We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a couple of days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Union Square New York
Ranked #104 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 23, 2013

excellent location, close to most attractive spots in nyc. very nice, helpful, well trained staff. well appointed designer rooms with large bed, fancy lamps, larg tv, tea or coffee making machine,
we were surprised that the hotel was not able to clean our bath rooms floor, after having asked 5 times, yes 5 times! the front desk, house keeping, chaimber maids we just gave up. We avoided to walk bare foot in the room. heating is very loud, so turn off at night.
breakfast was overpriced.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the street are quiet, it you wish to sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregoryintheAlps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,586 - 1,592 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

First the good news .... Rooms are spotlessly clean; the decor is fresh and modern; the beds a good size and comfortable; space is at a premium but the designers have made the best use of it; the location is fantastic and the young staff are very friendly. The rooms fall a little short in two respects - the double glazing isn't the best so there is a reasonable amount of street noise and the air conditioning is both ferocious and noisy meaning you can't hope to sleep with it on with the result that it can get very warm overnight. On this basis I'd probably normally look to rate as a 4 however I think it's the little things that matter and here I think the hotel falls down slightly. When paying USD350 a night I don't expect to have to pay for wi-fi access (and rarely do in this city). Having asked whether a late check out would be available the price offered for a stay of an extra 3 hours was USD229 + taxes. Given that rooms are still being cleaned at this time I think such requests could be honoured without looking to impose such substantial charges. A request to please pop postcards in the mail with hotel post and add the charge to the bill resulted in directions to the post office - I've never before had a hotel not do this small service for me. These sound like minor gripes but this isn't a cheap hotel and they do impact the overall impression of the service offered. They could be easily addressed though and, if they are, I think the Hyatt would merit a firm rating of 'very good'.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank ajh8368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The location is ideal to walk to restaurants and to get to the train. We're located in the north end of Greenwich Village by Union Square and have seen many of the sites easily by train and taxi,

The hotel staff at this hotel are very nice. The rooms are clean and there is a refrigerator and a coffee maker, but a microwave would have made it a little better.

The towels are soft and supple and the bed is divine.

I recommend you consider staying here if you are planning a sight seeing trip to NYC.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Awareness-Hope-Cure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Hyatt Union Square and despite the typical, NYC tight quarters we found the hotel, particularly the staff, to be excellent all around. We were combining business and pleasure and were pleased to arrive to a cupcake, wine and balloons in our room for my husband's birthday. A nice touch and not always the norm in NYC. Overall, the Hyatt Union Square feels a bit more boutique and less Hyatt-chain with excellent staff, amenities and a great location earning it a rare 5-star rating from us.

The location on 4th Avenue is fantastic. While the rooms are not inexpensive they are a bargain when you consider the proximity to transportation. It's about a 3 minute walk to Union Square station where you can catch a train, up, down, or around the city. I think 7 different lines run through the various Union Square hubs, making it simple to get anywhere in the city. Buy a fare card and go anywhere. If you prefer cabs they are plentiful and easy to hail. Surroundings are safe, well lit, walk-able neighborhood with shops, restaurants, The Strand bookstore (a must visit), and a variety of boutiques. It's an easy walk to the East Village and not too far even to Greenwich Village proper where bars, clubs, and restaurants abound. The location and wonderful staff make this hotel a real find for those wanting to see all parts of the city.

We were traveling with our daughter, son-in-law and grandson so we booked 2 rooms: 1 King and 1 Queen Double, both without terraces. The rooms were more "W" in style with clean, modern, minimalist furnishings. Very new and chic with no wasted space. Closet space is, as expected, tight with 2 bedside armoire-style closets. Both rooms were clean, comfortable, well stocked and convenient to elevators. Our 6th floor rooms were very quiet--with the exception of our 2.5-year-old grandson's noise--but with virtually no street noise. The beds were typical, high-end Hyatt: firm with nice linens and extra bedding/pillows provided. A work area/desk and reliable Internet connection made it easy to work and play on-line. A well-stocked mini-bar had enough room to store a little milk or juice. Ice must be ordered from room service but was promptly provided. The hotel delivered and set-up a pack 'n play for us, which looked brand new including very nice linens. While they don't advertise, or perhaps even intend to be such, the hotel was very toddler-friendly.

Bathrooms had rain shower only (no tub), the water pressure was excellent and hot-water was plentiful. Our only minor issue was that the towel supply seemed to be very limited, perhaps due to the limited rack/shelf space, Again, extra towels were promptly delivered on request.

The staff from front-desk to housekeeping were uniformly 5-star! They were all unfailingly helpful, friendly and seeming happy to provide any and every assistance needed. Our stand-out person from this trip was a host, Daquan, who was fantastic with our grandson and a happy, friendly face each day of our stay. His willingness to help locate my bags after I lost my claim ticket went above & beyond! I hope the Hyatt appreciates him, John at the front desk, and the rest of their excellent crew at Union Square!

In addition to the hotel itself, we enjoyed the SINGL bar which also has a minimalist, W hotel feel to it. They have a nice whiskey selection, interesting drink menu, good service and ample, comfortable seating. A bit pricey (but what hotel bar isn't?) but a great place to relax with a drink or grab a snack at the end of the day. On Friday evenings they have a jazz quartet which truly enhanced the mellow, relaxing atmosphere. As elsewhere in the hotel, the service exceeded expectations.

We enjoyed breakfast at the bistro-style hotel restaurant and while the food was very good, the wait staff was just fantastic in accommodating our family group. A great start to your day for coffee and pastries or heartier fare in a sunny, street-side space.

We highly recommend a stay at the Union Square Hyatt and hope to return on our next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolJL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Hyatt Hotel at Union Square New York is a new relatively small boutique hotel. The building retains the facade of an earlier old building but the interior has been gutted and all new accommodations built in. Our room was compact but definitely of superior quality with stylish modern decor and quality fittings. Everything was spotless. The check-in area was attentively manned with very helpful and courteous staff who were only too pleased to help with enquiries and queries. The reception area has comfortable seating and free wi-fi. A large bar lounge behind check-in looked very comfortable and was well patronised. We only had one night at the hotel prior to sailing home on Queen Mary 2 and we opted to eat in the restaurant tied to the hotel called The Fourth. This is a very good restaurant and we ate well, although it was a tad pricey. All in all we were very impressed with the hotel and we would certainly return there if business takes us that way again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here for convention in the city for a few days.

Awesome Awesome Place. I lived in this neighborhood 10 years ago and it was nice to be back. The hotel staff is supper attentive, the rooms were a decent size for NYC and you can't beat the location. My wife was able to do yoga at several studios within walking distance. I'm not sure why this isn't an Andaz; it adheres to the Andaz philosophy more than the Andaz midtown location. For those of you who went clubbing in the 90's and 2000's the lobby is the old Kit Kat and Spa Night club. If I have to stretch for one complaint; they could've used another elevator. Can't wait to go back for pleasure.

Room Tip: request a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I was at Hyatt last month on business. Had a very good stay - spacious room, great breakfast at the Fourth and lovely staff. On business plan, even had my suit ironed every day!

At Union square, this hotel is at an excellent location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sravya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
W New York - Union Square
#163 of 469 in New York City
1,512 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#107 of 469 in New York City
1,029 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#193 of 469 in New York City
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#116 of 469 in New York City
619 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#162 of 469 in New York City
992 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#141 of 469 in New York City
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Union Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Union Square New York

Address: 134 4th Ave, New York City, NY 10003-4903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $261 - $654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Union Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a block from Union Square Park, the Hyatt Union Square New York is a AAA Four Diamond property featuring 178 luxury, pet-friendly guest rooms, studios and suites with options for a private terrace. Surrounded by a vibrant neighborhood filled with public art galleries, entertainment, shopping, restaurants and bars, you won’t need to go far to discover Union Square. You’ll also have access to the third largest transportation hub to get you to other parts of Manhattan and beyond. During your stay, keep your fitness routine at our 24-hour Life Fitness™ gym complete with top of line fitness equipment, complimentary towels, fruit snack, water and headphones. Prefer to be outside? Take a tour of the city May-October on one of our bicycles. If you’ve worked up an appetite, step into Bowery Road for American cuisine. Prepared by Chef Ron Rosselli, the flavorful and thoughtfully prepared dishes are inspired by local farmers. Seasonal produce from the nearby farmers market, Union Square Greenmarket, can be found in each dish. Need something a little stronger? Take a seat at the Library of Distilled Spirits to try one of more than 700 bottles of liquor from around the world. Choose from our encyclopedia of more than 150 classic cocktails to sample something shaken or stirred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, TravelUp, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Union Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing