We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Union Square New York
Ranked #120 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
221 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great location and very friendly staff. The room was small but efficiently designed. We heard some noise through the windows at night, but it's New York, so nothing unusal. The hotel is fairly new.... opened this year. The mattresses are new Sealy posturpedics, but for some unknown reason I did not find them to be the most comfortable. Also, I regret not asking for hypoallergenic pillows instead of the uncomfortable goose down pillows that were on the bed. The place was extremely clean. As a side note, I did not care for the bar downstairs called Singl. While it was attractive and trendy, the prices are outrageous. After seeing a Broadway show, my partner and I thought we'd have a glass of wine before retiring. We got there about 11:30 and the attendant told us that they were serving "last call", so we said we'd just have a glass of chardonnay and cabernet, but thankfully I inquired "how much" prior to her getting the wine. She said the cabernet was $48! I then replied that we only wanted a glass, not a bottle, and she said "that is the price for a glass". We canceled the order and left without our glass of wine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    446
    137
    41
    31
See reviews for
421
428
106
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is new and very modern and in a good position. We stayed in a Sky room which was very attractive but small and we thought quite pricey for the size. The check in was efficient however there seemed to only be one elevator working on and off throughout our 3 days and this caused some back up. The staff are young and friendly and try to be helpful. The mini bar items are very expensive as was we thought the wifi. Our only issue was that they failed to give us a wake up call!! But generally a hip modern hotel in a vibrant area of New York.

Room Tip: The Sky Room had a great view on the 11th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMSKJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toorak, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Completely positive experience... from the excellent location close to the fun Union Square Park and Metro, to the thoughtfully appointed modern rooms. Being new, all the latest ideas are incorporated - funky lighting, blockout curtains, coffee making in the room, light switches that glow so you know where they are in the dark, well placed mats beside the bed. Although the rooms are small, the ceilings were high so there’s a perception of space. This was the most homely of hotels in our month-long stay in the US.

Room Tip: All rooms are new and designed very similarly so I'm sure all rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esprit-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
623 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

As a frequent visitor to NYC, I have stayed at and reviewed many different hotels in many parts of town. I decided to try this location because I wanted to be close to the major subway lines in Union Square. I found this Hyatt to be a fine choice in an excellent location.
The hotel itself is new and modern. The staff is extremely nice and friendly. My room was quiet, clean and comfortable although I did hear my neighbors on a few occasions. Overall I have absolutely no complaints other than the elevators are a bit slow and one of the two was in and out of service during my stay- a minor inconvenience in what was overall a Very Nice Stay. I must compliment the staff who were young and very sweet whenever I had the need to engage them. At checkout there was an error on my bill which was immediately corrected once I pointed it out. I like staying in this part of town and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
417 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is small and may not look like much from the street but it. Is well run and located in an area of Manhattan where there are relatively few other decent accommodation options. As a result, room prices are steep and occupancy high.

The public areas and bedrooms are up-to-date and modern in design. A lively bar on the ground floor. Bedroom and bathroom layouts are efficient and include all the amenities you expect from a Hyatt. But bring your own food and drink...mini bar prices are among the highest I have seen.

Service is above average. On check-in, one of two elevators was out of service resulting in a line of people waiting. Staff offered each waiting guest a bottle of water...a small gesture but not so small once you checked the mini bar price list.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spencerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Let's start with the compliments for this property...first of all, this is a new hotel, so the entire feel is fresh and clean. The interiors of the lobby, bar and restaurant are all very well done. The artwork above the receptionist desk and bar is an amazing piece and the upholstery selection the lobby area feels warm and inviting. The staff is always attentive and happy to help with whatever you need.

The gym of the hotel is well appointed...plenty of cardio equipment and weights. During my stay it was always empty, so you felt that you had a great new modern gym all to yourself.

Once inside the rooms, you feel a strong departure from the typical layout, and that is good thing. It is modern, yet inviting and the bed linens are hard to beat. You can tell they actually thought about the guests staying here when they selected all of their finishes. It was done with care and attention to detail.

Now the only bad thing is the amount of noise you can hear from your neighbors. The walls seem terribly thin and you can easily hear any conversation that your neighbors are having. Generally not a problem unless you have annoying drunk people coming home at 2am, which I did.

For NYC, this is a great hotel...worth a try if you have not and the location is great.

Room Tip: You definitely want a room facing 4th or 13th and not the backside of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toomuchtimeintheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Hyatt Union Square has a lot going for it and once they work out a few kinks, it will be an excellent place to stay.

Location - Union Square is served by so many subway lines that it is easy to get anywhere but sometimes it took longer than expected. Enjoyed the Greenmarket and convenience to LES, Greenwich Village and Chelsea.

Accommodations - We stayed in an Urbane King Studio and found it a good size plus the open design helped to make it feel even more spacious. I liked the flooring, lighted closet and the lighting system that provided both bright and ambient lighting. Great water pressure in the shower, super comfortable bed with very soft, luxurious linens. We faced 4th Ave. and the room was super quiet with great blackout shades. No problem with the A/C but would recommend running the fan on medium then you never notice the A/C cycling on and off.

Staff - always eager to please. A minor delay at check in and we were given a beautiful cheese plate and nice bottle of wine. We were also given a late checkout which was a great convenience. Obviously the hotel will accommodate you when they can without those unnecessary surcharges.

Areas to improve - it took three nights until they got turndown service correct ... Not just the bedding pulled back but also fresh towels, wastebaskets emptied and room tidied. So housekeeping needs to work on this but in other areas, they excel. I never saw the hallways cluttered or littered and the rooms are super clean.

Not having wifi was ok - I never expect it in higher end hotels but bottled water in the room would be a nice addition. I just got used to grabbing an extra bottle from the well equipped exercise room.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Hyatt has the best rate guarantee so search online for better rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#154 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Union Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Union Square New York

Property: Hyatt Union Square New York
Address: 134 4th Ave, New York City, NY 10003-4903
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Union Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a block from Union Square Park, the Hyatt Union Square New York is a AAA Four Diamond property featuring 178 luxury, pet-friendly guest rooms, studios and suites with options for a private terrace. Surrounded by a vibrant neighborhood filled with public art galleries, entertainment, shopping, restaurants and bars, you won’t need to go far to discover Union Square. You’ll also have access to the third largest transportation hub to get you to other parts of Manhattan and beyond. During your stay, keep your fitness routine at our 24-hour Life Fitness™ gym complete with top of line fitness equipment, complimentary towels, fruit snack, water and headphones. Prefer to be outside? Take a tour of the city May-October on one of our bicycles. If you’ve worked up an appetite, step into Bowery Road for American cuisine. Prepared by Chef Ron Rosselli, the flavorful and thoughtfully prepared dishes are inspired by local farmers. Seasonal produce from the nearby farmers market, Union Square Greenmarket, can be found in each dish. Need something a little stronger? Take a seat at the Library of Distilled Spirits to try one of more than 700 bottles of liquor from around the world. Choose from our encyclopedia of more than 150 classic cocktails to sample something shaken or stirred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Union Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing