We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Ranked #201 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This was our third trip to New York and the third hotel we've stayed at the others we're Hotel Metro and the Candlewood Suites. To be fair all have their good points and bad points and I would stay at anyone of them again.
The hotel is in an excellent location very close to the subway and an easy walk to all midtown areas. As others have said the breakfast is perfectly fine and the orange juice is spot on. The room itself is not huge but was plenty big enough for a five night stay and wss very clean.
The negatives were that the shower always leaked all over the bathroom floor, and the noise on a night. Not only is there the bar opposite playing music onto the street but there's also a nightclub on the street.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Babyhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

A great value hotel in Manhattan. Breakfast is included and very nice - I mostly stuck to the delicious pancakes!

The room is very clean, a bit small (typical for NYC I'm told) but comfortable. If you had a lot of luggage space would be an issue.

Staff were mostly helpful, one of the reception staff wasn't as friendly as the rest, but still perfectly competent.

I'd stay here again, I don't think you'll get better value in this location (just a block from Macys!).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dajaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The hotel rooms aren't particularly big and only have one small wardrobe (with a safe and ironing board) so was a bit of a squeeze for a weeks stay. That said the location was great, right in midtown and a short walk to macys, Times Square, Empire State Building and a choice of subway stations.
Next door to the hotel is a great Steak House - keens. The other side is a chopped salad bar which is open until late and serves great fresh salads.
Opposite is a bar called Keggs which from the outside doesn't look too inviting but inside is surprising, lots of large tvs for watching sport, a range of food and a friendly welcome - open some nights until 4am,

The hotel itself is quite basic and does not have a bar or anywhere except a vending machine to get a drink which is a bit frustrating. In the lobby there is a business centre with free internet and the staff are very helpful and always willing to help.

Next time I come to NYC I will be staying here! Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Puddenpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We didn't expect too much from this 3 star hotel but it turned out to be one of our best hotel experiences in New York. This is obviously not a luxury hotel but its location, the friendly staff, the free wifi and the complimentary breakfast more than exceeded our expectations. A great hotel if you simply need somewhere to base yourself and get some sleep in this busy city.

The hotel is very close to Times Square, Broadway and Herald Square; you'll also find a subway station nearby to get to the Staten Island Ferry, Greenwich Village, Soho or even uptown to Central Park. For shoppers, Macy's, Old Navy and other stores are around the corner.

The room was comfortable, even if the air conditioning/heating unit was quite noisy.
The beds were good, tea/coffee facilities were provided, the shower was excellent and we really appreciated the in-room free wifi.

We had not expected breakfast to be included in our booking but the hotel offers complimentary hot and cold options (bagels, toast, yoghurts, sausages, omelette, cereals, etc) which was a nice added service.

The gym is small but looked good, if you haven't walked enough around New York!

We would definitely recommend this hotel and will try to book it again next year. The location and good service really made it worthwhile.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were actually booked in a Best Western two doors down and since they overbooked, they moved us to this hotel. The front desk staff was courteous, the lobby, though sparse, was clean and we were given a room in short order. The room itself was spacious for an NYC property, and all the fixtures were new. The street itself is not the prettiest, but it is literally a block to Herald Square and Macy's, so I give it a definite thumbs up!

Room Tip: The free breakfast is really comprehensive - try the pancake machine! ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megawattage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed one night using Platinum Rewards and received early check-in with a clean, comfy king room facing the Empire State Building. Very Impressive! Close to subways and a decent free breakfast as well, I would definitely return. Only negative were the pillows-small and mushy!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulSnood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear PaulSnood;

Thank you for your review and kind words. And thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs. I am glad that you were pleased with your stay. We pride ourselves on the great guest service that we provide. I will be sure to pass along to my TEAM all the nice things you mentioned. Thank you for being a loyal IHG Platinum Rewards Member. We appreciate your loyalty.

On behalf of the entire TEAM at the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Omar Aquino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel more then 6 months prior up our visit, requesting twin beds. This could not be accommodated on our arrival to the hotel or for the duration of our stay so ended up moving rooms three times in 6 days and having to share a king bed. Frustrating. Other than that, great location. Walking distance to the Empire State Building, Macy's and Time Square. Breakfast is provided and a good variety. Concierge is very helpful - can assist you in any sightseeing you might wish to do.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank K8teZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you for your review and great feedback of our location and breakfast. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered throughout your stay with the rooms move. I assure you that will address with my reservation department to ensure we improve in this area.

Thank you once more for staying with us and we look forward to serving you in the near future.

Regards,

Omar Aquino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#290 of 473 in New York City
2,237 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#153 of 473 in New York City
2,089 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#159 of 473 in New York City
2,279 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#260 of 473 in New York City
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South

Address: 60 West 36th Street & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10018-8039 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $130 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South! Enjoy a calm, peaceful haven in the heart of NYC. You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks. Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices of Marsh and Mclennan, Verizon, Google ABC,JP Morgan Chase,and McGraw Hill. All are within walking distance of our location in Manhattan near the Empire State building and minutes away from Times Square. Our hotel guests can stay productive in our 24-hour business center with copy, fax, printing and computer services. There is so much to do whether you want to catch a Broadway play or visit the Modern Museum of Art, browse the shops on Fifth Avenue or enjoy the sites at Chelsea Piers, The Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel on 36th Street is located near the best of Manhattan and Times Square. Our hotel guests can go skating at Rockefeller Center, stroll in Central Park or Bryant Park or take an evening cruise around New York City. You will take delight in magnificent, skyscraper views, our impeccable customer service and terrific, complimentary amenities. Take advantage of our free, hot breakfast bar. Everyone's a star at our Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel. With a name you can trust and a price you can afford, we'll indulge you with a practical and convenient stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing