We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute. Good choice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Union Square New York
Ranked #116 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Last minute. Good choice.”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Last Saturday, my wife and I were able to go into the city last minute. We literally booked the room on the drive in. Decent rate.

We had a courtyard studio. Not the largest room, but it was extremely clean. Bed is super comfortable. Furniture is interesting. Not a lot of closet space etc. The room definitely served its purpose. Not too expensive, great location, and good service.

Good choice for a quick stay. Definitely not extravagant and not sure If its good for a lengthier stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Glider17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello Guest,

Thank you for staying with us! We are happy that we were able to accommodate you and your wife on your trip to New York City and that you enjoyed your stay with us. For longer stays, we would be happy to touch base with you to discuss other room types. Please feel free to reach out to us with any future New York hotel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    468
    139
    43
    33
See reviews for
450
442
114
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Over all good stay...restaurant and bar lounge are fine. Staff good, especially breakfast room Manager and breakfast bar service waiter...two great personalities...door men and ck. in staff we're great....only one knock....even as rooms were well appointed, but just too small....felt like I was constantly banging into things .....

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello -

Thank you for staying with us and reviewing us! We very much appreciate it. We are happy to hear that our staff was able to make your stay more comfortable. For your next stay, we would be happy to discuss other room types that are more spacious, if you would like. Please reach out to us for anything you may need in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Just spent Super Bowl weekend at the new Union Square Hyatt and liked it very much. I have stayed in many hotels in the city and this is very good if Union Square is where you want to be. Incidentally, Union Square is a great area with easy access to the Village and the East Village. Union Square is a major hub for the subways, including the one straight into the heart of Brooklyn.
The lobby is attractive with a good space overlooking the street. Staff was young and very good. They were so helpful! They fixed me up with one of the free bikes (helmet included).
The room was average sized with good views. Everything was new and clean.
Overall this is a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldercritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello -

Thank you for staying with us over the Super Bowl! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage both of our centrally-located area, as well as our bicycles. We love being in the heart of Union Square and love hearing when our guests are able to take in all we have to offer. We hope to see you on your next trip to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We had our film crew stay here for a very grueling shoot in Manhattan. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. The rooms were great and the service was excellent. The staff went above and beyond their duties to help us unload equipment and also was accommodating with vehicles. Their energy and positive spirit were greatly appreciated and made our shoot a success. We couldn't have done it without this hotel and staff. The bar and restaurant are also very nice! Please take my advice and stay here! It's worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekennard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello -
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review! We very much appreciate it and are so happy to hear that your film crew and yourself enjoyed your stay with us. We know that traveling can sometimes be stressful, and we are here to do everything in our power to make your stay as enjoyable and smooth as possible. We hope to see you again in NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed here for two weeks in January while attending a course at NYU. This is a very relaxed, friendly and understated hotel. The hotel is new. The foyer and common areas are smart. My room was a good size, comfortable, well appointed and was kept spotlessly clean. The staff are young and consistently warm/friendly.

This is the type of hotel where you don't see staff that often - other than at reception and the restaurant - but everything seems to run very efficiently. Breakfasts were great and the breakfast staff were very friendly. If you want hotel where staff fawn all over you - this isn't the place for you. If you like friendly, hip and efficient - you will like this place.

The location is great. 50 meters from Union Square. The village, NYU etc are within 10 minutes walk.

This is a young, smart hotel and reasonably priced. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurrayAusUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello Guest -

Thank you for staying with us and for your review! We are so happy to hear that you were pleased with your room and with the service that we were able to provide. Additionally, we are glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our great location in the heart of Union Square. Please come back and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I would like to first say that the location of this unusual hotel can absolutely not be beat.
Union Square has absolutely anything you can want or need. There is a great selection of restaurants.groceries and interesting shops. Transportation is tops.
When I arrived at the hotel, I thought it was closed. There were no doormen outside to assist you with your bags and the doors are covered in some sort of white covering. We carried all our bags up to our room upon check-in and upon checkout loaded our car with no offer of assistance. Throughout our stay of three nights, I only saw "doormen" outside twice. I was offered assistance getting a cab, but not once was I offered assistance with my suitcases or packages until I was walking passed the front desk which was a bit too late.
The hotel lobby is very dark . The desk staff is friendly enough , although it can be hard to find an "adult in charge". The rooms are spotless although tiny. They are equipped with nice toiletries and thick towels. The decor is a cross between European and Ikea and bright and certainly cheerful. The couch was cute but the shape shouted "do not try to get comfortable on me! ". The bathroom (in alcove loft) was quite cool but appeared like a prefab bathroom tossed into the center of the room. I never heard of a bathroom as a room divider. The room had a refrigerator which is indeed a plus although it froze all of our purchased food.
I totally agree with the reviewer who states ...."when the Hyatt tries to be hip, you sort of wish they would knock it off and just be themselves. "
Love the area, wish I loved the hotel.....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hello Guest,
Thank you for your review and for staying with us! We are so glad that you love our area and were able to take advantage of all the great things Union Square has to offer. We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding our staff and rooms. We have received feedback about our doors and have since removed the white covering on one of them for more visibility. We hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel during your next visit to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We chose this hotel for its location while on a family visit to Manhattan and were very pleasantly surprised. Hyatt has done a great job with this property. The rooms are modern, clean and well equipped with good lighting and top-quality soaps and potions. The staff is helpful and cheerful. The bar area is nice for an after-dinner gathering but somewhat pricey, offering very high-end single malt tasting flights and good wines. While we did not have breakfast or dinner at the hotel, we did enjoy great hot breakfast beverages on a Sunday morning and were once again impressed with the level of service. As Manhattan properties go, this is reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room and it was very quiet. If you like specialty coffee drinks, make sure you go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hi Peter,

Thank you for staying with us recently! Cafe Quatrieme is quite the find in our hotel and we are glad that you discovered it. We would love to host you again during your next trip to New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
W New York - Union Square
#137 of 467 in New York City
1,485 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#111 of 467 in New York City
597 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#120 of 467 in New York City
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#172 of 467 in New York City
692 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#144 of 467 in New York City
1,437 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#94 of 467 in New York City
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Union Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Union Square New York

Property: Hyatt Union Square New York
Address: 134 4th Ave, New York City, NY 10003-4903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Union Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a block from Union Square Park, the Hyatt Union Square New York is a AAA Four Diamond property featuring 178 luxury, pet-friendly guest rooms, studios and suites with options for a private terrace. Surrounded by a vibrant neighborhood filled with public art galleries, entertainment, shopping, restaurants and bars, you won’t need to go far to discover Union Square. You’ll also have access to the third largest transportation hub to get you to other parts of Manhattan and beyond. During your stay, keep your fitness routine at our 24-hour Life Fitness™ gym complete with top of line fitness equipment, complimentary towels, fruit snack, water and headphones. Prefer to be outside? Take a tour of the city May-October on one of our bicycles. If you’ve worked up an appetite, step into Bowery Road for American cuisine. Prepared by Chef Ron Rosselli, the flavorful and thoughtfully prepared dishes are inspired by local farmers. Seasonal produce from the nearby farmers market, Union Square Greenmarket, can be found in each dish. Need something a little stronger? Take a seat at the Library of Distilled Spirits to try one of more than 700 bottles of liquor from around the world. Choose from our encyclopedia of more than 150 classic cocktails to sample something shaken or stirred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Union Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing