We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the West Village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Ranked #108 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I live in the area and stayed there recently while some renovations were being done on my apartment. The rooms are small but full of deco charm. The bed was comfortable and the bedding was fresh and luxurious. The bathrooms are bright and a good size with products from the local, well known Bigelow apothecary. We were lucky enough to have the terrace room with great views. The lobby is very welcoming and with a cool vibe and the staff was very friendly. I've had drinks and appetizers at Grape and Vine, the restaurant in the hotel, and its really good. I'd go there even if I wasn't staying there. My parents (in their 80's) stayed there when they came to town and were equally impressed. They said it was the best part of the trip! And I might be biased but I think the location is perfect - great for walking to Washington Square Park, Chelsea Market, and High Line and Meatpacking area and galleries. Away from the hustle and bustle of midtown but an easy bus or subway ride uptown. There are Citibikes right down the block if you are feeling adventurous. A gem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear travel58,

Thank you so much for your review and your kind words. We are thrilled to hear that both you and your parents had such an enjoyable stay at The Jade. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our Hudson Queen with the lovely garden patio and all the local amenities. We love our location too and we are glad you found it so convenient for exploring the local areas. We hope to welcome you back to The Jade soon.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

I wish I could give this a 4.5 star as this is quite a nice property. The hotel has been opened very recently and has still has a very new feel to it. We stayed here or two nights on August and were pleased with the location, services, and upkeep of the property.

We had a room on the 16th floor which had an unexpected view of the New York skyline and the Empire State Building in particular. The rooms are small but well appointed and comfortable, as is the bathroom which had a nice powerful shower.

The only slight negative was during check in when the person at the desk kept us waiting as incoming calls were given priority over fatigued travellers waiting to get to their room. Besides that one person, service was above par.

We would recommend this hotel over many others we have used in New York.

Room Tip: We liked our high floor room with a view on the road towards the Empire State Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rimary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was my first time visit to New York, and I am so glad we chose the Jade Hotel. You can't beat the location -- it's very close to Union Square and Greenwich Village. The room was very comfortable. There were four of us sharing one room, and at first glance we thought the room would be too small. This actually wasn't an issue at all, as we rarely spent time in the room. The hotel staff was excellent -- very attentive and helpful. They helped us with directions and getting us a car service for a really early departure. We did encounter one issue with the air conditioning, but they resolved this quickly and moved us to a new room. I definitely will stay here again for my return visit to NY.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heyitsmejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Reall was a good choice! the hotel, the neighborough.everything perfect.... room not so big, but easy and comfortable! I did not notice this problem with elevators... not really so slow , maybe we used them in right hours...
Professional Staff for everything......surely wish to come back again!

Room Tip: we had 1407.. a room with a great view on the Empire State Building!! GREAT.. no rumors at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lapat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a glorious cooler weekend in August. We were lucky to score one of three rooms in the hotel with a terrace. So nice to sit outdoors and read and sip a little wine. What a pleasant surprise. Room was spacious by New York standards, clean and comfy. Only complaint was the shower. For some reason there was nowhere to put your soap or toiletries. Our friends were in the adjacent room and said they had some sort of shower caddy. We inquired at the desk but our concern was not addressed. We had lunch at Grape & Vine in the hotel. There is a fabulous lunch special, three courses for $20. You can choose from salad, omelette, chicken, etc. Quite a bargain and everything was delicious. Our server was efficient and pleasant. Loved the location of the hotel and the bellmen were great guys. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Passwordnotavailable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fantastic location - close to Union Square and Greenwich village. Subway lines close. Great view of the Empire State building from our room. Comfortable bed! Very stylish decor. Quick response to a small problem - We had a problem with our shower flooding the bathroom and this was quickly fixed which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chinataylors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Got a good early booker rate for a Hudson Queen Suite with your own private terrace when I booked in April. Seemed nice to have some outdoor space when visiting New York during the summer. The price was only just above 100$ more than for a regular room for three nights.

But apparently there was a bit of a problem calling the room a suite so some time after we booked the website changed the name and just called it a Deluxe room. When arriving we noticed why, size-wise I'm guessing the regular rooms are not much smaller and in a suite you at least expect a livingroom area and a more spacious feel. This room (201) was as small as your average New York hotel room and changing the description seemed appropriate, although It would've been better not calling it a suite from the start.

The terrace of course was quite nice, but it was towards the back yard and not much sun reached it until later in the afternoon since it was on the second floor. I've read reviews of people having views of the Empire State Building, but maybe those we're not from the Hudson Queen Deluxe in particular? I'm not sure if they changed the description to "garden view" after I booked or if it was there from the start, but If I had known I probably would've just a booked regular room with chances of a better view.

Still, the room was beautiful. Great bed, okay pillows and wonderfully designed bathroom with ℅ Bigelow bath products. Nice to stay in a new hotel that really feels new.

Being slightly disappointed with the size of the room, it not being a suite when paying for a suite, and the terrace not facing the street was not a big letdown when the interior and feel of this hotel was so good in every other way. Location just perfect. Stayed at the Mondrian in Soho earlier this year and I really don't like the hustle and bustle of the Soho streets close to that hotel. Here you're in a calm setting, just by 6th Avenue and a lot of good breakfast spots. Also you're just a few blocks from Union Square and not far from Washington Square Park. The Jade Hotel has probably the best location for any hotel I've stayed at in New York if you really like the downtown brownstone feel.

Front desk staff and bell boy were kind and helpful and If I get this good deal again, we'll probably stay here next time. But in a regular room I'm guessing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mozzer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#119 of 469 in New York City
614 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#140 of 469 in New York City
1,460 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#112 of 469 in New York City
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W New York - Union Square
#155 of 469 in New York City
1,502 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#209 of 469 in New York City
708 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#93 of 469 in New York City
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Hotel Greenwich Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Hotel Greenwich Village

Address: 52 W 13th St, New York City, NY 10011-7902 (Formerly The Jade Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $288 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Walker Hotel Greenwich Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village is an independent, family-owned luxury boutique hotel located in the downtown NYC neighborhood of Greenwich Village. Offering 113 guest rooms and an elevated market-to-table American restaurant, Walker Hotel truly offers visitors an authentic New York hotel experience. Centrally located, guests can easily access all major business districts and New York City attractions such as Washington Square Park, Union Square, Chelsea, SoHo and the famed Meatpacking District. Access to all major transportation and transit lines are just a few short blocks from the hotel. Designed in gorgeous art-deco décor, all guests will enjoy luxurious Frette linens, local bath amenities by C.O. Bigelow - America's oldest apothecary, complimentary WiFi, free bottled spring water (replenished daily) and complimentary local and toll free calling. Other complimentary amenities include daily New York Times, evening turndown service and personalized Concierge services. Walker Hotel Greenwich Village offers 24-hour room service and a new market-to-table American restaurant called Society Cafe by Executive Chef, Christopher Zabita. Shopping at the local Union Square Green Market 4-days per week, Chef Zabita's passion for supporting local farmers and purveyors is enjoyed by guests and locals through his seasonally driven American menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Walker Hotel Greenwich Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing