We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Ranked #120 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

A funky hotel in a great location, the decor throughout the hotel is beautiful and rooms were really nice - the most comfortable beds - yes small but that's NY. We stayed for 9 nights and loved it. Great bar for a drink after a long day of discovering such a big city, happy hour from 4 - 7pm. The staff throughout the hotel are all really friendly and immaculately presented. Couldn't fault this hotel and will definitely recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karena039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    273
    97
    29
    17
See reviews for
213
328
56
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a great time at The Jade Hotel. The room was great except the way the shower was designed. When you shower there the floor gets all wet. The shower door only covers half the shower stall. The room is so adorable. The location of the Hotel is excellent since we spent time at NYU and the Hotel is right down the street.

Room Tip: I loved the old fashioned phones in the room. I also used the gym in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonyangary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Sonyangary,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you had an excellent stay with us during your recent trip to New York! We are glad that you found the location convenient to NYU and local attractions and that you enjoyed the décor of the room and our rotary phones! We apologize that the design of the bathroom detracted from your stay and appreciate your feedback as it helps us to continually improve. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in New York.

Sincerely,

Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I used to live in NYC and am always on the lookout for good hotels downtown. This little place is tucked away near everything I like in the West Village. The staff is very nice, rooms are a good size for NYC, but I found the decor a bit odd. The lighting in the rooms is terrible and the shower is open, no door. I didn't mind so much but my husband who is a big guy hated the shower. He felt that the water went all over the place. Restaurant in the hotel was great for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeysgurl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear mickeysgurl2014,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and regret that our design was not to your liking and that you did not find the lighting and shower design sufficient to your needs. We are glad to hear that you found our location convenient to the West Village and that you found our staff to be personable. We hope that should you return to New York, you might give us another try.

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We spent 7 Nights At The Jade in June. Our AirBnB Host Canselled, and I Had Had My Eyes On The Jade for a While, as I Love Their Web Site, Presentation And Location, Location, Location.
I Will Write This Short & Sweet. We Loved It There. From The Street Through The Entrance Through The Carefully Scented Lobby, Into The Secretly Located Grape & Wine Bistro to The Wonderful, Profesional and Attentive Staff At Front Desk And Everywhere. How Do You Cast Your Staff, Jade Management & Owners? I Would Have Put Them All in a Movie About How Much I Love New York - Any Time. To The Staff: Thank You. Beautiful Design, Lovely Beds and Bigelow Amenities Aside: You Are The Best About The Jade. Thank You For Making Our Stay Memorable. We Have Never Felt So Much At Home In Any Hotel In Any Other Part Of The World. Our Daughter (12) Senda Her Very Best Regards. We Hope The Jade Pay You Well. My Summer House Is At Your Disposal Any Time.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Ingvill,

Thank you for your review. We are so thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the presentation and small touches of the hotel. Our staff strives to go above and beyond in welcoming our guests and we are so pleased to hear how special they made your trip. We will certainly pass along your kind comments and we hope we can welcome you back with the same level of hospitality soon!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We loved our stay at The Jade Hotel! We couldn't find fault with anything from check-in to check-out! The doorman Brian was so professional and upbeat - he is truly a great representative for "first impressions" for the hotel! Kilby ran that front desk so efficiently - he is the "get-it-done-guy!! The staff is polished. The hotel is beautiful. Our room size was perfect for two. The tub in our room was THE best and most comfortable for soaking out of all the hotels we have stayed in. People previously mentioned that the semi-open shower door got their bathroom door soaked, we didn't find that to be true in our case. The hotel is in the center of a great neighborhood - Murrays Bagels, Bar-6 restaurant which both allowed for great people watching! There are a couple spa's within two blocks - Silk and Rohobeth Spa. There is a Rite-Aid down the street for any toiletries you might need to pick up. We spent 5 days there and couldn't see everything! We would love to stay at The Jade Hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lope4044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear lope4044,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us from check in until check out and that you enjoyed your accommodations, including our fantastic deep soaking tubs in our Greenwich Penthouse rooms. We are also thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and welcoming and we will certainly pass along your kind comments to Briant and Kilby, who are invaluable members of our team. We hope to welcome you back to the same level of comfort and hospitality soon!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have stayed twice at the Jade Hotel over the last year. The situation is great in the Village and if you are reasonably fit within walking distance of shops on 5th, many restaurants, and if you are up to it even to Central Park. The staff are friendly and really helpful. Breakfast is good with choices ranging from simply coffee and bagel through amazing greanola fruit combination to full USA style meal. The bar has an early evening 1/2 price session for those who like an early drink. The rooms are very big city boutique and so the standard room, though well furnished, is small. If you need more room its worth paying a bit more for amore space. All in all - a cool place to stay

Room Tip: main tip - remeber boutique hotel, small rooms, so upgrade from standard if this important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I spent our 2nd Anniversary in the Jade Hotel in May this year. From arrival to departure the staff could not have been any friendlier or more helpful. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and the bar/restaurant is a really nice, atmospheric place to have a drink or eat.

The hotel is ideally placed in Greenwich Village next to Metro links and is withing walking distance of both Uptown and Downtown.

Also, the flatbreads that they make during happy hour are absolutely delicious!

We would definietely return to this hotel if we visit New York again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnightswoodBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#111 of 467 in New York City
597 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#144 of 467 in New York City
1,436 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#116 of 467 in New York City
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#172 of 467 in New York City
692 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#137 of 467 in New York City
1,485 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#83 of 467 in New York City
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Hotel Greenwich Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Hotel Greenwich Village

Property: Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Address: 52 W 13th St, New York City, NY 10011-7902 (Formerly The Jade Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Walker Hotel Greenwich Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village is an independent, family-owned luxury boutique hotel located in the downtown NYC neighborhood of Greenwich Village. Offering 113 guest rooms and an elevated market-to-table American restaurant, Walker Hotel truly offers visitors an authentic New York hotel experience. Centrally located, guests can easily access all major business districts and New York City attractions such as Washington Square Park, Union Square, Chelsea, SoHo and the famed Meatpacking District. Access to all major transportation and transit lines are just a few short blocks from the hotel. Designed in gorgeous art-deco décor, all guests will enjoy luxurious Frette linens, local bath amenities by C.O. Bigelow - America's oldest apothecary, complimentary WiFi, free bottled spring water (replenished daily) and complimentary local and toll free calling. Other complimentary amenities include daily New York Times, evening turndown service and personalized Concierge services. Walker Hotel Greenwich Village offers 24-hour room service and a new market-to-table American restaurant called Society Cafe by Executive Chef, Christopher Zabita. Shopping at the local Union Square Green Market 4-days per week, Chef Zabita's passion for supporting local farmers and purveyors is enjoyed by guests and locals through his seasonally driven American menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Walker Hotel Greenwich Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing