We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Neat and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Ranked #206 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Neat and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Hotel is very nice and clean. The neighborhood of the hotel is not the best but the hotel represents a good quality. The room was small but comfortable and very clean. The services are excellent. The new breakfast area looks very friendly. Comparing price and quality it is a good choice to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Klara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, General Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us your feedback about your recent visit. We are pleased to hear that our personalized service delivery exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. We love to tailor our service to each of our guests, and making them feel part of the family here at Howard Johnson. I am delighted that we succeeded in achieving this with you.

We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to New York City.

General Manager
Teddy Lai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    280
    62
    12
    8
See reviews for
173
234
49
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the second week of June and had a great time.
Room was small but being in NYC I completely understand that space is fairly limited, so it doesn't exactly come as a surprise !!

Staff were really friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Every member of staff we came across, from maintenance to front of house, everyone would always say hello.

Breakfast was small but they said they were expanding that as it's currently a bit of a squeeze. We were happy to just grab a plate of a few items and head back to our room with it!

The location in China town is safe and it's nice to be in an area that isn't too close to all the tourist action, bit quieter.

Overall we had a great time and wouldn't hesitate on recommending this hotel to anyone looking for NYC accommodation.

Thanks again Hojo!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveller201422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Rebecca,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. It is so wonderful to hear such kind words about our staff, and I am delighted to hear that you were treated courteously by the members of our team. Your experience is an inspiration for us to continue to extend the same caliber of hospitality to each and every one of our guests.

Additionally, I am pleased that our unique location offered a serene alternative for you during your visit to New York. We recently moved our breakfast to our new, larger facility. We hope you can enjoy this enhancement on your next visit.

It is a privilege to gain your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Brian Chao
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Great location, easy subway access, wonderful staff, free breakfast and the most important it's extremely clean!!! Parking available at a moderate cost only 2 blocks from hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Cjak211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights and was just what we wanted. Very clean and modern, rooms a bit small but adequate. All the staff were very friendly and polite and always available for any help you needed. Breakfast is included which is a bonus, good start to the day.The hotel is located in Chinatown which which is very busy but very safe to walk around and there are some very nice restaurants/takeaways close by. There is a good subway line a short walk away which will get you to most places, goes to Coney Island which is well worth a visit. Would definately stay here again if in New York.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hello Tony!
thank you very much for staying at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho. We are very happy to hear that your stay went as you expected and that our location was convenient for you. If you ever come back to NY please send us an email and we will more than happy to take care of your reservation and any request. We will love to host you again at HOJO!

Kind Regards,
Lina Siegert
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matosinhos, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Nice small hotel in Chinatown. The best feature is without a doubt the staff: always polite and very helpful... really nice! The rooms are small but with a big (king size) bed, giant flat screen (it was good to see some of the World Cup matches highlights) and a clean/modern bathroom. I missed a mini fridge (could be fit under the desk) and a wardrobe/closet (no space for it).

Breakfast included is a plus where most NYC charge an heavy extra: bagels, croissants, eggs, sausage, coffee, milk, orange juice, yogurts, cereals, muffins... In crowded hours there's little place to sit but I've heard it will change starting in a few days.

In terms of neighborhood, Allen St is a bit smelly and so are a couple of other streets around but they are well lit, safe and with good accessibility with 3 metro lines (F, B, D) and bus (M15) nearby.

Overall, it has excellent value, good location and friendly staff so you'll feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisPDias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#199 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#212 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#292 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#241 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#105 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#188 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho

Property: Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Address: 5 Allen St, New York City, NY 10002-5301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing