We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usually very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Ranked #182 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Usually very good”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel on multiple occasions. All of our stays have been excellent except one which was down right awful. On that visit, they gave us a room that smelled like mildew or smelly socks. Yuck! Housekeeping had the air turned down super low to try to reduce the odor, but it didn't work at all. We called the front desk to alert them to the matter, and a man appeared at our door who seemed to be very annoyed by us. He stepped into our room and spritzed the room and carpet with a deodorizer. It helped for about ten minutes. He obviously had no intention to help us. His body language and expression said it all. Also that stay, housekeeping never came by in three days. We also had a shower door that leaked severely, so the bathroom was a mess. We were using our used towels to keep the water from the shower from reaching the bedroom and carpet.
Even after that awful visit, we returned again on a different trip, and everything was great again just as we have been accustomed. For the price, the hotel is a good value for Manhatten.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GH_ShrtOrDrCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    476
    91
    24
    18
See reviews for
421
347
60
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My (now) fiancee and I travel a lot. I booked this room to propose to her on top of the Empire State Building. I booked it and asked the GM if we could have a view of the Empire State Building. He promptly responded and said that he reserved our room with a view on the highest floor. Check in was a breeze, the room is brand new and perfect (a little small if you have never been to New York City). One of the ladies who worked at the front desk was so excited for us she had to hug my fiancee. It was awesome. It was in a great location, (obviously) the ESB is right there, but you can walk to Times Square. Very close to subway stops to get to anywhere else. Also, a GREAT bar right across the street, Keg Room. Perfect stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Empire State Building, it's one block away!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cic06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great new place with excellent staff (thanks particularly to Taylor and Brian). Extremely clean. My king room on 15th floor was ideally sized with a large TV and coffee and tea making machine. Wifi worked well. Location in Midtown 5 minutes from Macys and 10 from Empire State and Penn Station. Breakfast options are quite limited. There is no restaurant on site (I ate/ordered at 5boro at the corner of 36th and 6th, one minute from the hotel, which has great food).

Room Tip: Given that its in Midtown I would say the higher the floor the more peace and quiet you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camelia_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We are in the hotel for 6 night. Tomorow ew leave ! It was great to be hear! Good ubicction. In the center subway cloth to every place you need to go.rooms very small. Stuff nicely and help a lot.
The breakfest - to muche plastic,!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seidemanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located right at Manhattan. You are very closeto the Penn Station and to the next subway station. The Hotel is very new and the hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY and FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel seems new. Check in was quick and the lady who checked me in was helpful, cheerful, and a pleasure to work with. The room wasn't large, but it was modern, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was included and was quite nice. The location is great. I would definitely stay there again. There is a nice bar directly across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCtoSRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for your giving us a "Nice Review"! We're delighted you found our new property, the location, the amenities and services suitable for your trip! We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your time. I will make sure to pass along your kind words to my team. Our guests love the “Keg Room” bar restaurant across the street.

On behalf of all of us at the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your future visit.

Regards,

Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice, clean hotel and found a great rate. Modern and clean room and friendly front desk staff. Very happy with my stay here. Great locationwould definitely stay here again. No need to stay at an overpriced, "trendy" NYC hotel. We even had a nice view of the Empire State building from our room :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meow772122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear meow772122;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our new hotel. I'm extremely pleased you liked the hotel, the staff, amenities, and location. And that you had a great stay. I’m glad you enjoyed the view of the Empire State building from your room.
Thanks for making the new Holiday Inn Express Herald Square your choice for lodging while visiting in the NYC.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you upon your next visit to the NYC.

Sincerely,

Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#291 of 467 in New York City
2,122 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#166 of 467 in New York City
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 467 in New York City
739 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#188 of 467 in New York City
590 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#156 of 467 in New York City
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Address: 60 West 36th Street & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10018-8039 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South! Enjoy a calm, peaceful haven in the heart of NYC. You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks. Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices of Marsh and Mclennan, Verizon, Google ABC,JP Morgan Chase,and McGraw Hill. All are within walking distance of our location in Manhattan near the Empire State building and minutes away from Times Square. Our hotel guests can stay productive in our 24-hour business center with copy, fax, printing and computer services. There is so much to do whether you want to catch a Broadway play or visit the Modern Museum of Art, browse the shops on Fifth Avenue or enjoy the sites at Chelsea Piers, The Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel on 36th Street is located near the best of Manhattan and Times Square. Our hotel guests can go skating at Rockefeller Center, stroll in Central Park or Bryant Park or take an evening cruise around New York City. You will take delight in magnificent, skyscraper views, our impeccable customer service and terrific, complimentary amenities. Take advantage of our free, hot breakfast bar. Everyone's a star at our Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel. With a name you can trust and a price you can afford, we'll indulge you with a practical and convenient stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing