We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Ranked #109 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place is fantastic!
From the second you hit the door great people like Keron McDonald treat you like family. More than a welcome hello, he is incredibly helpful in explaining hotel amenities and the neighborhood. The GM, Bourke also is awesome. Small, boutique hotel in great location that is hip and clean.
My favorite NYC hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    266
    93
    27
    15
See reviews for
202
323
54
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a fabulous view of the Empire State Building from our room which was a plus to the huge minus of our very very tiny room!! The hotel is fairly new and there was a few teething problems, faulty lift causing huge tail backs and cramped lifts, so bad I got out and walk the 14 floors. We also paid cash for some bits in the restaurant and they were then charged again to the room. Lots of little problems but it is a very nice place in a great area so hopefully they will iron out the small things. I would stay again if I was guaranteed a bigger room, ours was just silly small, nowhere to put my case and hardly any hanging space!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crawley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I loved the atmosphere of this small hotel. It was like you were in the TV show Cheers. The staff was excellent and friendly. The bar is nice and can be somewhat happening. The only thing we wish we had was more space, but other than that, we loved it. Bathroom is lovely but had no place to put toiletries. Lighting is not great for makeup application. All that pales in comparison to the way we were treated while there.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LJDobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed in Jade 6 nights.First of all-the bad thing from begining was bad start with the man from reception...I think that he could keep his personal opinion for himself and not share that with his attitude towards client..person who stayed with me was treated lovely but me i felt whole stay that there is something...Anyhow-the rest was fine.People from other parts like house keeping.room service and doormans were very pleasant and polite,always there for your comfort..Rooms were nice,lovely details but quite small..If you are stayimg for longer time you want so,ehow unpck t least little bit but there was no place for that,just very small wardrobe..But to be honest-it is very nice and charming hotel but small details make big things and in case that they are still very new they should learn quickly because they have great potentional but at the moment servis doesnt worth the price...And as i said-we were quite dissapointed how visible was that attitude of guy from reception...What a pitty because i would like to stay there once again-the rest of stuff just really make you feel like at home and treat you very nicely..
I wish to this hotel all the best and hope in future with better service we can again stay there:)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourke L, Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Ivy999,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us although it disappoints me dearly to hear that you did not have the great experience we strive for. We agree with you that it is the little things that will make us great and that is why we are particularly embarrassed to hear that we dropped the ball at the beginning of your stay. I would greatly appreciate it if you could contact me to share more details about your experience so that we may learn from it and improve. I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,

Bourke Lee
Assistant General Manager
blee@theJadeNYC.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We booked this hotel as we had a blitz of press meetings. We had lots of product delivered here ahead and it was waiting for us when we arrived. The double double was perfect. Such a cool bathroom too. Very comfy beds and really quiet and restful. We asked staff to courier product to journalists and all kinds of requests over and above the norm they bent over backwards to help us. At the end of a long day the lobby is so relaxing and we ate in grape and vine which was delicious and listened to jazz with champagne. It was bustling and atmospheric. We felt like we were on holiday!! We will be returning here in Sept for our next visit stateside!!!! The interiors are amazing too

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clairerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Haven, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in a Greenwich Penthouse & had a great view of the city. The lobby is very comfortable and looks like it has been there for years. They did a beautiful job making a new hotel feel warm and comfortable. The room was smaller than we expected, the shower spills water on to the floor & the elevators were a little slow. The decor was really nice & the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I recently spent 4 nights at The Jade. I opted for a queen-bedded Greenwich Penthouse room on the 18th floor, and I'm glad that I did because the bedroom area was still a bit cramped. There was only a small set of drawers inside the wardrobe, which made it a challenge to unpack as fully as I would have liked. The bathroom with separate deep tub and shower was on the larger side and nicely appointed. The bed was quite comfortable.

There are two elevators; one was out of service during part of our stay. Even when both were operating, the wait for one to arrive on the 18th floor could take a couple of minutes. Due to the elevator situation, and thinking about a future stay, I did look at a room (perhaps a "Hudson Queen") on the second floor that I had considered when booking because I understood that some rooms on the second floor had a walk-out garden/patio area; however, the one that I saw had just a small walk-out concrete patio without any furniture. Perhaps there are plans to put some furniture out there or to landscape each patio. Aside from its easier access to the lobby and restaurant (e.g., stairs), there would have been no benefit in choosing one of those rooms over the penhouse rooms on the 18th floor. In fact, I greatly preferred the room that we had. We did have a small walk-out balcony off of our room, and the views from there, which you could also see from the bed, were quite nice (Chrysler Bdlg, Empire State, 1 Bryant Park Tower), especially at night. If I were to return, I would request our room or the one next to it, both of which face uptown.

The location of The Jade is very convenient, as there are numerous subway lines within walking distance on 14th. Taxis are great and plentiful, but I found that it was generally much faster to just use the subway. Union Square, the Meatpacking District, and Soho are all within walking distance, and there are plenty of great restaurants close by. In part, I chose this hotel due to its proximity to the L line so that it would be easy for family coming in from Brooklyn to meet us for dinner, but it was also very convenient for getting up to Columbia, The Cloisters, the theater district, etc.

An area for improvement concerns the breakfast that can be included in your room rate. While the rate that I booked did not include breakfast, I did ask about it when we arrived and opted to have it included at $15 per person/day. (Murray's Bagels around the corner is another option). Apparently the restaurant and the hotel are separately operated, as each day it was a new adventure to confirm that we did have the breakfast plan, and to determine what it did or didn't cover. The hotel and the restaurant need to have a sit-down to iron this out, as it makes no sense to reinvent the wheel each day. Having said that, the breakfast itself was very good.

Overall, I was pleased with The Jade and would recommend it for its location and boutique hotel ambiance.

Room Tip: I'd recommend a Greenwich Penthouse on the 18th floor, preferable on the uptown side so as to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Out-of-SFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip C, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are very glad that you would recommend The Jade. We have been improving our communications between our departments and are always looking to provide higher levels of service. The Greenwich Penthouse is also my favorite room because of the views of the Empire State Building. During your next visit you may also want to try the Barrow Queen with bay windows overlooking a busy tree-lined Village street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#113 of 468 in New York City
582 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#149 of 468 in New York City
1,402 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#119 of 468 in New York City
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#196 of 468 in New York City
670 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#142 of 468 in New York City
1,471 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#86 of 468 in New York City
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Hotel Greenwich Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Hotel Greenwich Village

Property: Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Address: 52 W 13th St, New York City, NY 10011-7902 (Formerly The Jade Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Walker Hotel Greenwich Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village is an independent, family-owned luxury boutique hotel located in the downtown NYC neighborhood of Greenwich Village. Offering 113 guest rooms and an elevated market-to-table American restaurant, Walker Hotel truly offers visitors an authentic New York hotel experience. Centrally located, guests can easily access all major business districts and New York City attractions such as Washington Square Park, Union Square, Chelsea, SoHo and the famed Meatpacking District. Access to all major transportation and transit lines are just a few short blocks from the hotel. Designed in gorgeous art-deco décor, all guests will enjoy luxurious Frette linens, local bath amenities by C.O. Bigelow - America's oldest apothecary, complimentary WiFi, free bottled spring water (replenished daily) and complimentary local and toll free calling. Other complimentary amenities include daily New York Times, evening turndown service and personalized Concierge services. Walker Hotel Greenwich Village offers 24-hour room service and a new market-to-table American restaurant called Society Cafe by Executive Chef, Christopher Zabita. Shopping at the local Union Square Green Market 4-days per week, Chef Zabita's passion for supporting local farmers and purveyors is enjoyed by guests and locals through his seasonally driven American menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Walker Hotel Greenwich Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing