 nights of rooms and the staff and hotel were fantastic. From the doormen, reception check-in, food and beverage, sales teams, everyone exceed our expectations. I would highly recommend anyone using this terrific smaller hotel with charm, new amenities, classy and well trained staff, and a great location in New York's Union Square area. Needless to say the Wedding was a huge success made even better due to the wonderful hotel and people. Our family are huge Hyatt Union Square Hotel fans and will use again and again on any NYC trips. We had 7 children and 24 adults in our wedding group. Kid friendly hotel.

Room Tip: We had a mixture of adjoin rooms, singles and the two suites which were great. The room decor/decora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Mr. Henry N,

I cannot thank you enough for this detailed review on our hotel. I am very proud of our team that was involved in making a success stay during your son's wedding. From our sales team to the front desk, to housekeeping and engineering team greatly enjoyed hosting such a wonderful family.

Our congratulations to you and your family. We can't wait to see you in the near future. Please do contact me directly should you have any questions. Thank you once again for sharing this special moment with the Hyatt Union Square team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This property can't be beat for the area. I greatly enjoy staying here and make it a point to book in advance since it fills up quickly. The staff is incredibly friendly and the accommodations feel spacious for a NY room. They use the room space really well in the studio rooms. Splurge on a terrace room and you can have your own outdoor space for dinner/a glass of wine with friends.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms, and try to steer clear of elevators to keep the noise down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear LFarbs,

Thank you for this wonderful review. I'm glad you had an amazing stay with us.

I'd also like to thank you for your suggestions on the Terrace. It is a great space and as we are looking forward to a great summer. Hopefully, we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back into one of them.

Please do not hesitate to contact us when your plans brings you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Until then,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed at this hotel twice in the last 3 months. Very friendly and helpful staff, nicely decorated and very clean rooms, great beds! Lounge is a good place to have a drink at the end of the day. And of course, can't beat the location!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Hello Daniella D,

Thank you for giving us your feedback and I'm so glad that you did enjoy your stay with us.

We hope to make your next future visits as good as this one and can't wait for your return to Hyatt Union Square. Please feel free to let me know next time your plan brings you back to the hotel.

Until then,

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This Hyatt is a wonderful hotel located 1 block south of Union Square on 4th Ave. in New York City. For an inner city hotel, the rooms were a good size and they make good use of the space with enough drawers and other amenities (e.g., coffee maker) to make the stay very comfortable.

The front staff are knowledgeable, friendly, and very helpful. There are only 2 elevators for this 10 story hotel but they work quickly and efficiently so the wait time is minimal.

The stay was 1 night (May 9, 2014).

Room Tip: Although the street that the hotel is located (4th Ave.) is not overly busy, it helps to stay on a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirk_Thomas_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Kirk_Thomas_2011,

Thank you for your detailed feedback on the hotel and it's amenities. I am pleased to hear that you found our hotel accommodating and up to your standards.

I will be sure to acknowledge my team on a job well done. Thank you again for the compliments on our friendly staff.

We sure hope to see you in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Until then,

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
W New York - Union Square
#154 of 469 in New York City
1,501 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#118 of 469 in New York City
613 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#109 of 469 in New York City
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#214 of 469 in New York City
707 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#140 of 469 in New York City
1,460 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#88 of 469 in New York City
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Union Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Union Square New York

Address: 134 4th Ave, New York City, NY 10003-4903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $285 - $714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Union Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a block from Union Square Park, the Hyatt Union Square New York is a AAA Four Diamond property featuring 178 luxury, pet-friendly guest rooms, studios and suites with options for a private terrace. Surrounded by a vibrant neighborhood filled with public art galleries, entertainment, shopping, restaurants and bars, you won’t need to go far to discover Union Square. You’ll also have access to the third largest transportation hub to get you to other parts of Manhattan and beyond. During your stay, keep your fitness routine at our 24-hour Life Fitness™ gym complete with top of line fitness equipment, complimentary towels, fruit snack, water and headphones. Prefer to be outside? Take a tour of the city May-October on one of our bicycles. If you’ve worked up an appetite, step into Bowery Road for American cuisine. Prepared by Chef Ron Rosselli, the flavorful and thoughtfully prepared dishes are inspired by local farmers. Seasonal produce from the nearby farmers market, Union Square Greenmarket, can be found in each dish. Need something a little stronger? Take a seat at the Library of Distilled Spirits to try one of more than 700 bottles of liquor from around the world. Choose from our encyclopedia of more than 150 classic cocktails to sample something shaken or stirred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Union Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing