We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Union Square New York
Ranked #116 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
memphis, tn
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location and hotel”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 4 nights in one of their ADA king rooms. Based on ADA rooms at other hotels, I was hesitant to book one because, in my opinion, they typically aren't as nice as the other rooms in a hotel. At the Hyatt Union Square, we found their ADA rooms to be much nicer than others I have stayed in, and I would not hesitate to stay in one at this hotel again.

There was a mix-up with our reservation that we found out about when we arrived. Our reservation for the last night of our stay was inadvertently cancelled by the Hyatt customer service rep, and we didn't know that until check-in. In addition, there were very few Hyatt rooms left in Manhattan for that night, so we were a little anxious about what we were going to do. The next day, William, the front-office manager straightened everything out and honored our previously booked rate at the Hyatt US for that last night, which was a big relief. Thanks, William!

Other positives:
- The location of the hotel is great. It is a block south of Union Square and the US subway station with multiple lines. Plus, it is easy to walk to many destinations all over Manhattan from the hotel.
- There are tons of restaurants and bars to choose from in the area.
- The lobby and rooms are very modern in style, clean and look new.
- Staff was always friendly and helpful.
- Room was amazingly quiet for the middle of NYC. Aside from some noisy guests in the hallway one night, we didn't hear noises through the walls. The windows also seemed great at keeping street noises out up on the 5th floor.
- The bed was very comfortable
- We actually had a view of the street from our room. Too often in NYC, a hotel window gives a view of a brick wall that is 3 ft away.
- Great, rain shower head and water pressure
- Nice shampoo, conditioner and soap provided
- They offer an “intimacy kit” in the in-room snack/amenities bar. I have never seen that before but thought it was a great idea.

Negatives:
- Our shower shared a room with the toilet. Because the shower was open, most of the floor in that room got wet during a shower. I am not sure if this layout/design is due to it being an ADA room or not. It wasn't a huge deal, but was a little inconvenient if you wanted to use the toilet after a shower.
- The open, modern design of the bathroom doesn't give you much privacy when using the bathroom or showering. This wasn't a big deal for my wife and I, but might be for others. Again, this might have been worse due to the ADA room.
- My wife and I both thought that the pillows could have been more comfortable. They flattened out too much overnight for our taste.
- Wifi was free for us for some reason (is it always free?) but was very slow.

Overall, I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again and would definitely recommend it to family or friends.

Green Features: They offer recycling bins in the room, which is not too common in my experience.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toltecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    468
    139
    43
    33
See reviews for
450
442
114
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Beautiful, new hotel. Only negative is that the rooms were very very small, even the passages were small. The architecture was very different and unique. The service and the staff were very good. Location was ok, not the best a little far away from 5th avenue or times square. Taxis were easy to get, many restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budsy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hyatt for Halloween weekend. The hotel was very clean and newly remodeled. The rooms are generally small with little closet space but that's what you typically get in big cities and high rent areas in this price range. The only problem we had was the A/C was a bit loud and turned off and on without warning and one window didn't lock completely. We loved the location. The hotel is near the subway and park and the neighborhood felt very safe to us coming from L.A. We got in late most nights and had several nice chats with Melissa who worked in the reception area -- she was very welcoming. Also Diana one of the bartenders, was very cool and gave us a great dining recommendation. The staff and location get a solid 4 Stars and the room gets a 3.5 Stars for lack of closet space and noisy A/C.

Room Tip: Get room on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marzpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here recently when business took my to NYC. The hotel was extremely well decorated & furnished, clean, the staff was friendly. The room was a bit tiny, but it's New York. The location was safe & had many restaurants & shops near by. Taxis are extremely easy to get right outside the front door of the hotel, and the subway is right near by as well.

If you do stay here I recommend eating across the street at Pie Face - don't let the name fool you, they serve a lot more than just deserts. Good stuff!

Room Tip: Get at room on the corner, it's a little bigger than the others. Found that out when I checked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrgills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed 6 days at this hotel. As a native New Yorker the location was just absolutely perfect. Centrally located in Union Square, I was amongst some of my favorite haunts in the city. Just a block away from Regal Cinemas and the Strand Book Store, 2 blocks away from Whole Foods and a myriad of restaurants, shopping (5th Avenue 4 blocks away), Union Square Park (Farmers Market), Barnes and Noble with Cafe, a 10 minute walk to Soho and the East Village, 2 blocks away from the subway station (4,5,6,Q,N,R) and much, much more.

While a busy area the hotel was not affected by the noise of its surrounding. Room Service was prompt, the fitness center was well stocked, 3 restaurants onsite, and excellent service all round.

I know exactly where next to stay when I'm in the city!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyn_SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a really well located hotel, plum in the middle of the city. Bowery is a 10 min walk south. Meatpacking district is 15 mins west, Empire State 15 mins north and Brooklyn is an hours walk over the Williamsburg Bridge East. If you like walking and the sun is out, the views are great going over the bridge.

We booked an Alcove Loft, as this was a lowest available rate. We were at the Andaz Wall Street, but decied to stay "uptown". Applied a Diamond Suite Upgrade to it, which caused confusion, as this is actually a suite, so no upgrade. Manager on duty explained it when questioned, so all sorted. Room is a decent size, well kitted out, though bathroom area a bit small.

Bar in the restaurant closes quite early. Hotel bar closes 130am ish without notice, which was weird.

Would certainly come back next time we're in NY.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan_ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My daughter and I headed into the city for a quick visit. Needed a nice hotel with a good price in a central location. I normally stay in Midtown but love the union Square area so thought we would give the Hyatt a try. Brand new, great location just a block off Union Square and the subway station. Staff was wonderful, we arrived early and were given our room.

Room is small- typical NYC but well designed and very comfortable. Also very quiet. The whole hotel was very clean. We did not visit the gym or the restaurants so cannot rate those, but you have so many choices in this area.

Will definitely return. This location is so convenient to things we want to do and the hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: We had a view of another building, so if the view is important, be sure to let them know. This may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmballetmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
W New York - Union Square
#137 of 467 in New York City
1,485 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#111 of 467 in New York City
597 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#120 of 467 in New York City
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#172 of 467 in New York City
692 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#144 of 467 in New York City
1,437 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#94 of 467 in New York City
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Union Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Union Square New York

Property: Hyatt Union Square New York
Address: 134 4th Ave, New York City, NY 10003-4903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Union Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a block from Union Square Park, the Hyatt Union Square New York is a AAA Four Diamond property featuring 178 luxury, pet-friendly guest rooms, studios and suites with options for a private terrace. Surrounded by a vibrant neighborhood filled with public art galleries, entertainment, shopping, restaurants and bars, you won’t need to go far to discover Union Square. You’ll also have access to the third largest transportation hub to get you to other parts of Manhattan and beyond. During your stay, keep your fitness routine at our 24-hour Life Fitness™ gym complete with top of line fitness equipment, complimentary towels, fruit snack, water and headphones. Prefer to be outside? Take a tour of the city May-October on one of our bicycles. If you’ve worked up an appetite, step into Bowery Road for American cuisine. Prepared by Chef Ron Rosselli, the flavorful and thoughtfully prepared dishes are inspired by local farmers. Seasonal produce from the nearby farmers market, Union Square Greenmarket, can be found in each dish. Need something a little stronger? Take a seat at the Library of Distilled Spirits to try one of more than 700 bottles of liquor from around the world. Choose from our encyclopedia of more than 150 classic cocktails to sample something shaken or stirred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Union Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing