We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walker Hotel Greenwich Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Ranked #112 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stylish and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Staff were welcoming and helpful, room clean and well laid out (usual small NY size), good toiletries and not too many other fussy things in the room. Location is great - away from the main tourist areas but easy to get around and Greenwich is just round the corner. Restaurant and bar quite pricey, and a bit too dark in the evenings, but again the service was very good. Definitely one of the best I've stayed at in NY, would choose The Jade again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieFulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Fulton,

Thank you so much for your review and your kind words. We are so excited to hear that your stay at The Jade was one of your best stays in New York! We are also glad to hear that you found the staff friendly and the location convenient.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    258
    84
    26
    14
See reviews for
182
317
51
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We spent three nights in the Jade and we loved everything about this stylish boutique hotel. We had never stayed in the area before and were bowled over by the location, atmosphere and vibe in Greenwich VIllage. The staff in the hotel were friendly, efficient and went out of their way to please. We stayed in a suite and our view was Amazing, looking out on the Empire State Building, it doesn't get much better !! If like us you like a smaller,unique and personable hotel you have to try the Jade. We thought it was Fab and will most certainly book in on our next trip to New York.

Room Tip: We booked a suite with balcony and our view was looking at the Empire State Building. Defiantly wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jm2560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in July. There was a heat wave. Room 1705 (a"Greenwich Suite")was intolerably hot. The hotel was full. The staff looked at the air conditioner and shrugged. Two nights later we were in 1805, but after one night, it too was hotter than the stated outdoor temperature. At that point the staff seemed to blame us, though they clearly noted the problem. I suspect that there is a design flaw in the air conditioning as it is located in the bathroom ceiling in these rooms. It is possible humidity condenses and freezes on the exchange pipes hidden in the ceiling. Perhaps it is an underpowered system for the upper floors. The staff was professional but indifferent to us. A manager or supervisor was never available to discuss the problem with us.
Room service was great. Location excellent. Would not recommend summer stays until they sort out the air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLOspeed2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear SLOspeed2013,

Thank you for your feedback. We are deeply sorry that issues with room temperature affected the enjoyment of your stay and we have reached out through email to try to resolve these issues with you.

We are so sorry that problems with air conditioning caused your stay to be unpleasant and that you were met by indifference from the staff. We take these complaints very seriously and are in the process of ensuring that each air conditioning unit works efficiently. We strive to take the very best care of each guest and we find the reaction of our staff to these issues unacceptable. Certainly these issues are our fault, and not yours.

We are glad to hear that you did enjoy the room service and location and hope that should you return to New York you might give us another try.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our stay at the Jade Hotel was enjoyable.
It's located close to the cool Greenwich village that has neat places to go at night- resturants, bar, music, comedy etc.. and far enough away from the overly busy Time Square (which I might add is extremely overrated) and other such places. However should you want to see these places it's a short taxi or subway ride from the hotel.
Staff were extremely helpful and accommodating.. any questions we had, they had the time to spare to help us.

Only slight negative was the rooms were very small and for some reason very full of furniture I didn't see the point in, which only made the space seem even smaller.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is fairly new on the scene - open about 6 months we were told. We chose it based on reviews here, because we prefer smaller boutique hotels to the big chains, and for its location. We had two events on our schedule, one on the upper west side and the other in Brooklyn (on the L). The Jade is within a block of the 14th street subway station which serves both lines, so it seemed an obvious location for us. We were very pleased. Our room was on the 15th floor (7 rooms per floor), overlooking 13th street. Very quiet! The rooms are small (to be expected in Manhattan), but well-designed in Art Deco style with all the amenities, including free internet access. The big plus here is the hosting staff. The front desk staff printed out our airline boarding passes for us at no charge and made reservations for us at the 9/11 Memorial; the bellmen hailed cabs and gave us good advice about restaurants. Even the turn-down lady gave exemplary service. Special shout-out to the bellman Michael, who was helpful and welcoming above-and-beyond. The West Village is thriving and bustling, with loads of restaurants within easy walking distance of the Jade. Easy walk to Union Square also. We did not try the in-house restaurant, so I can't comment on that. If you're looking for a smallish property in the Village with good personal service, I recommend the Jade.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaRoadTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words.

We are thrilled to hear that you were pleased with The Jade and found our location so convenient. We strive to take great care of each guest and are so glad that you found our staff helpful and welcoming.

We hope to welcome you back to The Jade soon.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here at the end of July for a 5 night stay. Rooms are not large but are perfectly adequate. We moved a few things around and were then able to fit two large Samsonite suitcases in the room. All staff are very friendly. We had breakfast downstairs on our first morning and it was fine but like other people who've stayed here found there were good, cheap options nearby - Murray's Bagels around the corner has $2.50 bagels which are enormous the diner around the corner on 6th Avenue is also great value. We also tried GustOrganics which is nearby - the beef fajitas were to die for and very well priced. All in all the hotel is in a great location (subway nearby), excellent food choices around the corner, a nail place also around the corner had a $20 special for a mani/pedi - which was perfect after a hard day's shopping. Would definitely stay here again. Also our room was very quiet - no street noise at all and we were on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queens, ny
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Amazing quaint experience in the heart of the city, they have created a step back in time with their design and architecture. The lobby creates a very homely and laid back feel, it took a few seconds to zone in on the front desk. The room faced 13th St, which is relatively quiet for Manhattan, was small, but, efficiently laid out. The bathroom was surprising large, with all new fixtures from Waterworks. The shower was oversized but was strange not having a shower door for privacy. The room temperature was either hot or cold, it was a little frustrating balancing the air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seasunblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#113 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#162 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#186 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Hotel Greenwich Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Hotel Greenwich Village

Property: Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Address: 52 W 13th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Formerly The Jade Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Walker Hotel Greenwich Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village is an independent luxury boutique hotel located in the downtown NYC neighborhood of Greenwich Village. Offering 113 guest rooms, Walker Hotel offers visitors an authentic New York experience. Centrally located, guests can easily access all major business districts and New York City attractions such as Washington Square Park, Union Square, Chelsea, SoHo and the famed Meatpacking District. Access to all major transportation and transit lines are just a few short blocks from the hotel. All guests of Walker Hotel Greenwich Village will enjoy custom designed guest rooms complete with luxurious Frette linens, local bath amenities by C.O. Bigelow - America's oldest apothecary and complimentary WiFi internet and bottled spring water daily. Guests will also receive complimentary local and toll-free calling, a free digital subscription to the New York Times, as well as evening turn-down housekeeping service. Walker Hotel Greenwich Village offers 24-hour room service, 24-hour Concierge services as well as a 24-hour fitness center. Beginning November 2016, Walker Hotel is excited to announce the debut of Society Cafe, a New American restaurant and bar from the award-winning Executive Chef Christopher Zabita! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Walker Hotel Greenwich Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing