We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walker Hotel Greenwich Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Ranked #101 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Loved this hotel. The location is perfect, the staff was so kind & helpful, the hotel was beautiful, and the beds were so comfortable, which was perfect after days spent walking. I would stay here again & again. In fact, I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megalicious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Megalicious22,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words about your stay and are so happy to hear that you found everything at The Jade to be perfect! Our goal is to exceed expectations and we are so glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and our location convenient to exploring New York. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    206
    73
    18
    9
See reviews for
138
248
43
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Great spot. Well located, nice Art Deco theme, rooms are a bit small but workable. Friendly, helpful staff. Good food, nice bar. I enjoyed the wifi in the lobby with my morning coffee. Elevators are slow but work.

Room Tip: Top floor rear, for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkipperDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

stayed here with some friends on a business trip.

It's Art Deco style and is plush and also a little quirky.

As expected service was good and the rooms were very comfortable if not a little dark due to the decor. That said dark is conducive to sleep!

The concierge team were great and ready to help. The hotel is in one of the cool but earthy parts of town and ideally located to immerse yourself into NYC.

Only downside I could say it the bar and restaurant were closed for private parties on two consecutive nights - which means that we couldn't use them. We could get drinks in the lobby but it's not the same.

Management ...This should be something that doesn't happen!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedevilatplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear thedevilatplay,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your accommodations provided a great night’s sleep! We strive to provide exceptional service to our guests and are happy to hear that you had a great experience with our team. We hope you will accept our sincerest apologies that you were unable to enjoy our restaurant and their great market-driven dishes and signature cocktails. Closings on consecutive nights are highly unusual and we regret that this was inconvenience during your stay. With renewed apologies, we hope to welcome you back next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Spent only one night at The Jade,attended company Christmas party nearby.We arrived quite early but a room was made available to us by pleasant front desk.Room small ,clean,attractive.After check in we had a drink at the bar,staff was great.Short walk to Union Square.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have stayed with my family for New years.
Its a lovely hotel in a very nice area with very welcoming and nice staff.
Better to stay there if you are a couple or a single travelling for business because the rooms are very small for a family. we could not fit our suitecases anywere...

Room Tip: rooms are very small. Not suitable if you are traveling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loukiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear loukiat,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay over New Year’s and that you found our location convenient and our staff welcoming. We recognize that we are a more intimate boutique hotel and we apologize that you did not find your room spacious enough for your family. We hope should you return to New York, you might give us another try.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights with my wife, great hotel and would have scored it 5 out of 5 but was slightly let down by the hotel bar staff. The door and reception staff were fantastic, very helpful, friendly and professional, the bar staff barley noticed you were there and made no effort at all, pity. The hotel is worth staying at, great location (3 blocks from subway) and near lots of great independent bars and restaurants. The rooms are also great....no complaints what so ever, will be recommending to family and friends and would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dom1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Dom1874,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as our location. We love being in the heart of Greenwich Village close to several great areas and attractions! Our staff strives to exceed guest expectations and we are disappointed that you did not find the bar staff to be as personable as our front of house staff. We do appreciate your feedback regarding our staff, as it helps us to continue to improve the experience of The Jade. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I spent a lot of time researching hotels in NYC before I booked the Jade. I wanted somewhere cool and comfortable that was close to downtown bars and restaurants without being too far from midtown for one or two touristy things. The Jade ticked all of our boxes and we were really happy with our choice. It's decorated beautifully and unlike some other boutique hotels is also quiet, comfortable and friendly. Yes, the room wasn't big but we went for the smallest category and it was bigger than others in Manhattan. Staff were very helpful and we couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelsizeBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#116 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#179 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#98 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#174 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Gramercy Park
W New York - Union Square
W New York - Union Square
#151 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,296 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#91 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Hotel Greenwich Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Hotel Greenwich Village

Property: Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Address: 52 West 13th Street, 13th Street Between 5th & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10011 (Formerly The Jade Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Walker Hotel Greenwich Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village is an independent downtown NYC boutique hotel located in the heart of historic Greenwich Village. The Walker Hotel Greenwich Village embodies the energy & individuality of the Village lifestyle while reflecting its charm and history. Walking distance to iconic downtown neighborhoods and attractions, guests of Walker Hotel are in easy reach of Washington Square Park, Union Square, Chelsea and the famed Meatpacking District. Catering to travelers seeking an authentic New York City hotel experience, guests of Walker Hotel Greenwich Village will enjoy complimentary WiFi, complimentary bottled water, complimentary local calling, evening turn-down service, daily newspapers, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour room service and 24-hour Concierge services. Walker Hotel's American restaurant and bar, Grape & Vine, serves market-driven fare in an elegant and artsy setting. Its sensual ambiance and engaging service is a casual chic Village oasis enjoyed by our guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Walker Hotel Greenwich Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing