We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fulfillment of a childhood dream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Annie the Musical - CLOSED

Annie the Musical
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: LEAPIN' LIZARDS! It's an all-new production of one of the most acclaimed musicals of the past 35 years! With equal measures of pluck and positivity, little orphan ANNIE charms everyone's hearts, despite a next-to-nothing start in 1930s New York City. And now, alongside her signature pal dog, Sandy, she's set her sights on making us grin from ear to ear as she inspires a whole new millennium. Winner of 7 Tony Awards® including Best Musical, ANNIE - with Music by Charles Strouse, Lyrics by Martin Charnin, and Book by Thomas Meehan - makes its triumphant return to Broadway in a brand new production from Tony, Drama Desk and Pulitzer Prize-winning Director James Lapine and an A-list creative team.
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fulfillment of a childhood dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was the first NY show my mother and I saw on our Mother/Daughter trip to NYC the first week of December 2013. I wanted to see it desperately as a child in the 1970s and even dreamed of performing in it back then. The little girl in me was thrilled to death to see this now as a middle aged adult. One checked off the bucket list. The music and dancing did not disappoint. Love those orphans!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SSSheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    112
    33
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Gave tix to our 16 yr old daughter for Christmas as she has been a big fan of movie for years and never been to broadway. Our seats were in last row of balcony so we were very high up but could see everything. Palace is a iconic old theater and so fitting for the show set during depression. Children in show were excellent and had enthusiasm as if it were their first performance not their 1000th. Set designs beautiful and so nostalgic to NYC( many background sets with old NYC skyline and bridges) Producers chose to have the setting during Christmas( different than movie and original show in 70s)....but perfect for us as it was a holiday gift and we went during New Years. It also helped that when we left the theater and walked out on Times Square it was snowing!( magical)
Most original songs were performed plus some new ones. Dog ( sandy)was so well trained. Such a shame the show is closing.
Our only complaint was the young children( couldn't keep still...lost interest) ....we thought broadway shows had a rule of no kids under 4... But I guess it's not strict....many toddlers.

But overall. ..a magical first broadway show experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bmom67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Always Fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I understand Annie closes this week and the 100 year-old theater will undergo some renovation and improvements for it’s next Broadway show.

The show was great fun for our family of four. Iconic music that you will be humming to yourself for several days after the show.

Great show. Sorry it will be gone. (of course, it will come back!!)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Browardcruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Lifelong Dream Realized”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

You know how sometimes something gets built up so big in your mind, that when it becomes reality it can be a letdown?

This was not the case with Annie the Musical!

I'm 35 years old. Annie has been my favorite musical since I was a little girl!

This performance was outstanding!! The Palace Theatre was a beautiful setting for this production - for the sight & the sound!

I was in awe throughout the entire performance! The performers all did such an amazing job! And the orchestra played beautifully!

What a great night we had!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmora Hills, NJ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Will be Missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Annie goes off Broadway on January 5th, and with it will go an amazing magic that truly speaks to New York. The story of a young girl who opens the heart of a great man in the greatest city in the world, New York City. The show is excellently choreographed and the singers are amazing. Sandy steals many scenes and the Christmas theme makes it that much more meaningful in the winter. A must see if you get a chance before it goes off broadway.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chatty_Connie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annie the Musical also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing