We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Ranked #92 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was 7 days in the New Jade Hotel in greenwich Village. What can I say. Clean Hotel, Amazing people works there, beautiful place, near to 6th av where you can take easily subway or bus, in the heart of the great city!!!
I normally stays in medium price hotels in NYC, rates like Jade, and comparing is hard to find that kind of clean and nice rooms in the City. the restaurant - bar is good too, I like everything in this hotel. They should speed up the elevators, sometimes are too slow, but that can be easily change.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

911 - 917 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

My son and I stayed in the Jade for five nights while he was visiting New York colleges. The Jade is a delightful hotel with a splendid location in the village. Located in easy walking distance of both Union Square and Washington Square Park, it was the perfect base to explore lower Manhattan. Both NYU and the New School are close by. Abundant subway stations are with a block or two. The rooms are very small but quite nice and the hallways can get very crowded when the cleaning staff is at work. But the staff is friendly, professional and very helpful. My only serious complaint is about the elevators. This is a very new hotel and I suspect the elevator program needs some tweaking, the waits in the lobby were interminable while two elevators would be stopped on the same floor. Our room, a double on the 10th floor, was quiet and very clean.The bathroom was tiny but very well appointed. I think it would be the perfect hotel for a romantic getaway weekend but I don't think I would recommend it for family trips--the rooms are simply too small for children.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdh1716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was recently suprised by my boyfriend with a two night stay at the lovely new Jade Hotel.
On arrival (after the most horrific 24 hour journey) at 8.30am we were greeted by very friendly and welcoming reception staff and although we were prepaired to venture back out into the cold to while away a couple of hours until check in, our room was already ready and waiting, which couldnt have been more welcome.
I vaguely remember saying that the bed was like falling asleep on clouds before passing out for three hours!
The bed is large and super comfortable, the room is decorated in an art deco style and is very kool, if not a little on the small side, the bathroom is stylish and clean with a lovely strong shower and expensive toilettries and there is free mineral water which was a nice touch (although no mini bar). The only negatives about the room would be that it was indeed quite small, which for us was not a problem, but should you stay longer than two nights and wished to unpack might cause problems. The walls are paper thin... we could hear another couple talking quite clearly through the wall, which we thought was rather entertaining but others might find irritating. Lastly, some of the fixtures were a little tempramental... the toilet flush fell off the wall and one of the bedside light bulbs didn't work. However having said this when we alerted the staff of the problem they came to sort it straight away for us.

We did not eat in the restaurant but the food looked great... We did have a drink in the bar which was very cosy with low lighting and a very personal feel to it, the bar tender on duty was very attentive and generous which was greatly appreciated.

The location was impeccible, on a nice quiet street only a couple of minutes walk from three subway stops and the famous union square and Washing Square, lots of restaurants, shops a cinema - everything you could need really.

All in all we had a really lovely stay at The Jade and I would definitely go back again should I return to New York, and have already recommended it to a friend as a stop to include on her Honeymoon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CobblesComments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip C, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for choosing The Jade Hotel Greenwich Village for your two night getaway in New York City. The was our pleasure to provide you the quality accommodations and services you enjoyed during your stay. Thank you for your feedback. We will look into improving soundproofing and pay special attention to the fixtures. We hope you you have a chance to try the great American cuisine at our Grape & Vine Restaurant during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a great staff at the Front desk! they try to help you with everything you need and are very nice!
The other staff, for example House keeping is not very helpful and a little messi.
The day you are leaving they keep asking you at the morning when you are going to leave the room constantly.
Yesterday at 9.30 pm the hotel was using the Elevator for the trash. There are only two Elevators and i think 20 floors...this should not happen in a good hotel and not at 9 pm, when everyone is trying to go up and down....maybe they still have to work some things out...is still very new.
The rooms are Rey small and in some of them the shower doesnt have a step, so water is everywhere, when you take a shower...
In the breakfastroom runs a cold Wind that they are not able to control. This makes te breakfastroom uncomfortable....

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sapito1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip C, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

I apologize for the housekeeping issues you had to experience during your stay. We are dedicated to improve upon all our services to ensure our guests are not inconvenienced. Housekeeping is never to keep the elevators locked for any reason during those times, and I have addressed this with our team. The heating has also been repaired in the Grape & Vine Restaurant due to early mechanical problems during opening. I am sure that you will experience the service and accommodations you expect and deserve if you provide us the opportunity during your next visit to New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a treat to stay in a new (clean!) hotel in the heart of the city! The staff at the hotel are outstanding, easily accommodating all requests and helping us secure some excellent dining reservations. We stayed in a double/double room. The beds are small but very comfortable, however the room was very cramped for two people...by any international standards. Still, it was clean and quiet and our 15the floor window offered a great view of the south end of Manhattan. I used a car service to the airport ordered by the hotel which ended up costing 25% more than the "guaranteed" price quoted by the hotel. Do not use this service, yellow cabs are plentiful and offer better value.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank MmeMac_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip C, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We take pride in recommending the "in the know" local Greenwich Village hot spots to enhance your dining and exploring experience. We expect the transportation services we are partnered with to provide the same level of service you expect at The Jade Hotel and will ensure that the prices the hotel quotes to our guests are honored. We have recently removed one of these vendors due to guest feedback and will only work with partners that provide excellent service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just spent a night at the hotel and I am in love. My room was on the 17th floor and the view was gorgeous! Loved the 1930's feel of the hotel with the techno touches of today! It is a new hotel and you can tell that they have just opened but I think this hotel will be a NY classic!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveltheworldfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful lobby, outstanding room, great location. Loved the service and all the nice little touches everywhere. The classy decor includes many details. Only complaint: thin room doors so I could hear people in the hallway. But I did enjoy my stay. Price point won't stay for long so get in while you can! Will return!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank af847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#115 of 471 in New York City
628 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#140 of 471 in New York City
1,500 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#103 of 471 in New York City
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#68 of 471 in New York City
697 reviews
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#94 of 471 in New York City
667 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#83 of 471 in New York City
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Hotel Greenwich Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Hotel Greenwich Village

Address: 52 W 13th St, New York City, NY 10011-7902 (Formerly The Jade Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $246 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Walker Hotel Greenwich Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village is an independent, family-owned luxury boutique hotel located in the downtown NYC neighborhood of Greenwich Village. Offering 113 guest rooms and an elevated market-to-table American restaurant, Walker Hotel truly offers visitors an authentic New York hotel experience. Centrally located, guests can easily access all major business districts and New York City attractions such as Washington Square Park, Union Square, Chelsea, SoHo and the famed Meatpacking District. Access to all major transportation and transit lines are just a few short blocks from the hotel. Designed in gorgeous art-deco décor, all guests will enjoy luxurious Frette linens, local bath amenities by C.O. Bigelow - America's oldest apothecary, complimentary WiFi, free bottled spring water (replenished daily) and complimentary local and toll free calling. Other complimentary amenities include daily New York Times, evening turndown service and personalized Concierge services. Walker Hotel Greenwich Village offers 24-hour room service and a new market-to-table American restaurant called Society Cafe by Executive Chef, Christopher Zabita. Shopping at the local Union Square Green Market 4-days per week, Chef Zabita's passion for supporting local farmers and purveyors is enjoyed by guests and locals through his seasonally driven American menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Walker Hotel Greenwich Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing