We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best customer service!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walker Hotel Greenwich Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Ranked #115 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best customer service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Love this place. I had the front desk help me find a lost item and sent back to me to my home! They go above and beyond.
Bedsides that the location is perfect. It's located in such a perfect area where you can easily go anywhere in the city. And the hotel itself is so charming. With it's warm lobby, generous staff, and beautiful rooms. I will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Djkhoi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    216
    75
    21
    10
See reviews for
147
258
44
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed two nights over Memorial Day weekend in this relaxing hotel on picturesque side street, close to Washington Square, Hi Line and Meatpacking District. Many European visitors and multilingual staff. Tasty brunch in beautifully designed dining room. Room clean and quiet on 5th floor. Criticisms include elevators constantly having breakdowns, so-called Queen-sized bed which seemed definitely double sized and somewhat cool staff. We were told elevator problems were being addressed. Will look for another boutique hotel in Village next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barb883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear barb883,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found your accommodations comfortable and our location convenient for exploring local neighborhoods. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that your experience with our elevators detracted from your stay. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to report that the issue with the elevator has been resolved. We are also incredibly disappointed that you found our staff to be cool, as we strive to employ genuinely friendly, outgoing, service-oriented individuals. We hope that should you return to New York, you might give us another try. If you would like to discuss your feedback in more detail, please feel free to contact me any time at 212.300.4425.
Sincerely,

Elizabeth M. Andrews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

It's hard to add anything to the reviews already here. I had wondered if the Jade could actually be as food as it's website suggests, but actually it is. The people are lovely, really friendly, help when you need it, but not overly intrusive when you don't. We enjoyed the Art Deco styling, and found the room comfortable and well equipped. The room is a bit on the small side, but I think that's par for the course in NYC, and a bit more storage for clothes would not go amiss. However, the beds (we had the Bedford room with two doubles) were very comfortable and we slept incredibly well. The Grape and Vine restaurant downstairs has an interesting menu, and the food is good quality and well presented. The location is ideal, just a minute from 5th avenue where regular buses take you uptown in no time, and a short walk I the other direction to all the nooks and crannies of Greenwich village. We shall definitely return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hampshirehog9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Hampshirehog9,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that your stay at The Jade exceeded your expectations! Our staff strives to provide the very best service to our guests and we are so glad that you found our team to be welcoming and friendly. We are also glad that you had a nice experience at our in house restaurant, Grape & Vine, during your stay. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you the next time you return to New York!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth M. Andrews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

It's great to be in New York and stay at a place that is not corporate (or at least doesn't feel corporate) but rather is small, cozy and embedded in a neighborhood. The rooms are perfectly adequate and rather European, AKA a bit on the small size. But who goes to New York to stay in their room? My husband and I felt perfectly comfortable, the bed and linens were great and the bathroom had a good shower. They put little treats out at turn-down service like cookies ot truffles. It's the little things that count.

More important, the staff was terrific, working very hard to make sure all was well. We travelled with my elderly mother and her aid, so there help was indeed needed and cheerfully offered. We also had brunch in the house restaurant & it was delicious!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Fran A,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that the intimate and personal touches of the hotel were to your liking and made you feel cozy throughout your stay! We try to make our guests feel at home and are happy to hear that the staff went above and beyond in assisting you. We appreciate your kind comments and hope we can welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth M. Andrews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This boutique hotel in Greenwich Village has an art deco flair, and is actually quite new. Located on West 13 street, it is conveniently located to Washington Square Park and Union Square with its greenmarket, Whole Foods, and numerous restaurants. The in-house restaurant offers very good breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner, as well as good room service. The rooms are small and well-appointed; wifi is free with sufficient outlets for your electronic devices. The staff is courteous, helpful and considerate, and anxious to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snorkelbabe243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights during a company trip, the location is great, near supermarkets, restaurants, 10 mins walk from bars and places to hang out, near Meatpacking district, High Line etc.

- Don't pay for breakfast as there are plenty places to explore near the hotel.

- Rooms were ok, normal size to small, internet/ wi-fi was working ok (10th floor), there is security all the time and didn't have any problem.

- Only issue I had with my sleep, one night the heating was extremely annoying and I am 100% sure that I didn't turn it on.

- There is also a bar-restaurant in the ground floor (Grape & Vine), had a couple of beers there.

We paid around $1,800 for 4 nights.

Room Tip: 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevebil1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place was just perfect.My sister and I agreed that everything went smooth and they make the trip so relaxing. The place is adorable and decor as cool as can be. The only con is the bar a little expensive but that's NY. And I left my curling iron and did not get it back, a very expensive one, so check before you leave my fault! Other than that I'll be back for sure great location.....

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katcrow55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#112 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#177 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#97 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#149 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Gramercy Park
W New York - Union Square
W New York - Union Square
#144 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#79 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Hotel Greenwich Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Hotel Greenwich Village

Property: Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Address: 52 W 13th St, 13th Street Between 5th & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-7902 (Formerly The Jade Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Walker Hotel Greenwich Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village is an independent downtown NYC boutique hotel located in the heart of historic Greenwich Village. The Walker Hotel Greenwich Village embodies the energy & individuality of the Village lifestyle while reflecting its charm and history. Walking distance to iconic downtown neighborhoods and attractions, guests of Walker Hotel are in easy reach of Washington Square Park, Union Square, Chelsea and the famed Meatpacking District. Catering to travelers seeking an authentic New York City hotel experience, guests of Walker Hotel Greenwich Village will enjoy complimentary WiFi, complimentary bottled water, complimentary local calling, evening turn-down service, daily newspapers, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour room service and 24-hour Concierge services. Walker Hotel's American restaurant and bar, Grape & Vine, serves market-driven fare in an elegant and artsy setting. Its sensual ambiance and engaging service is a casual chic Village oasis enjoyed by our guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Walker Hotel Greenwich Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing