We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value / small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Union Square New York
Ranked #119 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value / small rooms”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here one night with my husband and found it very nice although it wasn't a high end luxury hotel. It is more modern / trendy / young.
The staff was very nice and let us check in at noon which was early. The rooms are small but still a decent size for NY. Our king size bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were super soft. The black out shades blocked out the light completely and even though we were on 4th Ave which is really busy, the windows were completely soundproof.
The location is great in the heart of Union Sq. - 1 block from most major subway lines. There are a ton of little restaurants and shopping (it's also easy to walk to W. Village and Soho).
The negatives were that wifi isn't complimentary (this always really annoys me - when you're spending several hundreds of $ a night, wifi should always be free). I also called to ask for bottled water and they didn't have any complimentary options (the Fiji bottle in the room was $8 - no thanks!).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    460
    138
    42
    32
See reviews for
435
440
110
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the Hyatt Union Square. This was my first time staying in the Union Square area and I really enjoyed the neighborhood. Transportation was easy to / from the airport and anywhere in Manhattan. The hotel is new and the rooms are very pleasant. I had an excellent stay. Everything was fantastic.

Green Features: Excellent - I requested the sheets be used for the entire stay and they were!! This never happens.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pivo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
416 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

watch out andaz this union square place can give u a run for your value. Lovely place small perfectly placed and great staff and rooms. Only family with kids watch out. Bathrooms have no privacy. Restaurant has good food and so does the bar. Nice atmosphere all around.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViralAhmedabad_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

3 friends, each single occupancy.

There is a heck of a lot going for this boutique hotel.
The location - easy walk to LES, West Village, Flatiron and good subway links one block away. Crisp modern design. We had the urban terrace rooms which are great - the bedroom is petite, but the terraces are big and so long as the weather is OK, you have a suite with an open air lounge. My room was at the corner, slightly larger and had the largest terrace, so we had a little drinks party on it with friends from Brooklyn and others! Seating for eight. I can't think of anything else with this at the price. The more standard rooms must be.........more standard.

Young laid back staff extremely polite and helpful. I cannot fault them - they're a real credit to the hotel.

Couple of small gripes. As is so common, there was not a bright enough light in the room. Reading after dark was too challenging for me, and my sight is not that bad. Vanity light over the mirror too small, and hard to see to shave. No shaving mirror. A sink the depth of a dinner plate which holds about 10mm depth of water (and even that drains with the plug in) does not help. Style over function. Hardly a deal breaker.

What could be is the aircon. Early reviews complain that it simply wasn't powerful enough. We had no such issue, so I wonder if they've "turned it up"? If so, the price to pay is that it is way too noisy. All 3 of us had to turn it off, as it's like a truck starting and stopping next to your bed and very difficult to sleep through. It would be a costly issue to fix, but it's what stops this being a perfect hotel. It's why I've given a 2 for sleep quality - the beds themselves are very comfy.

We had half an hour to wait for our car Sat brunchtime so we wandered in to the cafe/bar for a drink, where there was obvious friction between the staff and the atmosphere not nice. They were all very stressed. Big contrast with the hotel itself.

All things considered I will definitely stay here again. It has a nice vibe - between staid mid-town and LES party. Very convenient and the terrace rooms are a hoot. We were all very pleased with it.

Room Tip: In nice weather, splash out on a terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevgti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

For the last forty years i have been staying in the well known and most expensive hotels both midtown and downtown. With the opening of the Hyatt Union square in May it is like a breath of fresh air in the Manhattan hotel business. I stayed in it twice for a total of 18days. I had the perfect room ( with high quality linen and very comfortable bed) on the 11th floor and the service from the valets, receptionists, housekeeping, room service and maintenance person was extremely, efficient, effective, friendly and professional. The staff is young motivated, happy in their job and well trained. This Hyatt is definitely my new home when I travel to New York.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georges v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
143 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I travel a lot and haven't stayed at a Hyatt in years. I enjoyed this property quite a bit. The room was nice and the service was very good. ...I wish I could provide better texture in my review, but it was just a nice stay, and sometime if something doesn't stand-out, it's a good thing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times now on short business trips and really enjoyed it. The location is great, as it's right near Union Square. It's stylish and well-appointed and the staff are generally very friendly and reasonably helpful. As others have pointed out, the rooms are a bit small for comparable level hotels even in Manhattan, but they are very nicely done. It has a decent fitness center as well. It's one of the new faves on my Manhattan list.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mark2ther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
W New York - Union Square
#142 of 468 in New York City
1,471 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#113 of 468 in New York City
582 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#109 of 468 in New York City
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#196 of 468 in New York City
670 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#149 of 468 in New York City
1,403 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#88 of 468 in New York City
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Union Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Union Square New York

Property: Hyatt Union Square New York
Address: 134 4th Ave, New York City, NY 10003-4903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Union Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a block from Union Square Park, the Hyatt Union Square New York is a AAA Four Diamond property featuring 178 luxury, pet-friendly guest rooms, studios and suites with options for a private terrace. Surrounded by a vibrant neighborhood filled with public art galleries, entertainment, shopping, restaurants and bars, you won’t need to go far to discover Union Square. You’ll also have access to the third largest transportation hub to get you to other parts of Manhattan and beyond. During your stay, keep your fitness routine at our 24-hour Life Fitness™ gym complete with top of line fitness equipment, complimentary towels, fruit snack, water and headphones. Prefer to be outside? Take a tour of the city May-October on one of our bicycles. If you’ve worked up an appetite, step into Bowery Road for American cuisine. Prepared by Chef Ron Rosselli, the flavorful and thoughtfully prepared dishes are inspired by local farmers. Seasonal produce from the nearby farmers market, Union Square Greenmarket, can be found in each dish. Need something a little stronger? Take a seat at the Library of Distilled Spirits to try one of more than 700 bottles of liquor from around the world. Choose from our encyclopedia of more than 150 classic cocktails to sample something shaken or stirred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Union Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing