We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Union Square New York
Ranked #120 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We came here for our wedding anniversary and were happy to have stayed here for 8 nights. Everyone was so friendly with us from the moment we walked in to the moment we left they were so nice and happy to chat. The reception smelt fantastic like cinnamon or something. We had a courtyard facing room - which was facing a building it wasn't a great view but it worked out better as it meant we had less noise from the street. The rooms are cleverly laid out as it was compact but we had enough space the bed was a great size and incredibly comfortable. The bathroom was very nice and clean with a fantastic shower. I loved the location as you are very close to a lot of restaurants, stores and the subway was very close.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamIT28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    458
    138
    42
    32
See reviews for
433
440
109
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Hyatt Union Square is a great hotel - clean, newer, and a location that can't be beat. The rooms are well appointed with very nice bathrooms, comfortable beds, and in my case, a really nice balcony (it's just too bad that it was too cold to use it). The Fourth restaurant next door also serves a great breakfast.

It's down the block from Union Square and is near to Whole Foods, several great restaurants, and most importantly the N, Q, R, L, 4, 5, and 6 Subway lines. Definitely a great option for NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChcgoMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I was visiting someone in the city during the Thanksgiving weekend and we decided to stay at the Hyatt in Union Square. We had previously stayed in Hyatt Andez on Wall Street and the Hyatt in Midtown. After staying at all three of these locations, I feel I can accurately give each of these a fair review.

I arrived on the Tuesday before Thanksgiving earlier than the normal check in time. Not only was I greeted warmly, but I was given a room right away with no having to wait around. The downside, a heavy odor of vanilla or something that lingers in the main lobby that tends to drift into the restaurant which can interfere with the dining experience. When I got up to the room, the first thing I noticed that for the size of the room it was, the designer made the most of every little inch. It still had a somewhat spacious feeling for a room that would be my bedroom back home. I did not go crazy over the decor, but I know this Hyatt uses the designer of Paul Vega as a huge selling point.

After sleeping for the night and hanging out in the room these are the main things I noticed that were uncomfortable/disappointing/a nuisance:

We had a connecting door room and our neighbors did not respect that when in hotels you should respect people and keep voices down, so children were yelling and banging around at 6 in the morning.

We were also placed directly across from where the staff either loads/unloads carts or has services and was constantly banging around, which leads to my next point

The walls are EXTREMELY THIN. It is like when they redid the building they did not add any additional insulation, and this now rounds out the last major point

The windows LET IN EVERYTHING. I understand we are in the city. There are going to be noises, but when I am on the 10th floor and I can hear EVERYTHING that is going down on the street and when I get close to the window I can feel the cold leaking in, it's like the windows are only single-paned. I was using the desk by the window, the curtains were drawn shut, the heat was on, and I was wrapped in a blanket because I was freezing.

It really seems to me that the designer spent his budget on the design and not the functionality of the architecture or having a balance of both. So, I will make a pros and cons list for you to consider if you decide to stay here.

Pros:
Clean
Great Staff
Good location
Comfortable bed

Cons:
Thin walls
Thin windows
Small rooms
Beware of where the associate places are

Room Tip: Ask to be no where there is a connecting room and no where the staff goes at all during the day if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ne_katja_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in November 2013. The hotel is in a good location for exploring the City on foot and is surrounded by excellent cafes, The Strand Bookshop and Max Brenner's chocolate cafe and shop. There is an excellent pizza restuarant just down the road and the subway station (to get to mid-town or up-town) is a few minutes walk away. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel as there wasn't much choice for vegetarians (mainly eggs and toast) so we ate in the coffee shop "Think Coffee" opposite. We did have dinner in the hotel once - the service and food were excellent in the Fourth Restaurant. The hotel rooms are modern and clean and comfortable. We had a courtyard room. After the first night we asked to move rooms as we were on a low floor overlooking the courtyard where there is a noisy air con/generator outside on the courtyard which is on 24/7. We moved to a higher floor and couldn't hear it then. The air con/heating in the rooms is very noisy so you can't sleep with it on. We left the heating on whilst out and switched it off when we were in the room. What really makes this hotel great is the staff who are so helpful and have a great customer service ethic. There is a gym in the basement but we didn't use that. There is a guest computer in reception and free wifi throughout. There are tea/coffeee making facilities in the room and robes and slippers, a safe, iron and ironing board, hairdrier and toiletries. We would stay at this hotel again - it is very good.

Room Tip: If you are booking a courtyard-facing room ask for a high floor to avoid the noise of the generator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebotleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saas-Fee, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

excellent location, close to most attractive spots in nyc. very nice, helpful, well trained staff. well appointed designer rooms with large bed, fancy lamps, larg tv, tea or coffee making machine,
we were surprised that the hotel was not able to clean our bath rooms floor, after having asked 5 times, yes 5 times! the front desk, house keeping, chaimber maids we just gave up. We avoided to walk bare foot in the room. heating is very loud, so turn off at night.
breakfast was overpriced.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the street are quiet, it you wish to sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregoryintheAlps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

First the good news .... Rooms are spotlessly clean; the decor is fresh and modern; the beds a good size and comfortable; space is at a premium but the designers have made the best use of it; the location is fantastic and the young staff are very friendly. The rooms fall a little short in two respects - the double glazing isn't the best so there is a reasonable amount of street noise and the air conditioning is both ferocious and noisy meaning you can't hope to sleep with it on with the result that it can get very warm overnight. On this basis I'd probably normally look to rate as a 4 however I think it's the little things that matter and here I think the hotel falls down slightly. When paying USD350 a night I don't expect to have to pay for wi-fi access (and rarely do in this city). Having asked whether a late check out would be available the price offered for a stay of an extra 3 hours was USD229 + taxes. Given that rooms are still being cleaned at this time I think such requests could be honoured without looking to impose such substantial charges. A request to please pop postcards in the mail with hotel post and add the charge to the bill resulted in directions to the post office - I've never before had a hotel not do this small service for me. These sound like minor gripes but this isn't a cheap hotel and they do impact the overall impression of the service offered. They could be easily addressed though and, if they are, I think the Hyatt would merit a firm rating of 'very good'.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ajh8368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The location is ideal to walk to restaurants and to get to the train. We're located in the north end of Greenwich Village by Union Square and have seen many of the sites easily by train and taxi,

The hotel staff at this hotel are very nice. The rooms are clean and there is a refrigerator and a coffee maker, but a microwave would have made it a little better.

The towels are soft and supple and the bed is divine.

I recommend you consider staying here if you are planning a sight seeing trip to NYC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awareness-Hope-Cure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
W New York - Union Square
#142 of 468 in New York City
1,471 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#113 of 468 in New York City
582 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#108 of 468 in New York City
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#186 of 468 in New York City
670 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#151 of 468 in New York City
1,403 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#88 of 468 in New York City
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Union Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Union Square New York

Property: Hyatt Union Square New York
Address: 134 4th Ave, New York City, NY 10003-4903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Union Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a block from Union Square Park, the Hyatt Union Square New York is a AAA Four Diamond property featuring 178 luxury, pet-friendly guest rooms, studios and suites with options for a private terrace. Surrounded by a vibrant neighborhood filled with public art galleries, entertainment, shopping, restaurants and bars, you won’t need to go far to discover Union Square. You’ll also have access to the third largest transportation hub to get you to other parts of Manhattan and beyond. During your stay, keep your fitness routine at our 24-hour Life Fitness™ gym complete with top of line fitness equipment, complimentary towels, fruit snack, water and headphones. Prefer to be outside? Take a tour of the city May-October on one of our bicycles. If you’ve worked up an appetite, step into Bowery Road for American cuisine. Prepared by Chef Ron Rosselli, the flavorful and thoughtfully prepared dishes are inspired by local farmers. Seasonal produce from the nearby farmers market, Union Square Greenmarket, can be found in each dish. Need something a little stronger? Take a seat at the Library of Distilled Spirits to try one of more than 700 bottles of liquor from around the world. Choose from our encyclopedia of more than 150 classic cocktails to sample something shaken or stirred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Union Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing