We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Pleasant"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Ranked #287 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Cooper City, Florida
1 review
“"Pleasant"”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel is located in lower manhattan. There is mass transit within walking distance. We walked from the hotel to the 9/11 memorial, which didn't really seem like a long walk. The hotel provided continental breakfast. Although, the room was small it served the purpose. Mr. Jeff Young who works at the front desk was extremely pleasant and did an outstanding job in meeting our needs.I will certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendymoreno063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    292
    73
    14
    10
See reviews for
183
243
49
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Although this property is not in Soho and rather in Chinatown, it is still in an area that is within walking distance to other good spots. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and the staff was very helpful and friendly as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My daughter and a friend of mine stayed at the Howard Johnson's for two nights in August. We were supposed to be there for 3 nights but when we arrived on the Monday the hotel was over booked. Apparently this was not the hotels fault, at any rate without laying blame anywhere I have to say the staff at Howard Johnson quickly found us a room at a hotel near by and we spent our first night there. We were very happy to be back on Tues to our original hotel the Soho Howard Johnson. It was clean and there was a place for everything in our room, it was cozy to say the least! However being out all day the only time we used the room was to get cleaned up and to sleep. The beds were very comfy! The staff was polite and gracious which to me is always a bonus. We also had a lovely continental breakfast every morning. The hotel was to me in a good location we took cabs back and forth and it was not expensive. We were close to little Italy and to Chinatown. It had a real New York flavour which is why you travel in the first place to get a feel of the place your in. I found this hotel had a good feel to it, the view from our room was awesome, looking out we could see the Manhattan Bridge as well as the Brooklyn Bridge in the distance. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Hopefully I will have the pleasure of returning to New York in the future and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

just came back from NYC. This was a great small hotel on the edge of China town. Many MTA stops in the area. The closest stop is East Broadway. If you stay longer my the 7 day pass unlimited pass for 30 USD. Hotel had a nice breakfast in the morning with a good variety of cereal, yoghurt, fruit, toast, bagels, and some sweet treats. Rooms small but that is normal in Manhattan. Rooms were kept very clean. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Thanks a lot for making our trip perfect.

Room Tip: We travelled with 3 people and had a double room which has one double bed and one twin bed. Rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaretha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Don't be fooled by the name of this property. While it is technically located South of Houston, it is not in the SOHO neighborhood. This location is on the Lower East Side. That being said, other than the "false location advertising" I have no major complaints about this property. It was what I would expect of a Howard Johnson. Rooms were nice and clean and the staff was very friendly. As with most NYC hotels, the rooms are small and priced high. The location was not bad, just not what was expected. It's on a busy street of the Lower East Side, in the Cantonese district, convenient to a subway stop (about 3 blocks away). It is situated between two travel agencies with nightly bus pickups, so the front entrance got very busy in the evenings. It you are looking for a clean room and only planning to use the hotel to sleep and clean up, you are good to go with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

we had a wonderful visit to the city. our accomandations were wonderful,room very clean and comfortable, staff was fantastic, great service.management was too willing to please. we will be making future reservations in the very near future. many thanks to management and staff.

Room Tip: hotel location was wonderful for what we as a family wanted to do. our stay was a great experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BILL N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#355 of 467 in New York City
30 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#231 of 467 in New York City
350 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#209 of 467 in New York City
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#352 of 467 in New York City
160 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#194 of 467 in New York City
385 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho

Property: Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Address: 5 Allen St, New York City, NY 10002-5301
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing