We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with friendly and helpful staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Ranked #288 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with friendly and helpful staffs”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Located in Chinatown, only 2 blocks away to F train. Hotel room is small (in NYC what do you expect!?) but nice and clean.
No fancy breakfast buffet but the breakfast they offer is good enough to give me a GOOD MORNING. And it's all free.
The most important, the hotel staffs are really friendly and helpful. I really had a wonderful experience staying here.
The only one thing that I'd complain is that there's no closet in my room (not sure about other room types). I had to hang my clothes at the hooks on the wall.

Room Tip: I was assigned to a room on 2nd floor face to street. It's not noisy at all. What a surprise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSU301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    292
    73
    14
    10
See reviews for
183
243
49
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Recently visited New York and stayed here, the hotel is new, very clean, and located close to the waterfront, shopping and dining in Chinatown and Little Italy. Although the rooms are small, the accommodations include everything needed such as wifi, comfy beds and a large flat screen tv. The staff is excellent too making the visit both memorable and a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We (Two adults and 11 yr old boy) loved our stay at the HoJo in NYC (lower east side). Everything was clean, everyone was unfailingly polite and very helpful with tips and good places to visit and eat. The hotel is in Chinatown and has great access to subway and bus. A fascinating museum (Tenement Museum) and historic synagogue are within walking distance.
Beds were very comfortable - terrific value!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Not located in Soho but Chinatown. Staff was very kind and efficient, room a bit too small but had everything and the bed was excellent.One block from a subway station and easy to go to south Manhattan,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranciscoMaiolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently stayed at the HoJo Soho for 6 days, 5 nights and were more than satisfied. Rooms were always tidy, quiet, well equipped, but (at least our room) was on the small side for North American hotel. This wasn't an issue for us, as we were only there to sleep and didn't have a lot of luggage, and due to our frequent travels in Japan, are quite sued to navigating more compact rooms. We were in room 703 which was a "double" that could sleep three adults, though it would be difficult to store three larger suitcases in there. Great location, right in the middle fo Chinatown, around the corner from Little Italy, no shortage of food outlets., and very close to several subway stops. The hotel serves a nice breakfast of fresh fruits, yoghourts, a range of oatmeals and cereals, bagels, muffins, danishes, croissants, juice, tea and coffee, zhe latter also available throughout the day to take. The very best of this hotel is its staff. Many thanks to everyone for their smiles and friendly conversations every day to make us feel welcome, but especially to Jeff ( who offered us a double for early check-in upon our arrival so that we could freshen up before hitting the city, instead of letting us wait until later in the day for our originally reserved room),and Vanda, who took time to give great tips every time we saw her. Very appreciated was the hotel's own airport car service which, at $47 flat rate (not incl. tip) is a great deal compared to the taxi. WE had taken the subway from JFK when arriving, which was fine because we were only rolling one suitcase each. This was already bit awkward at times when navigating the turnstiles, but with more luggage than that would be difficult. The car was ordered for us and waiting for us punctually, and we were at JFK without any hassles. The hotel was well booked and the breakfast area was always full each morning but the staff made sure to go around and talk to all the guests and help with tips and suggestions. We would definitely come back and recommend this hotel.
One note: the breakfast area is is a limited space in the lobby right in front of reception which can lead to a bottleneck at breakfast rush-hour. Therefore guests should keep in mind that it isn't the place to linger and sit and chat as one might do in a cafe.For instance, on the days we were there, one larger group of travellers would every day hog one of the larger tables, causing other guests to have to eat standing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2f0rtheR0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for this thorough and wonderful review! I am glad we met your expectations of what hospitality and service is about! It has been an absolute pleasure to have served you guys. I want to truly thank you for taking the time to write this review, its the only way our future guests will have come to a decision for choosing Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho for their accommodations! We are currently working with some design teams to help alleviate the congested breakfast area when we are fully booked. Stay tuned if you plan on visiting us again in the future please email us: info@hjsoho.com and we will make sure we pick up our service and hospitality where we last left off.

Thank you once again for choosing Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho for your accommodations and for writing this wonderful review!

Jeff Yong
Assistant Front Desk Manager/Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spacecoast, Fl
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Visiting relatives in Manhattan we looked for a hotel nearby and read all the good reviews of HoJo Manhattan. They're all true. Its small and expensive by most standards, but all hotel rooms in Manhattan are small and the rates were competitive with other similar hotels. Great service, very clean, decent continental breakfast, quiet (we were on the 10th floor to avoid street noise), comfortable. Everyone who works there is nice as can be. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, General Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you! All that you stated about our amenities are true in fact, however and at a separation of that, we are continuing to expand our features/services. This was a true pleasure having seen this review from you sir, as it provides us with the useful tools that we can use to continue performing our duties. We gladly appreciate your insightful feedback about our Howard Johnson Manhattan-Soho, and we are truly delighted that we were able to accomodate you during your first stay. We want to thank you for congratulating our hardworking staff and for the next time you stay with us, we promise that we will have the same joyful welcome for you at our front reception. As a Reminder, please make a brief mention that you stayed with us here so we can continue your hotel accommodations from the last stay date.


Best Regards,

Teddy Lai

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#353 of 466 in New York City
30 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#240 of 466 in New York City
352 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#206 of 466 in New York City
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#344 of 466 in New York City
162 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#192 of 466 in New York City
385 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#267 of 466 in New York City
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho

Property: Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Address: 5 Allen St, New York City, NY 10002-5301
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing