We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in NY for convenience and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Ranked #202 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Fairly new hotel which is in walking distance to many of the attractions. We took our grandson and found the hotel to be more than adequate, it certainly met all our needs. The rooms are big enough for two adults plus child but would be a squeeze for four adults. Would recommend the Superheroes tour if travelling with children.

Room Tip: Would recommend room on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metzner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear metzner;

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square and the Big Apple! I’m glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the trip to New York City and were pleased with the stay. We pride ourselves on the great guest service that we provide. I will be sure to pass along to my TEAM all the nice things you mentioned.

As you mentioned the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square 36th Street is centrally located to all the major attractions New York City has to offer. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and other trip advisor travelers.

We certainly look forward to your next stay with us!

Regards,

Omar Aquino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

This basic hotel still has a clean new feel to it. Our room might be a touch on the small size - for three adults - but otherwise it met all our needs, including the provision of a generous in-room safe. Location is great, within a short walk to Times Square, Penn Station and the Port Authority Bus Terminal. And the staff were great. We had a room on the second floor on 36th street facing a very noisy pub. All I did was ask the desk clerk what time the pub closed and he rang them immediately and asked them to turn the volume down - and they did.I was amazed. Unfortunately, the hotel does not offer guest laundry facilities; but we found a coin-operated laundromat over on 33rd Street, between 3rd and Lex. Quite at walk if you are carrying a load of washing but it's a really nice area to stroll in. Bottom line, if I return to NYC, I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter but contention for elevators can be problematic at certain busy times of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear guest Keith M;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs! Thank you for your review and kind words. I am glad that you were pleased with your stay and that you found our staff, amenities, and location to be a good value. As you mentioned, our property is centrally located to the major attractions and delightful restaurants NYC has to offer. I'm glad my staff reacted promptly to assist with the noise coming from the Pub across the street. I have also addressed this situation with the management staff at the Pub and we have seeing in improvement.

Thanks again for choosing us and we look forward to your next visit!

Regards,

Omar Aquino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is great Hotel in Manhatten, close to all attraction ,
Great and friendly staff, with close attention to all request. Room is small but comfortable, breakfast is good and much better than continentak in other Holiday inn Express

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 118alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear 118alex;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs! And thank you very much for your review. Thank you for your comments concerning our great breakfast and for your kind words about my staff. I certainly have a great TEAM and am proud of all of them.

On behalf of the entire TEAM at the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Omar Aquino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very nice hotel and great location. Room view of the Empire State building was amazing. Staff could be a little more friendly. Rooms are slightly smaller than most hotels I've visited but are very clean and nicely designed.

Room Tip: This hotel offers 2 room view types. One is the Empire State building and the other looks towards th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liny79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear guest liny79;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs! And thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you found our location, our amenities, and the room with view of the Empire State Building to be a good value. Thank you for comment concerning the friendliness of the staff It is only by notifications such as yours that we can make necessary corrections and improve our services. As you can see, from our many previous reviews the level of guest service we provide is top notch. That’s why I would personally be looking into your comments with my team desk to ensure it is corrected.

Thanks again for your review and feedback and we look forward to your return!

Omar Aquino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed three nights at the Holiday Inn Express near 5th Avenue and was thrilled with the price/location value. The pros: the staff is very helpful, the breakfast plentiful, the rooms very clean and the location slam dunk perfect. The cons: my room was small and a bit dark, the public area is small and not very atmospheric, wifi in my room was pathetic. I'd stay here again if I couldn't get a great deal at a nearby 4 star.

Room Tip: If you get a room away from the street the view is terrible - but quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear guest;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs! Thank you for your review and kind words. I am glad that you were pleased with your stay and that you found our staff, amenities, and location to be a good value. As you mentioned, our property is centrally located to the major attractions and delightful restaurants NYC has to offer. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with the Wi-Fi in your room, please be aware the front desk and engineering staff would have been delighted to assist with this issue or contact our 24 hours help desk support department.

Thanks again for choosing us and we look forward to your next visit!

Regards,

Omar Aquino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located in Midtown. Blocks from the subway. Loads of shopping, restaurants and tourist sites around. I stayed for a few days for business so the location and proximity to penn station were a bonus. The rooms were clean and okay sized - fot a holiday inn express in midtown, I would say excellent. Don't expect give star accommodation but if you're looking for great location at a good price and safe, clean and friendly hotel, this place is perfect.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Jamie W

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St for your recent stay in New York City. And thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us.
We are very happy to hear you had a great stay with us and our hotel and staff met all your needs. We pride ourselves on the great guest service that we provide. I will be sure to pass along the TEAM all the nice things you mentioned.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St the next time you're in New York City.

Regards,

Omar A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

To the left is West Side and to the right is East Side. Uptown. Downtown. Convenient walking to hundreds of popular spots in the city......and if you're walking too much, located near public transportation . Located on a side street, so noise of major streets is not an issue. We wee on. 12th floor and didn't hear south as a honk! Breakfast was invalided in the rate and was a great addition. Rooms are fairly large by New York standards . Affiliated parking garage is down the street and staff was quite helpful ! Good choice for a New York getaway . Not luxury or upscale but absolutely adequate and recommendable!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliceann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear guest;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. As you mentioned the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square 36th Street is centrally located to all the major attractions New York City has to offer.

On behalf of the entire TEAM at the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square, thank you for staying
with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Omar A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#294 of 469 in New York City
2,173 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#161 of 469 in New York City
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#154 of 469 in New York City
1,964 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#260 of 469 in New York City
2,044 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South

Address: 60 West 36th Street & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10018-8039 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $170 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South! Enjoy a calm, peaceful haven in the heart of NYC. You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks. Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices of Marsh and Mclennan, Verizon, Google ABC,JP Morgan Chase,and McGraw Hill. All are within walking distance of our location in Manhattan near the Empire State building and minutes away from Times Square. Our hotel guests can stay productive in our 24-hour business center with copy, fax, printing and computer services. There is so much to do whether you want to catch a Broadway play or visit the Modern Museum of Art, browse the shops on Fifth Avenue or enjoy the sites at Chelsea Piers, The Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel on 36th Street is located near the best of Manhattan and Times Square. Our hotel guests can go skating at Rockefeller Center, stroll in Central Park or Bryant Park or take an evening cruise around New York City. You will take delight in magnificent, skyscraper views, our impeccable customer service and terrific, complimentary amenities. Take advantage of our free, hot breakfast bar. Everyone's a star at our Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel. With a name you can trust and a price you can afford, we'll indulge you with a practical and convenient stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing