We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Metro(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Executive Hotel LeSoleil(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The Gregory Hotel New York(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,247)
Filter reviews
1,247 results
Traveler rating
569
525
101
27
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
569
525
101
27
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe empire state buildingherald squarehi expresspenn stationtimes squaregreat locationnew yorkfree breakfastthe breakfast areayogurthot breakfastaround the cornerwalking distancewould stay here againfront desk staffrooms are smallclean hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
595 - 600 of 1,247 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed here on a business trip to NYC, and the location is very convenient. The room was small but a decent size for NYC, although it might feel cramped for two people. It was very clean and well-arranged. I didn't have any issue with the elevator wait time that some other people mentioned, but I agree that the breakfast area appeared overcrowded. I never even attempted to have breakfast there.
It was very quiet, possibly because there are only six rooms per floor.
All the staff I dealt with we're friendly and helpful.
One slight concern I had was security -- it appeared anyone could walk in and take the elevator without having to prove they were a guest. That might lead me to choose a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

nice location direct at Herald Square, short walk to Times Square.
Newer Hotel and nice rooms with view to the Empire State.
Friendly staff, they help you out where they can. We reserved a birthday dinner through the hotel, worked great.
Rooms are very clean. Not that big, but very okay for a short stay.
Breakfast ist awesome, you have bread, pancakes, muffins, eggs, cereals, milk & coffee. Real american style. We come back here definetly

Room Tip: 18th floor
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buntsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed at this location for sight seeing and Christmas shopping. Very close to Empire State building and the world's largest Macy's. Also within walking distance of Times Square & Rockefeller Center. Room was small, but worked okay for 3 of us that stayed. Very clean. Plenty of towels, good room service. Also excellent customer service and help with directions & subway & recommendations for sight seeing. Bathroom had heated floors which was nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a view looking toward the Empire State Building. If you have a vehicle, be sure to ask for closest parking. They do not have a parking garage.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBA03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The room is excellent: comfortable bed, enough room (for Manhattan), good shower, free internet. The one thing that lets the room down is the air-conditioning unit, which was loud and gave off a blowing sound even when it was turned off. This was somewhat annoying. However, the real let-down was the breakfast. The so-called scrambled eggs were re-constituted from something or other (they were certainly not eggs fried in a pan), you could see the bottom of the cup through the coffee and there was no real butter (just some sweet spread in a tiny plastic container)...indeed everything was plastic (cutlery, plates, cups etc.), meaning that 100s, maybe even 1000s of bits of plastic are thrown away every day, which makes the sign in the room regarding towels and the environment a bit of a joke. So very mixed: great room, miserable breakfast and problematic air-conditioning...which I guess adds up to 3 stars out of 5...

Room Tip: The higher the better!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedrito69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear pedrito69,

We welcome feedback especially from our valued guests like you. I am pleased that you found the bed comfortable. On the other hand, please accept my sincerest apologies for the air conditioning and breakfast issues you have experienced. I understand the discomfort and inconvenience this caused you. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This was our third trip to New York and the third hotel we've stayed at the others we're Hotel Metro and the Candlewood Suites. To be fair all have their good points and bad points and I would stay at anyone of them again.
The hotel is in an excellent location very close to the subway and an easy walk to all midtown areas. As others have said the breakfast is perfectly fine and the orange juice is spot on. The room itself is not huge but was plenty big enough for a five night stay and wss very clean.
The negatives were that the shower always leaked all over the bathroom floor, and the noise on a night. Not only is there the bar opposite playing music onto the street but there's also a nightclub on the street.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Babyhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews