We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Ranked #118 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I spent our 2nd Anniversary in the Jade Hotel in May this year. From arrival to departure the staff could not have been any friendlier or more helpful. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and the bar/restaurant is a really nice, atmospheric place to have a drink or eat.

The hotel is ideally placed in Greenwich Village next to Metro links and is withing walking distance of both Uptown and Downtown.

Also, the flatbreads that they make during happy hour are absolutely delicious!

We would definietely return to this hotel if we visit New York again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnightswoodBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    273
    97
    29
    17
See reviews for
212
328
56
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Just returned from Manhattan to celebrate our 27th anniversary where we spent five nights at The Jade Hotel which we learned about on TripAdvisor. We had a wonderful stay at this boutique hotel. After checking in, the hotel sent a bottle of champagne to our room! Beautiful decor and, yes, the rooms are on the small side but it's NY! We had read some reviews about the shower design allowing the floor to get wet and the bathroom door being frosted glass and just a bit see-thru. Yes, that's true. However, after many hours of walking everyday the shower was fantastic! We also ate in the restaurant, breakfast and dinner, and each time had fabulous meals. Great little bar area with a good Happy Hour - delicious flatbreads and more! We also loved the location - just a block to the subway and walking distance to so much the area has to offer. Will definitely try to book there again on our next trip. We're hooked!

Room Tip: We asked for a room on a higher floor away from the elevator. They accommodated us - nice and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Debbie T,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could be a special part of your anniversary! We strive to go above in beyond in making our guests feel comfortable and we are so glad we were able to help provide relaxing accommodations during you stay. We are also happy to hear that you were able to dine at our in house restaurant, Grape & Vine, and enjoy their fantastic wine hour. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New York!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Excellent service from the concierge and pure new york style. All what u need for a week end. Ideally located room are a bit small and you can hear the room service outside or the neighbours but clearly one of my top adress in Manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Del L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

A little pricy but its worth it. Its walking distance to 5th avenue for shopping, about 10 minutes: JJill, H&M, Gap, Coach, Banana Republic, Anthropology... and more. The hotel is very charming. Rooms are small, bed wasn't very comfy but its still good, don't take me wrong. The shower is one of the best ever had.. Its powerful. Its 2 minutes to a Chiplote on the corner of 6th and W13th were you can have Burritos and beers and watch walkers! There is a little restaurant on W13 walking west towards 5th too, with nicer meals. A/C noisy and its so small you need it on all night otherwise it gets stuffy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Nancy B,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you had a great stay and that you found our location convenient in exploring local shops and restaurants. We appreciate your feedback in regards to our rooms and are glad that despite some aspects that were not to your liking, our shower was one of the best you have experienced! We hope we can welcome you back the next time you are in New York.

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed here for almost two weeks during a renovation of our apartment nearby. CAN I PLEASE MOVE IN?

This place is perfect. It's trendy and comfortable without being obnoxious. From the warm gas lamps drawing you in from the street, to the staff that are so kind and helpful.

The restaurant is pretty good, although strangely empty most the day. The room (1703) wasn't huge, but it had everything we needed: a comfortable bed, desk area, large TV, big closet, a modern bathroom, and the bonus of a killer view of downtown. The wifi situation was slightly annoying (I had to re-sign-in every few hours), but I imagine that wouldn't bother most guests.
The gym is small but sufficient, with all new equipment, so bring your workout clothes!

My only gripe is that there are 100+ rooms but only 2 elevators. Not only are the elevators slow and stop at most every floor, but at one point there was just one elevator. There were a few times when it took 10 minutes just to get out.

Overall, I loved this place and you will too!

Room Tip: 1703 had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZuzziTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear HalleAndTheWorld,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you found your stay to be perfect and comfortable! We strive to provide an exceptional and welcoming environment and are glad that you enjoyed the small touches of the hotel as well as our amenities. We appreciate all of your feedback and apologize that the speed of the elevators detracted from your stay. While we are an intimate property, we are currently working on solutions to these issues. We are glad you had a great time during your stay and hope to welcome you back the next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

If you are looking for excellence at affordable prices, look no further - The Jade Hotel (Greenwich Village, NY) is what you need. The Hotel is wonderfully furbished, rooms are spacious, comfy and fully equipped, the restaurant offers great food and an interesting crowd. The staff is extremely kind and supportive, and last but not least... the hotel smells delicious: fresh flowers are changed every day and makes you feel home every time you walk in. The borough is the best you can get in NY: walking distance from 5th Ave, Soho, Flatiron and Meatpacking. The block offers more restaurants and shops and opposite the Hotel the Silk SpA is what you need to unwind from a busy day. An excellent experience! Definitely coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesca d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin K, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Francesca d,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found both the design and comfort of our accommodations to your liking! We strive to provide an exceptionally friendly and relaxing environment and we are pleased to hear that both the staff and the small touches throughout our property made you feel welcome. We look forward to welcoming you the next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Love this place. I had the front desk help me find a lost item and sent back to me to my home! They go above and beyond.
Bedsides that the location is perfect. It's located in such a perfect area where you can easily go anywhere in the city. And the hotel itself is so charming. With it's warm lobby, generous staff, and beautiful rooms. I will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Djkhoi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#112 of 467 in New York City
596 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#147 of 467 in New York City
1,437 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#116 of 467 in New York City
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#168 of 467 in New York City
692 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#138 of 467 in New York City
1,485 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#82 of 467 in New York City
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Hotel Greenwich Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Hotel Greenwich Village

Property: Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Address: 52 W 13th St, New York City, NY 10011-7902 (Formerly The Jade Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Walker Hotel Greenwich Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village is an independent, family-owned luxury boutique hotel located in the downtown NYC neighborhood of Greenwich Village. Offering 113 guest rooms and an elevated market-to-table American restaurant, Walker Hotel truly offers visitors an authentic New York hotel experience. Centrally located, guests can easily access all major business districts and New York City attractions such as Washington Square Park, Union Square, Chelsea, SoHo and the famed Meatpacking District. Access to all major transportation and transit lines are just a few short blocks from the hotel. Designed in gorgeous art-deco décor, all guests will enjoy luxurious Frette linens, local bath amenities by C.O. Bigelow - America's oldest apothecary, complimentary WiFi, free bottled spring water (replenished daily) and complimentary local and toll free calling. Other complimentary amenities include daily New York Times, evening turndown service and personalized Concierge services. Walker Hotel Greenwich Village offers 24-hour room service and a new market-to-table American restaurant called Society Cafe by Executive Chef, Christopher Zabita. Shopping at the local Union Square Green Market 4-days per week, Chef Zabita's passion for supporting local farmers and purveyors is enjoyed by guests and locals through his seasonally driven American menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Walker Hotel Greenwich Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing