We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Ranked #119 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and great value for money”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I spent a lot of time researching hotels in NYC before I booked the Jade. I wanted somewhere cool and comfortable that was close to downtown bars and restaurants without being too far from midtown for one or two touristy things. The Jade ticked all of our boxes and we were really happy with our choice. It's decorated beautifully and unlike some other boutique hotels is also quiet, comfortable and friendly. Yes, the room wasn't big but we went for the smallest category and it was bigger than others in Manhattan. Staff were very helpful and we couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelsizeBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    269
    97
    28
    16
See reviews for
209
323
56
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, TX
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My family stayed at the Jade Hotel from Dec. 26-31, 2013. Although it's a new building, it feels like it has long belonged to the neighborhood. The decor/design elements are quite impressive in the lobby, bar, restaurant, and rooms. You can tell they paid a lot of attention to details.

Our room had two beds, and was comfortable but small (which you would expect in NYC). We had a great view of the Freedom Tower from our room on the 17th floor. We were most surprised at how quiet it was in our room, which was a first for us in the city. (We suspect that the quiet room was a benefit of modern construction and insulation.)

The location of the hotel is the best. We were just a short walk from three subway stations (14th St, Union Square, and 4th St), where we could catch trains on 5 different lines. Very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear philprof,

Thank you for your review and your kind words! We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Jade and that you found our location so convenient in exploring New York. Our building was designed with an authentic Greenwich Village feel in mind, and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the décor and attention to detail. We hope we can welcome you back next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great hotel with a lovely location in GW! Small rooms, but the staff was nice and the design was warm and nice :) I`ll definitively stay here next time I`m going to NY again. Easy access to all of manhattan with the subway-station next door, and a nice neighbourhood with lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great service, beautifully decorated and good location. I expect a smaller room whenever I visit New York City, but this room was ridiculously small. The closet and storage space is virtually nonexistent, yet there is a lot of opportunity to improve. They need to get a designer in that knows how to utilize space.
I would stay again, but only for a couple of nights. Too small for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite to get a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HitonHead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear HitonHead1,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and apologize that you did not find the rooms to be spacious enough. While we are a small property, we will certainly discuss these comments to our team for any future improvements. However, we are glad that you enjoyed the service as well as the hotel décor and we hope you will give us another try next time you are in New York.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Fabulous intimate hotel that is in a great location. The staff are warm and friendly and really make you feel welcome. The rooms are quaint and the bed very comfortable. I was there for 11 nights and never tired of it. My adult daughter joined me for a week and loved it too. The restaurant served one of the best burgers that my New Yorker friends had ever eaten. They are going back! Also for the great cocktails in the lounge! Amazing stay can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of hotel are slightly longer which gives you more space for couples. I moved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Amanda M,

Thank you for your review and your kind words about The Jade! We are thrilled that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you found your accommodations comfortable and relaxing. We are also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our restaurant Grape & Vine and will definitely pass along your praise for the burger! We hope we can welcome you back to The Jade soon!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My short stay here was great. I really liked the interior design, very unique and it felt really cozy. The French lady at the desk was really helpful and genuinly kind. Definitely I would recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madelecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

As a business man who travels over 150 days a year it is always a pleasure to find a small oasis of charm and good grace within the hectic, never-ending speed of NYC! And the staff of the JADE certainly creates such a great atmosphere. From the moment one arrives and is greeted by Brian's smile at the door to being checked in by Annika or one of the top flight attendants, the guest feels "at home." Everything about this boutique hotel says "service" whether it is a cappuccino offered up by the cozy fireplace on a cold, brisk NYC wintry afternoon or just a warm smile by one of the many fine concierge - the JADE makes my days in NYC as comfortable as possible. It is truly a hidden gem right in the heart of Greenwich Village!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ric_923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#114 of 467 in New York City
590 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#149 of 467 in New York City
1,417 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#120 of 467 in New York City
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#164 of 467 in New York City
683 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#78 of 467 in New York City
875 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#140 of 467 in New York City
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Hotel Greenwich Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Hotel Greenwich Village

Property: Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Address: 52 W 13th St, New York City, NY 10011-7902 (Formerly The Jade Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Walker Hotel Greenwich Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village is an independent, family-owned luxury boutique hotel located in the downtown NYC neighborhood of Greenwich Village. Offering 113 guest rooms and an elevated market-to-table American restaurant, Walker Hotel truly offers visitors an authentic New York hotel experience. Centrally located, guests can easily access all major business districts and New York City attractions such as Washington Square Park, Union Square, Chelsea, SoHo and the famed Meatpacking District. Access to all major transportation and transit lines are just a few short blocks from the hotel. Designed in gorgeous art-deco décor, all guests will enjoy luxurious Frette linens, local bath amenities by C.O. Bigelow - America's oldest apothecary, complimentary WiFi, free bottled spring water (replenished daily) and complimentary local and toll free calling. Other complimentary amenities include daily New York Times, evening turndown service and personalized Concierge services. Walker Hotel Greenwich Village offers 24-hour room service and a new market-to-table American restaurant called Society Cafe by Executive Chef, Christopher Zabita. Shopping at the local Union Square Green Market 4-days per week, Chef Zabita's passion for supporting local farmers and purveyors is enjoyed by guests and locals through his seasonally driven American menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Walker Hotel Greenwich Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing