We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must see for everyone!”

Doug Fox's 9/11 Memorial and World Trade Center Tour
Ranked #80 of 595 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walking tour of the 9/11 Memorial and World trade Center site with a focus on history, architecture and current developments. Doug Fox is an engaging tour guide and very knowledgeable about both the original and new World Trade Center. Tour includes access to the 9/11 Memorial.
Clarksville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must see for everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Everyone needs to see this. We went when it was still under construction. We had set aside 1 1/2 hours. Clearly not enough time. It was such a humbling experience. We need to be reminded of the cowardly attack on our great nation and the countless people who lost there lives in this horrific attack. Somber and humbled was how I left. Not all my family was able to go when we went so we are planning another vacation so all can go. This is a must see.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    12
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Went on mothers day. What a beautiful way to spend the day. Slight wind blowing making the water spray from the fountains dance and sway beaming a bright colorful rainbow! Flowers left laying beautifully by loved ones engraved names, the survivor tree standing tall and firm! Tastefully done to memorialize those taken so tragically. Video in visitor center of people telling their stories. Museum to open around 2014 with metal frame parts from the original building. Can't wait to go back to visit when it is opened! Tickets are free...very handicap accessible...staff went above and beyond to assist those in need, wheel chairs are provided.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank smederlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Personalized & Very Knowledgable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Having been part of an excellent architectural tour of Manhattan (by boat), it made perfect sense to sign up on Doug's website for his exploration of "Ground Zero" and the area surrounding the World Trade Center site. We weren't disappointed.

Doug brought a very personal touch to our tour, patiently responding to our myriad questions, showing us large-scale drawings and photos of key locations as we came upon them, and offering what felt like a very personalized experience: fresh, relevant, and enthusiastic.

Doug is a natural instructor, guide... and a native New Yorker with anecdotes galore!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ExAppleRetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, Usa
1 review
“9/11 Memorial and World Trade Center Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Doug did a great job. I really appreciated the large posters of old pictures, diagrams, blueprints, etc. he used throughout the tour to help us visualize what he was talking about. He is very knowledgable about the the world trade center's history and NYC's history in general. Being on this tour will also let you skip the majority of the line outside the 9/11 memorial which is always nice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“1 Hour tour - Best value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I took Doug's one hour tour of the memorial. Fortunately I had met Doug before so I knew who to look for at the start of the tour - look for a slim man with a big portfolio slung over his shoulder. You'll find out what's in the portfolio later.
Doug shepherds you through the entry-way to the memorial. Thanks to his pre- purchase of tickets, you get the fast lane. Yes, you may spend 20 mins getting through the entry and security, but this doesn't come off the tour. Doug is very generous with his time - and information. Standing in the queue Doug starts to talk about the surrounds and the history of the area, so when you get inside you are better acquainted with the site. Then the portfolio is opened and out come photos of the area before (long before and more recently) to give you context. Similarly later, Doug has pictures of the winning schemes and other ideas to give you more perspective as he talks about each aspect of the site.
A quick tour, but Doug is generous and crams in facts and stories, so it's great value.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bathsheba46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doug Fox's 9/11 Memorial and World Trade Center Tour also viewed

 

Been to Doug Fox's 9/11 Memorial and World Trade Center Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing