We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Neighborhood hotel in the midst of the wonderfulness that is NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walker Hotel Greenwich Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Ranked #108 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Neighborhood hotel in the midst of the wonderfulness that is NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This will now be my go-to hotel when visiting New York. The hotel is in a tree lined neighborhood and around the corner from bagels in the morning, cafes, restaurants and shopping. Greenwich Village is a great place to stay and explore.
The Jade is relaxing and elegant. Rooms were spotless, beds were plush and was total comfort after walking around town all day. Well done Jade Hotel.

Room Tip: I was hoping to be on a higher floor as others suggested but we arrived early and did not want to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherman220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear sherman20,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to learn of your great stay with us and are honored to be your new go-to hotel in New York! Our location is one of our favorite benefits and we are glad you were able to explore the local area and return to comfortable and relaxing accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    215
    75
    21
    9
See reviews for
144
258
43
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights. We were on the 15th floor. Have to say this hotel will take some beating for us. It's fantastic. Ok,small room but that's New York. There is no expense spared on the decor. It's stunning inside. Staff always helpful and friendly. Clean room,everyday, fresh towels, great turn down service. Comfortable bedding. The restaurant possibly a little extensive but very good. Recommend the French toast! Lifts are a little slow. Waited up to 8 minutes just to get downstairs! Did mention this on our departure.
The location is just awesome. Away from the noise of Times Square but in the middle of the beautiful part of New York. Shops,restaurants, parks,bars all nearby. Would we stay here again.. Absolutely. Loved it. Well done The Jade. Love Robert and Victoria

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Victoria L,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that we were able to be a special part of your birthday celebration and provide a memorable stay! Our staff is committed to providing exceptional service and we are glad that you found our team to be both friendly and accommodating. We are also glad to read that you enjoyed the comfort of your room and that the details of our accommodations were to your liking. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Super friendly service. Close-ish to all things West Village and beyond. Rooms are good; they have everything you could need, nice crisp sheets, nice amenities, except the rooms really are tiny even by NYC standards. Restaurant food is good, both eat-in or room service. I have stayed here 2 times in the last month, for a total of 9 days, and would definitely come back and recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItsAKumquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear ItsAKumquat,

Thank you for your review. It is so great to read that you enjoyed both of your experiences at The Jade. Our team is dedicated to providing exceptional service and we are pleased to hear that you have experienced great service during both of your stays. We hope to welcome you back to The Jade again soon!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great location near union square. Wifi sucked and was patchy the entire time I was there. The walls were thin, so I woke up every morning at 5 as the hotel guest next to me was talking on the phone loud enough I could hear it in my room. It's just okay. I am not sure it was worth the price I paid to stay the two nights there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Jenny W,

Thank you for your review. We regret to hear that your stay with us was just okay and that areas of our accommodations and amenities did not exceed your expectations. We strive to provide relaxing atmosphere for our guests and we apologize that you did not find this to be the case throughout your stay. I would be happy to discuss these issues in detail and I can be reached at jkellerman@thejadenyc.com at your convenience. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope that should you return to New York, you might give us another try.

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My friends and I just spent three nights at the Jade Hotel and we absolutely loved it. Location was great, the rooms were thoughtfully decorated and the hotel had such a warm and friendly vibe. We were especially blown away by the thought and care provided by the staff. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. All the little touches, like accommodating our room changes to the champagne on my birthday, made our trip to NYC a spectacular one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel is nice, but the service is what really sets it apart. From the check-in desk to the restaurant staff to concierge, everyone was extraordinarily friendly and helpful. I haven't enjoyed any other stay in New York as much.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimroosevelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

A funky hotel in a great location, the decor throughout the hotel is beautiful and rooms were really nice - the most comfortable beds - yes small but that's NY. We stayed for 9 nights and loved it. Great bar for a drink after a long day of discovering such a big city, happy hour from 4 - 7pm. The staff throughout the hotel are all really friendly and immaculately presented. Couldn't fault this hotel and will definitely recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karena039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#114 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#180 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#100 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#175 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Gramercy Park
W New York - Union Square
W New York - Union Square
#142 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,317 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#75 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Hotel Greenwich Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Hotel Greenwich Village

Property: Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Address: 52 W 13th St, 13th Street Between 5th & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-7902 (Formerly The Jade Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Walker Hotel Greenwich Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village is an independent downtown NYC boutique hotel located in the heart of historic Greenwich Village. The Walker Hotel Greenwich Village embodies the energy & individuality of the Village lifestyle while reflecting its charm and history. Walking distance to iconic downtown neighborhoods and attractions, guests of Walker Hotel are in easy reach of Washington Square Park, Union Square, Chelsea and the famed Meatpacking District. Catering to travelers seeking an authentic New York City hotel experience, guests of Walker Hotel Greenwich Village will enjoy complimentary WiFi, complimentary bottled water, complimentary local calling, evening turn-down service, daily newspapers, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour room service and 24-hour Concierge services. Walker Hotel's American restaurant and bar, Grape & Vine, serves market-driven fare in an elegant and artsy setting. Its sensual ambiance and engaging service is a casual chic Village oasis enjoyed by our guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Walker Hotel Greenwich Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing