We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Ranked #286 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    292
    73
    14
    10
See reviews for
183
243
49
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I recently had to cancel a stay in NY due to an unexpected long term illness. The manager and staff were not only co-operative in dealing with my cancellation, but sent me the kindest well wishes and encouragement to get better. I believe this was above and beyond their duty and whoever I have told my story too of my friends, have all said they will stay there on their next trip to NY and tell them why. I am determined to get better to go there and meet them. Their kindness and good wishes (from total strangers) is very humbling and warmly received

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desiree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hotel rates are excellent, and location is adjacent to Chinatown and Little Italy. Rooms are small but modern and clean. Comfortable beds and central air conditioning. Rooms have coffee makers but no refrigerators. Ask for a room on one of the top floors - fantastic views of the bridges and East River. Hot breakfast included with room rate, good fresh food. Most of all, the friendly hotel staff will go the extra mile to accommodate your needs. They are also knowledgeable about the city and will provide maps and recommendations. The service sets this hotel above others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors so you can get good views of the city, bridges and East Ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Betty,

Thanks for your gracious review! It seems that you had a comfortable and relaxing stay with us, and we are so glad that our staff ensured that your needs were well taken care of. I have shared your experience with our staff, who are delighted to hear of your generous praises of them. I am pleased that our team was able to make such a positive impression on you.

Please let us know when you will return to New York City, as we will love to take care of your needs again in the future.

Warm regards,
Brian Chao
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We were extremely pleased to have stayed here! The staff was amazing - friendly and so helpful. They made our lack of luggage for three days at the airport easier and manageable. They went the extra mile to assist us and to make our trip a great experience. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, General Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review! We always want to make the guests feel as if they are at home away from home! We are very proud of our staff they are the ones that make the the guests stay more enjoyable, and I'm glad to hear they went out of their to make sure you had such a great stay!
Thank you once again for allowing us to showcase out hospitality and service! if you are ever back in town please email us info@hjsoho.com and we will continue our service from there!

Best regards,

Teddy Lai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Hotel is very nice and clean. The neighborhood of the hotel is not the best but the hotel represents a good quality. The room was small but comfortable and very clean. The services are excellent. The new breakfast area looks very friendly. Comparing price and quality it is a good choice to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Klara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, General Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us your feedback about your recent visit. We are pleased to hear that our personalized service delivery exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. We love to tailor our service to each of our guests, and making them feel part of the family here at Howard Johnson. I am delighted that we succeeded in achieving this with you.

We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to New York City.

General Manager
Teddy Lai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#357 of 466 in New York City
29 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#214 of 466 in New York City
348 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#209 of 466 in New York City
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#352 of 466 in New York City
159 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#207 of 466 in New York City
384 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#273 of 466 in New York City
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho

Property: Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Address: 5 Allen St, New York City, NY 10002-5301
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing